Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/19 19:18:36
Subject: Markerlights on Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
I play with a tau player often, and he claims that if he lights up my rhino with markerlights and then wrecks/explodes it, the markerlights remain on the marines inside, which he then uses to dakka them into the ground.
Is this right?
|
5000
Who knows? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/19 19:23:10
Subject: Re:Markerlights on Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
That is incorrect. The markerlights may only be expended to grant a bonus to attacking the 'unit' they were placed on. (in your example, the rhino).
The models inside are another unit (or units) entirely.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/19 19:23:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/19 19:23:10
Subject: Markerlights on Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
No. Markerlights don't transfer to units riding inside.
Did you look at his codex?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/19 19:25:03
Subject: Markerlights on Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
Yes, I noted it said "unit"- I guess I was unsure if the rhino was part of my "unit."
Vehicles always count as their own units, even DT?
I'm a bit new.
|
5000
Who knows? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/19 19:25:33
Subject: Markerlights on Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Ya no..
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/19 19:26:04
Subject: Markerlights on Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Colpicklejar wrote:Yes, I noted it said "unit"- I guess I was unsure if the rhino was part of my "unit."
Vehicles always count as their own units, even DT?
Correct. In order to embark upon a transport the entire UNIT must embark. Can the Transport embark upon itself? No, ergo it is, most definitely, its own unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/19 19:29:19
Subject: Markerlights on Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Colpicklejar wrote:Yes, I noted it said "unit"- I guess I was unsure if the rhino was part of my "unit."
Vehicles always count as their own units, even DT?
I'm a bit new.
yes, vehicles are (almost) always their own separate unit, even if purchased as a dedicated transport. The only partial exception is if the vehicle is purchased as part of a vehicle squadron.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/19 19:33:15
Subject: Markerlights on Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Nope.avi
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/19 20:29:03
Subject: Markerlights on Dedicated Transports?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
While others have used logic to prove that transports have to be a separate unit, such as not being able to embark onto itself, but I think I will simply point to the Army Builder section of the codex's themselves. It is within this section that information related to the special rules, war-gear, number of models and other details concerning how the unit is comprised. I bold the number of model section for a reason, it has an entire section informing us what models and how many are the unit consists. Notice that the vehicles in question, even dedicated transports, are their own entry. In order for the marker-lights to effect more then the targeted unit, they would need a special rule granting you permission to re-allocate the markers to another unit. From my understanding of the rules in question, and I am a Tau player so I recall them pretty well even with a faulty memory, there is no permission to re-allocate the makers once they have been created. Once the unit has been removed from play, any markers that are not spent are also removed from the board at this time. If I am remembering this wrong, please have your friend show us a page number where it lets you transfer them.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/19 21:11:13
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
|