Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 12:09:02
Subject: Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Perfect Shot Ultramarine Predator Pilot
|
To bring back a topic from the glorious (or not  ) days of 5th edition.
Can a psyker use GoI while he and his unit are locked in CC?
I did a quick check on the BRB and it reads that blessings can be cast at the start of movement phase, even if locked in CC
Ideas?
How does this work?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 12:22:17
Subject: Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Kelne
|
Nothing in GoI itself seems to prevent it, and I can't think of something else that would ... Doesn't feel right though
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 12:26:18
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
GoI lets you make a deep strike
deep strike counts as movement
you can't move while locked in combat
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 12:54:53
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Perfect Shot Ultramarine Predator Pilot
|
I can not agree with your reasoning.
A normal unit in general cannot move while in combat.
Here we have a specific psychic power that lets you teleport.
Technically you are not moving as movement is described in the BRB
Also, keep in mind that nowhere in the assault phase rules it is written that the units are specifically forbidden from moving in any way.
It simply states that the units continue fight next turn.
For me, this seems a case of general vs specific..
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/24 13:10:57
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 13:01:09
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
Gate of Infinity is a blessing.
p68 BRB says:
Blessings can affect units that are locked in close combat and can affect the Psyker himself.
You have permission to cast it and nothing preventing you from resolving it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/24 13:01:30
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 17:35:02
Subject: Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Except for the fact you are locked in combat and can only make Pile-in or Consolidate moves. Is Deep Striking one of those?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 17:50:35
Subject: Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Happyjew wrote:Except for the fact you are locked in combat and can only make Pile-in or Consolidate moves. Is Deep Striking one of those?
Good thing you are not locked in combat when you Deep Strike, as you are removed from the table first.
Is being removed from the table a move? (A: no it is not).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 19:19:18
Subject: Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Happyjew wrote:Except for the fact you are locked in combat and can only make Pile-in or Consolidate moves. Is Deep Striking one of those?
Do I have permission to cast a blessing?
Is GoI a blessing?
Does it have permission to resolve?
Your statement isn't relevant in the least. You first need to find a denial for one of the three above.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 20:00:15
Subject: Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Well, let's see. Deep Strike is movement, which you cannot do while locked. We "know" from extensive threads that locked status only changes at certain points in the assault phase. Being removed from the board is clearly not movement (or else models couldn't die in close combat).
Therefore, if you gate while in close combat, your unit is removed from the table and gone forever.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 20:10:07
Subject: Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
rigeld2 wrote: Happyjew wrote:Except for the fact you are locked in combat and can only make Pile-in or Consolidate moves. Is Deep Striking one of those?
Do I have permission to cast a blessing?
Is GoI a blessing?
Does it have permission to resolve?
Your statement isn't relevant in the least. You first need to find a denial for one of the three above.
It would be relevant if your blessing caused the models to move while locked.
Being removed from the table is not moving; and then when you deep strike back onto the table(and at this point moving), you are no longer locked in cc and therefore have nothing top prevent you from moving(deep striking)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 21:35:04
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
You remove the model from the table first, which is allowed for models in close combat.
Then you place them back on the board, which is completely allowed.
The answer is yes, yes you can use Gate of Infinity to get out of close combat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 22:37:54
Subject: Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Sometimes you dakkaites amaze me, when this came up at the start of 6th I got shouted down and practically called an idiot for saying "the unit is removed from the table so isn't locked by time the deep strike happens" now things like farsight bomb etc exists some people are like "yeah that's how I always did it", double standards I.feel.
On topic, I say no to gate out of combat, no reason other than belligerence haha, jokes aside clarify it before the game.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 22:46:22
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Jimsolo wrote:You remove the model from the table first, which is allowed for models in close combat.
True
Then you place them back on the board, which is completely allowed.
No placing them on the board is movement they can't do that whilst locked in combat.
The answer is yes, yes you can use Gate of Infinity to get out of close combat.
This is not supported by any rules I've seen. Unless you can prove that GoI stops units from being locked in combat when they are removed from the table. If so please quote them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 22:56:11
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
FlingitNow wrote:Unless you can prove that GoI stops units from being locked in combat when they are removed from the table. If so please quote them.
Have a look at the requirements to be counted as "locked in combat".
Does a unit that is not on the table meet any of them?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/24 22:57:25
Subject: Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
What really makes the issue muddier is that some powers or special rules used to specifically state you can leave CC with them. Ork Weirdboy 'Ere We Go still does, not seen if the new Eldar Codex still has that wording in the Skyleap exarch power.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/25 01:13:08
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
grendel083 wrote: FlingitNow wrote:Unless you can prove that GoI stops units from being locked in combat when they are removed from the table. If so please quote them.
Have a look at the requirements to be counted as "locked in combat".
Does a unit that is not on the table meet any of them?
As several people have brought it up I'll just quote it.
"Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat." BRB, page 23 -Who Can fight?
Specific vs general would allow it to work in any case.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/27 13:00:08
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran
|
The question is what happens to the unit that was fighting in CC? Do they just stand there while their enemy gates away, or can it consolidate?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/27 13:08:44
Subject: Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Tzeentch Aspiring Sorcerer Riding a Disc
The darkness between the stars
|
Obviously they hop onto the GoI characters, take a ride and find themself in glorious close combat on the top of a tower quite suddenly
In response.... I really can't say. ALl I can think of is RaI probably doesn't want you to do that. That being said, RaW I'm not quite sure. I guess you would have to talk to your opponent about it before it begins really. It seems like something that will really break down a game (and make the enemy not very entertained).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/27 13:10:14
2375
/ 1690
WIP (1875)
1300
760
WIP (350)
WIP (150) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/27 17:03:22
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Asmodai Asmodean wrote:The question is what happens to the unit that was fighting in CC? Do they just stand there while their enemy gates away, or can it consolidate?
Does GoI say they get to consolidate?
If not then they just stand there.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/27 17:19:01
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
|
GOI has permission to be cast and to resolve. Only situation that would prevent it being cast is if you are unable to place a marker in basecontact with a model in the unit since GOI requires you to do that.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/27 17:19:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/27 18:59:05
Subject: Re:Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Mywik wrote:GOI has permission to be cast and to resolve. Only situation that would prevent it being cast is if you are unable to place a marker in basecontact with a model in the unit since GOI requires you to do that.
You can always do this in every situation so there are no issues with preventing GoI from being cast.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/27 18:59:18
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/27 19:08:19
Subject: Gate of Infinity while in CC
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Formosa wrote:Sometimes you dakkaites amaze me, when this came up at the start of 6th I got shouted down and practically called an idiot for saying "the unit is removed from the table so isn't locked by time the deep strike happens" now things like farsight bomb etc exists some people are like "yeah that's how I always did it", double standards I.feel.
It's not a double standard if the people arguing in favour always did do it that way.
There was never a single consensus on this issue. Every time it has been discussed in the last few years, there has been a fairly large split between those who don't see a problem with it, and those who do.
For myself, the rules seem to allow it (and did last edition as well) but the fact that certain other powers make a point of specifically addressing it raises a doubt as to whether or not it is intended.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|