Switch Theme:

Codex:Inquisition Karamazov  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller





I was curious about the new wording on karamazov.

When Inquisitor Karamazov’s orbital strike relay is ‘fired’, you can choose to place the template so its centre is over a friendly model, rather than an enemy – even if that friendly model is in combat. If you do so, the shot does not scatter. All models under the template are hit as normal.

Is this effectively a free splitfire? You can never have his unit voluntarily target a friendly unit. So the way i read it. Karamazov and his unit pick a target for shooting, then Karamazov chooses a friendly model to place his template on instead. So if he shoots the enemy it has to be the same unit, if he shoots a friendly, it can be whatever unit he wants to shoot at.

Am I reading this right?

Inquisitor Jex wrote:
Yeah, telling people how this and that is 'garbage' and they should just throw their minis into the trash as they're not as efficient as XYZ.

 Peregrine wrote:
So the solution is to lie and pretend that certain options are effective so people will feel better?
 
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




I would say no.

You still have to target the same unit as the rest of the firing unit and with a blast you do that by centering on a model in the target unit. There is no explicit exception to this rule.
It only works if no other model in Karamazov's unit is firing since they cannot target a friendly unit.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






No, Cyote81 has a point. If we go by RAW the permission in "By Any Means Necessary' is to place the template in a way that does not match the BRB. This still requires the weapon to be fired and that requires the firing unit to target an enemy unit. Trouble is we can't go by RAW. Why you ask? Blast weapons like orbital strike relay do not use templates, they use blast markers. RAW this rule does nothing. RAI this rule is likely intended to let us place the relevant blast marker over a friendly model either in or not in close combat and it probably let us target a friendly unit for these purposes.

HIWPI, You can target a friendly unit in or out of combat if the only weapon being fired is the OSR.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Actually as pointed out in another thread, the brb classes blast markers as templates
   
Made in gb
Annoyed Blood Angel Devastator




Still disagree, as per the blast rules you place the blast over the "target model", there is nothing to override the normal shooting sequence other than this, you still have

nominate a unit,
choose a target, (note "a" = singular)
roll to hit,
roll to wound
allocate wounds



Karamazov has permission for the target model to be a friendly model, his unit does not, nor does he or the unit have permission to target a second unit.

Just because a special rule gives an exception to a particular part of a rule or sequence of rules does not mean you have permission to ignore the whole lot.

You should look at is as simply replacing the term enemy model with "enemy or friendly model" in the blast rules.


 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

Seems that in order to comply with his rules and break no other rules, he targets the friendly model with the template and the rest of his unit does not fire at anything...

Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Beast wrote:
Seems that in order to comply with his rules and break no other rules, he targets the friendly model with the template and the rest of his unit does not fire at anything...


This seems like the right way to do it.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






nosferatu1001 wrote:
Actually as pointed out in another thread, the brb classes blast markers as templates


Got a link? I search but found nothing.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





p6 wrote:Copies of these templates can be found in the reference section. You can photocopy these if you wish, but plastic transparent versions can also be purchased separately.

Immediately after they're defined.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: