| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/12 21:45:48
Subject: Heldrake
|
 |
Hungry Little Ripper
|
I thought about vectorstrike on heldrake.
In the rulebook it sayes that when vectorstrike is made it counts as having used one of its weapon. and what i can see heldrake only got one wep.
my question is.
Can heldrake use vectorstrike and after that fire its weapon???
// Illurim
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/12 21:46:53
Subject: Heldrake
|
 |
Hallowed Canoness
|
Yes, because as a flier, it can shoot up to four.
|

"That time I only loaded the cannon with powder. Next time, I will fill it with jewels and diamonds and they will cut you to shrebbons!" - Nogbad the Bad. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/12 21:53:00
Subject: Heldrake
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
First, this should have gone in YMDC. Not a big deal.
Flyers can fire four weapons. Vector Strike counts as firing one of its weapons. This leaves it with the ability to fire 3 weapons. The fact it only has one weapon does not matter.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/12 22:04:13
Subject: Re:Heldrake
|
 |
Hungry Little Ripper
|
ah okey.
ty for answer  . i want to read it as he already used hes single weapon.  . that would make more sence. but the rules also say he can fire  .
GW has made the rules so you can understand them in two or more ways  .
=) ty.
// Illurim
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/13 13:09:16
Subject: Heldrake
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, not in this case. It states it counts as firing a weapon, but does not actually fire any specific weapon. It just reduces the total number of weapons you can then fire by one.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/13 15:40:04
Subject: Heldrake
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
How does this work with FMC's like a flying Hive Tyrant with 2 TL Devourers?
I'd been playing it that vector strike is done instead of firing one of the Devourers. Just wondering if I've been doing it wrong.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/13 15:41:28
Subject: Heldrake
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
No, you're right.
MCs can fire two weapons. VS takes up one weapon. You can fire one weapon.
Flyers can fire 4 weapons. VS takes up one weapon. You can fire 3 weapons. Drake only has one and one is less than 3.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/13 15:42:41
Subject: Heldrake
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
Steel-W0LF wrote:How does this work with FMC's like a flying Hive Tyrant with 2 TL Devourers?
I'd been playing it that vector strike is done instead of firing one of the Devourers. Just wondering if I've been doing it wrong.
FMCs are not Flyers. While Flyers may fire up to four weapons, FMCs may only fire two. So when an FMC vector strikes, it is able to fire one more weapon.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/13 16:08:44
Subject: Heldrake
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
Just to add here something that has never came up on here, that i have seen anyway. Is the fact that If you move over an enemy unit and vector strike it, when it comes to the shooting phase you will still not be able to shoot at that unit, as if you flew over it you are no longer facing it and so cant actualy fire backwards to hit that unit with a shooting attack.
The reason I ask this is because the Helldrake has no option for split fire, And the way the rules are written Counts as firing one of its weapons. does this mean then that you cant shoot the helldrakes baleflamer or Haydes at a different unit?
|
Latest Blog Post: 7th edition first thoughts and pictures.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/13 16:12:54
Subject: Heldrake
|
 |
Kelne
|
cerbrus2 wrote:Just to add here something that has never came up on here, that i have seen anyway. Is the fact that If you move over an enemy unit and vector strike it, when it comes to the shooting phase you will still not be able to shoot at that unit, as if you flew over it you are no longer facing it and so cant actualy fire backwards to hit that unit with a shooting attack.
The reason I ask this is because the Helldrake has no option for split fire, And the way the rules are written Counts as firing one of its weapons. does this mean then that you cant shoot the helldrakes baleflamer or Haydes at a different unit?
You do not have to target a unit you've Vector Struck(?).
Also , Helldrakes and FMC can shoot 360°,one for having a turret mounted weapon ( FAQ) and the others for not being a vehicle.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/13 16:14:49
Subject: Heldrake
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
cerbrus2 wrote:Just to add here something that has never came up on here, that i have seen anyway. Is the fact that If you move over an enemy unit and vector strike it, when it comes to the shooting phase you will still not be able to shoot at that unit, as if you flew over it you are no longer facing it and so cant actualy fire backwards to hit that unit with a shooting attack.
Heldrake's and FMCs can fire in a 360 degree arc.
The reason I ask this is because the Helldrake has no option for split fire, And the way the rules are written Counts as firing one of its weapons. does this mean then that you cant shoot the helldrakes baleflamer or Haydes at a different unit?
Re-read the Vector Strike rules.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/13 16:22:10
Subject: Heldrake
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Cerbrus - while it counts as firing a weapon, you have never fired a weapon at the unit you struck with VS - you never shooting-Target them.
As such you can VS unit A and shoot unit B, as long as you have LOS to unit B - you are not bound to attempt to shoot t unit A
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/13 21:13:22
Subject: Heldrake
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Fort Worth, TX
|
Just wait until the next FAQ that allows Heldrakes to VS more than one unit because GW hasn't sold enough of those and CSM need another bone.
|
I out with in both 40k and WHFB.
Co-host of the HittingOn3s Podcast
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|