Switch Theme:

Whirlwind question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Fighter Pilot





Hi
Does the missile pod of the mighty Whirlywind count as gun barrel for targeting purposes?
Thanks

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



chicagoland

To check range yeah. But for line of sight it doesn't matter since you don't need LOS to fire the whirlwind
   
Made in nz
Fighter Pilot





Sorry I mean if someone at shooting at the whirlwind. EG: the gun barrel of a Basilisk cannot be shot at. But the Whirlwind has that chunky missile pod thing instead of gun barrel. Does that pod thing count as a barrel or part of the hull?

So if an opponent has LOS to the missile pod (but not the rest of whirlwind) they can shoot at it?

Edit: lolwut I suck at explaining things.

Edit: The Emperor protects

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/01 15:04:50


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut



chicagoland

My understanding is that weapons on vehicles are part of the hull. So if he sees your missile launcher. He can shoot you you'll still get your cover unless basilisks ignore cover. And that goes for the basilisk as well if you have range to his cannon you can shoot it.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Weapon barrles are not counted for LOS, but the mounting is.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






The rule is that you must be able to see it's hull or turret (ignoring gun barrels...etc.) - BRB Page 73, "Shooting at Vehicles".

Whilst the launcher is clearly not hull, I could see the argument for calling it a Turret, so my opinion would be that your opponent could shoot at it if only the launcher is visible (getting a cover save for 25% obscured of course).
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Personally, as in how I would play it, I also say you can draw line of sight to the launcher but would state not to the missiles themselves; as that is a close comparison to a turret and it's barrel.

This is also important as those missiles might be 'one use only,' and had already been launched. After all, it is easy to have a model assembled in such a way that the player can not remove the missile to represent which one has been used. It would make even less sense for you to be able to draw line of sight to the vehicle when all you can see is a missile that is technically 'used.' Yet it would be possible, at least arguable, that it is a physical part of the model and without an exception stating it can not be used for line of sight then it can be used for line of sight.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/11/01 16:19:07


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: