| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/07 22:46:02
Subject: Venerable Dreaads and Preferred enemy
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
While this has not happened yet I would like to know how this may play out if it does come up, consider two scenarios:
1.) A heavy destroyer hits a venerable dread, goes to wound and gets a pen. With venerable armour I am forced to re-roll the pen and I roll a  , do I get to use my preferred enemy since I didnt use it yet  ?
2.) Same deal as before except when I got to wound I get a  and use preferred enemy and end up with a pen, venerable armour again and I roll another  , so preferred enemy again or stick with the result?
I dont play space marines so cant quote the venerable rule, but it would still be nice to know for the future.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/07 22:48:42
Subject: Venerable Dreaads and Preferred enemy
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
You can't reroll a dice more than once, regardless of the source(s) of the reroll.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/07 22:48:45
Subject: Venerable Dreaads and Preferred enemy
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Venerable lets you re roll the damage chart results on a Pen
not the to pen roll. so both are a no.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/07 22:49:03
Subject: Venerable Dreaads and Preferred enemy
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
You cannot re-roll a re-roll, even from a different and opposing source of re-rolls.
EDIT: Also, apparently everything else about the scenario is incorrect anyway.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/07 22:50:37
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/07 22:49:17
Subject: Venerable Dreaads and Preferred enemy
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Point the first, you do not roll to wound against vehicles (minor nitpick I know).
Point the second, you can never re-roll a re-roll even if from two different sources.
Point the third, "Venerable" doesn't force re-roll penetrating hits, it re-rolls damage results.
Point the fourth, Preferred Enemy does nothing for Penetration rolls, only To Hit and To Wound rolls.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/07 22:50:17
Subject: Venerable Dreaads and Preferred enemy
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Desubot wrote:Venerable lets you re roll the damage chart results on a Pen
not the to pen roll. so both are a no.
interesting, I will have to have a talk with a previous opponent about that.
Thanks Automatically Appended Next Post: Happyjew wrote:Point the first, you do not roll to wound against vehicles (minor nitpick I know).
Point the second, you can never re-roll a re-roll even if from two different sources.
Point the third, "Venerable" doesn't force re-roll penetrating hits, it re-rolls damage results.
Point the fourth, Preferred Enemy does nothing for Penetration rolls, only To Hit and To Wound rolls.
my logic was flawed thinking I was forced to re-roll pen, not damage, but thank you
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/07 22:53:00
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|