Switch Theme:

Malifaux Soulstone Pool  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




A friend and I were playing the other night and we had a rules question.
What happens to the pool after your leader is killed? He said that you could still use the pool for things like buying extra cards and reflipping initiative because they weren't spent by any model. He also said that his henchman could still use them since the pool belonged to the crew and not any specific model. I thought that the pool was lost as soon as your leader is removed from play and that you couldn't access it for any reason from that point on.

Can someone point me to the rule about this (either one way or the other)? The index in the back of the book leaves a lot to be desired as a reference tool.
   
Made in us
Pyromaniac Hellhound Pilot





killeen TX

You can still use soul stones for re-fllipping initiative at the start of a turn. Nothing else, unless one of your characters has the "use soul stone" ability.

javascript:emoticon(''); 3,000 pointsjavascript:emoticon('');

2,000 points

265 point detachment

Imperial Knight detachment: 375

Iron Hands: 1,850

where ever you go, there you are 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




So, if your leader dies but your henchman is still alive then he can use the soulstones? What about the option of buying 2 cards at the draw phase? Other than losing your leader is there any penalty, soulstone wise, to a player?
   
Made in us
Using Object Source Lighting





Portland

Yep, it's not like warmachine- if your master dies, your henchman/men can still use soulstones, and you can use them for anything not connected with a model (mostly stuff at the beginning of the turn IIRC)


My painted armies (40k, WM/H, Malifaux, Infinity...) 
   
Made in us
Policing Securitate





assuming M2e your pool still has multiple uses.

Henchmen do get to Use Soulstones as Masters in all the same methods.

You can "stone" to re-flip the INI flip at start of activations.

You can "stone" to draw two more cards during the draw phase and then discard two. This is considered one of the best uses of stones in the game, so Masters dying early aren't the loss of your SS pool that they were in Mali 1.5
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




Thanks for the responses. I played a couple of games in 1.5 and must have gotten the rules confused.
   
Made in us
Using Object Source Lighting





Portland

oops, n/m

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/10 17:26:58



My painted armies (40k, WM/H, Malifaux, Infinity...) 
   
Made in gb
Leaping Dog Warrior





also some abilities are 'discard soulstones or auto-kill' but any model can now discard soulstones, not just the models that can use them. This is another change from M 1.5

Tacticool always trumps tactics

Malifaux: All the Resurrectionists
 
   
Made in us
Using Object Source Lighting





Portland

Oh, didn't notice that change, thanks for pointing it out.


My painted armies (40k, WM/H, Malifaux, Infinity...) 
   
Made in gb
Leaping Dog Warrior





I have found that certain rule changes from 1.5 to 2 are now in the absence of wording rather than explicit changes.

Another example that our group found is that causing Terror no longer makes you immune to Horror tests itself. Also you only take Horror tests when either targeting a terror causing model OR ends its move/push in the terrifying models melee range. SO starting in a models terror range does not mean you have to take a Horror test anymore, meaning you can try to disengage with the model without testing the horror test first.

Subtle changes, but very important!

Tacticool always trumps tactics

Malifaux: All the Resurrectionists
 
   
 
Forum Index » Other Fantasy Miniatures Games
Go to: