Switch Theme:

Charging into cover with jetbikes  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





I've tried using the search, but could only find allusions to this debate and not any actual debate on this. I want to know the community's opinion on if jetbikes that charge through/into cover strike at I1?

From what I read in the BRB: No, they strike at normal initiative. I base this on:
1. The jetbike rules that say jetbikes always move over terrain/other models. (P 45)
2. The charge rules say that models charge following all the same rules as in the movement phase. (P 21)
3. The rules for charging through difficult terrain specify that a model that charges through difficult terrain causes the squad to strike at I1. (P 22)

Since jetbikes will always move over terrain and never through it they will never have to strike at I1.

-F
________________________________________________
https://thesteeldawn.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






BRB FAQ: http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m3440036a_40K_RULEBOOK_v1.5_September_13.pdf
Q: Do models that ignore difficult terrain when moving or charging still fight at Initiative step 1 if they charge through difficult terrain? (p22)
A: Yes.
Even though they might be hovering, they'll still be taking a Dangerous Terrain test if they start or end in Difficult Terrain. There are no rules to imply that they are high enough off the ground to negate the terrain entirely. Combined with the above HIWPI is that they are reduced to I1.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





 Quanar wrote:
BRB FAQ: http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m3440036a_40K_RULEBOOK_v1.5_September_13.pdf
Q: Do models that ignore difficult terrain when moving or charging still fight at Initiative step 1 if they charge through difficult terrain? (p22)
A: Yes.
Even though they might be hovering, they'll still be taking a Dangerous Terrain test if they start or end in Difficult Terrain. There are no rules to imply that they are high enough off the ground to negate the terrain entirely. Combined with the above HIWPI is that they are reduced to I1.

I would argue that the jetbike rules imply just that: Jetbikes move 'over' all terrain/ models. Also, per my argument above that FAQ does not apply since they never move 'through' difficult terrain when they charge.

If even as a jetbike I still count as moving through DT when I charge does that also mean I can't charge someone if there is another unit blocking my path because the charging rules prohibit you from moving through enemy models?
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






FKaos wrote:
If even as a jetbike I still count as moving through DT when I charge does that also mean I can't charge someone if there is another unit blocking my path because the charging rules prohibit you from moving through enemy models?
The Jetbike rules allow you to charge over intervening models, as it is more specific than the rule in the Assault section. I didn't mention RAW, as debating the difference between the intent of "through" and "over" in the FAQ would bore me to tears.
If you were charging from one side of a forest to a unit clear of the other side I might consider it, but not otherwise.

You asked for opinions. The above is mine.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Do the models have frag grenades or equivilents?

if not they swing at I1.


Ignoring terrain for movement purposes does not ignore the terrain for assault purposes.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Eihnlazer wrote:

Ignoring terrain for movement purposes does not ignore the terrain for assault purposes.

Where does it say this? The jet bike rules say they always move over terrain/models freely, and the charge rules say follow all the same rules as for movement.

I'm not trying to be pedantic. I am just trying to see if there is a good RAW, or even RAI, argument out there against this. I agree that it feels somewhat wrong, and for now I plan to just let my opponent make the call. At some point though I would like to make sure I am playing by the book one way or the other.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






moving over terrain does not say anything about ignoring the effects of charging through terrain.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Have they charged?
Are they in difficult terrain?
Do they have any rule that allows them to ignore the charging through terrain rules?

If the answer is not yes to all three then they strike last.
A jump unit without frag grenades would be in the same boat if they use their jump pack to charge.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





So through and over are the same thing?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






yes effectively for assault

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Eihnlazer wrote:
yes effectively for assault

Since you've asserted it I'm sure you can prove it. Please do so.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Well i will do my best tommorow when i have my rulebook and time. Fixing to go to work atm

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




rigeld2 wrote:
So through and over are the same thing?
Absolutely not! For instance, if there was difficult terrain in between the jetbike and its target, but its takeoff and landing are clear, then there is no difficult terrain roll and no effect on initiative. But taking off from or landing in terrain? Yeah, I'm going to call that a subset of "through". There's no minimum distance for "through".
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

"As part of it's charge move" is all that is required for a model to count as having moved through. If I end my movement in difficult terrain part of my movement, the terminus is in dt.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Since the entire move is 'over' terrain I don't see how any of it, including the terminus, is in/through DT, so I don't see how you can argue that. Nowhere does it say you land at the end of your move, just that you sometimes have to take a dangerous terrain test.

The only real argument I have seen that actually tries to use the BRB to argue that they should strike at I1 is that through and over are the same thing, which is kind of a ridiculous argument. Everyone else seems to be going with the 'no, because no.' argument.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/14 05:23:31


-F
________________________________________________
https://thesteeldawn.blogspot.com 
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





BRB faq states no

jetbikes fall into the catagory of ignoring difficult terrain

they do not negate the effects of the terrain should their move start or end in the terrain (taking dangerous tests as normal)

while you may be ignoring the movement penalty for the terrain you have no rule to backup that you ignore the charging through terrain with regards to inititive penalties due to lack of frag grenade equivilants.

   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

How about no because you incure penalties when you end your turn in DT? Being over DT incurs a penalty just as being in it for jump troops who also incure the same assault penalty.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: