Switch Theme:

Long-Range Scanner and Vehicles  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Imperial Recruit in Training




Hi everyone, I was reading through this and I was wondering what everybody thinks about the Long-Range Scanner (on page 4), specifically regarding the Short Range Lock section.

Is an 'Imperial Guard Unit' specifically an infantry unit or does that also apply to vehicles? Furthermore, if it does apply to vehicles how would you interpret the rule regarding vox casters? Since I would expect vehicles to already incorporate vox casters I assumed that that the "anywhere on the table" rule would also apply to them, although I also know that others might interpret it as literally meaning a unit has to take a vox caster upgrade.

What do you fine guys/gals think?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Imperial Guard Units are never defined any where. To me that means any unit chosen from codex: Imperial Guard and that would include vehicles. I could also see it describing any unit under the command of an IG warlord even though thats not HIWPI. Best to talk it over with your opponent before the game starts but I don't foresee any good reasons to limit it to infantry.
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





The rules says an imperial guard unit, so that would be any unit in the IG Codex. So yes, you could use this with vehicles.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




"Vox caster" is a specific item in the IG codex, and in the rules vehicles do not have that upgrade
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






Kasrkin_Seath wrote:
Furthermore, if it does apply to vehicles how would you interpret the rule regarding vox casters? Since I would expect vehicles to already incorporate vox casters I assumed that that the "anywhere on the table" rule would also apply to them, although I also know that others might interpret it as literally meaning a unit has to take a vox caster upgrade.


I would interpret it exactly as it says: if the unit has a vox caster then it gets the bonus. If it doesn't have one it doesn't get the bonus. The fluff speculation about what a fluffy vehicle would have is irrelevant, if it doesn't have a vox caster listed in its rules/equipment then it doesn't get the bonus.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: