| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/11 06:49:32
Subject: Screamer Star Illegal?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ok so maybe i'm going out on a limb here, and I fear I know the answer to this question unfortunately but here goes..
So we all know how screamer star works, heralds hoping for forewarning to cast on tzeentch daemons to then use grimoire to bump that 4++ to a 2++ reroll 1s.
My only question is why this is possible with how modifiers work.
On pg 2 there are the rules for modifiers and there are multiplicative, additive, and set modifiers, interestingly enough that is also the order in which you apply modifiers, with few exceptions where noted (ie markerlights).
So grimoire is pretty obviously an additive modifier, and forewarning is a set modifier as it neither is multiplicative or additive in its nature or wording, but lays down the value at which the invulnerable save becomes.
So here is where my train of thought heads, if additives come before set modifers and forewarning is a set modifier wouldn't that mean it doesn't stack with grimoire as it happens last after the invul is modified and then is changed to 4++?
anyways just a question, makes no difference to me either way. Discuss.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/11 06:58:31
Subject: Screamer Star Illegal?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Forewarning isn't a set modifier. It's a new save, which would then be subject to the additive modifier. You'll note that no where in it's wording does it include language that modifies an existing save likes "sets" or "replaces".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/11 07:52:42
Subject: Screamer Star Illegal?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above it I is a new save, they still have their 5++. One goes to 3, the other 2
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/12 05:41:18
Subject: Re:Screamer Star Illegal?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
how is it a new save as opposed to a set modifier? does it not give a set save at 4++? the wording is whilst the ability is in effect the unit has a 4++? does that not modify someones save of say like a unit without an invul to having a 4++ then?
Why is it not a modifier?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/12 05:46:13
Subject: Screamer Star Illegal?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
If you're saying that Forewarning is a set modifier, then why also is the Daemon rule not a set modifier?
If the Daemon rule is a set modifier, it would occur AFTER the Grimoire pops, meaning Daemons affected by the Grimoire would still be at a 5++. And that doesn't make any sense.
Forewarning is a new save: it is granted in the same way Uncanny Reflexes, Daemon, Termie Armour, or any other wargear/special rule is granted.
The cover save for area terrain is a new save, not a set modifier. How is Forewarning any different than area terrain?
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/12 05:49:07
Subject: Re:Screamer Star Illegal?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Idk ha it isn't wargear or anything and cover isn't a characteristic. Automatically Appended Next Post: Also I am just asking as to why, not saying it is or not, just thought it would be idk.. Automatically Appended Next Post: I also kind've already knew the answer to this one, just being hopeful lol.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/12 06:02:07
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/12 06:11:48
Subject: Screamer Star Illegal?
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
The rules for 'Modifiers' on page 2 are not applicable as 'Forewarning' provides an additional, separate, invulnerable save, rather than modifying an existing characteristic.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/12 06:36:56
Subject: Screamer Star Illegal?
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
The Golden Throne
|
But forewarning doesnt modify anything at all, it just gives a flat inv save which can then be modified from there.
|
Build a man a fire, he will be warm for a night. Set a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/12 06:56:04
Subject: Screamer Star Illegal?
|
 |
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation
Perth, Western Australia
|
Imperator_Class wrote:But forewarning doesnt modify anything at all, it just gives a flat inv save which can then be modified from there.
I believe that's what I said.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|