Switch Theme:

Working out wounds  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy




UK

Just something that came up in a game late in the evening and wanted to clarify we did it correctly, as we were rushing to finish!

Group of Deathwing Termies shot at my Ork Tankbustas.

2 Assault Cannon wounds
3 Stormbolter wounds.

I removed the front 2 Tankbustas due to AP.
The third in line was my Ork Nob with 'Eavy Armour.

This gave him a save against the Storm Bolters but not the Assault Cannon.
I realised, depending on which "shots" had killed the previous orks mattered!

We didn't check the rulebook but rolled off for each shot.
1-3 - Assault Cannon wound
4-6 - Stormbolter wound.

It worked out that 1 Ork died to a StormBolter and 1 to the Assault Cannon.
This left 1 AC wound & 2 SB wounds.

Rolled as above and got both the Stormbolter wounds first, saved one, failed the next, which meant the AC wound finished him off.

Did we do this correct?
Or should one of us have chosen which wounds to resolve against the models one at a time?
We figured this was the fairest way out.

We need MOAR Dakka!
 
   
Made in nl
Brainy Zoanthrope





The person doing the shooting decides what order to take the wounds in.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It specifies that the person shooting decides which order you resolve the different groups (different S, Ap, special rules) within the wound pool. So he could have required SB first, then Assault cannon.
   
Made in gb
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy




UK

Ah ok worth remembering cheers.

I guess it makes sense, if they were shooting intelligently, the stormbolters may have been "targetting" the boys (resolve first), then the Assault Cannon been targetting the Nob (resolve second to guarantee dropping him.

Will keep that in mind for next time.

We need MOAR Dakka!
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Either way, against the first wound allocated to him (in this scenario) is going to have been a Stormbolter.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: