Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 13:30:25
Subject: Necron overlord and command barge
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hi,
I am going to play a necron tetrarch on a command barge this weekend and am not really sure how it works
I do have the BRB but still without experience i am not sure how to understand it :
So here are a few questions :
- When shooting at it, i shoot at the barge (thus with armor value) and if it dies, the tetrarch is still alive but on foot
- In close combat, i can focus the tetrarch (who gains his +1 armor save). If he dies, the barge dies too??
- I read that the tetrach can make some sweeping attacks when moving over an ennemy unit and can then charge?
Thanks to confirm (or not) and help me understand so i can prepare how to deal with it.
Sorry if i get some names wrong, i have everything in french so tried to translate the names accordingly.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 13:45:15
Subject: Necron overlord and command barge
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
- You can target the barge or the overlord.
- Separate units, so if one dies the other stays alive
- Yes, you can, sweeping attack doesn't disallow you from charging.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/14 13:45:26
40K:
5000+ points W/D/L: 10/0/6
4000+ points W/D/L: 7/0/4
1500+ points W/D/L: 16/1/4
Fantasy
4000+ points W/D/L: 1/1/2
2500+ points W/D/L: 0/0/3
Legends 2013 Doubles Tournament Champion |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 14:03:23
Subject: Necron overlord and command barge
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
How does the command barge works if the tetrarch is dead? there is noone left to control it right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 14:11:29
Subject: Necron overlord and command barge
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
sleekid wrote:How does the command barge works if the tetrarch is dead? there is noone left to control it right?
No the Tetrarch is being transported by it, it is still just a vehicle
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 17:21:15
Subject: Re:Necron overlord and command barge
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Assuming tetrarch = overlord, then in shooting, you may only shoot at the barge. In CC you may attack either. If the Overlord is killed in CC, the barge is free to still move around and shoot as normal, just like you would with an empty rhino or chimera. It's just a normal dedicated transport that allows it's passenger to do a few extra things, essentially.
|
11,100 pts, 7,000 pts
++ Heed my words for I am the Herald and we are the footsteps of doom. Interlopers, do we name you. Defilers of our
sacred earth. We have awoken to your primative species and will not tolerate your presence. Ours is the way of logic,
of cold hard reason: your irrationality, your human disease has no place in the necrontyr. Flesh is weak.
Surrender to the machine incarnate. Surrender and die. ++
Tuagh wrote: If you won't use a wrench, it isn't the bolt's fault that your hammer is useless. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/14 18:49:57
Subject: Re:Necron overlord and command barge
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Yeah I wasn't sure what a tetrarch was either.
You have it mostly right, though the command barge doesn't die if/when the overlord does. Everything else you've noted about it's capabilities is correct.
Just to clarify, you cannot target the overlord with shooting attacks while it is embarked (as normal for a transport). It does have a special rule allowing you to target the overlord in close combat if you want to though.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/14 18:51:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/15 11:16:10
Subject: Necron overlord and command barge
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok thanks
Just a last question, if i am in CC with it (with the overlord), as long as the overlord is there, the barge and overlord are blocked in combat, but if the overlord dies, the barge can move again as any other vehicle except walkers?
Also can the barge overwatch? As a vehicle that is not a walker i would say no right (but the overlord can)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/16 05:39:25
Subject: Re:Necron overlord and command barge
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
No, as a vehicle you cannot lock the barge in CC at all, even if the overlord is in it at the time. If the overlord hops out for any reason however you are free to lock it (the overlord) up in CC from that point forward.
And no the barge itself may not overwatch, though as you've noted the overlord is free to do so as per the rules for transports.
|
|
 |
 |
|