Switch Theme:

psyker that deep strikes-can he cast blessing on himself the same turn?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in eu
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu





Athens, Greece

As per title, can he or not? I assume that deep strike happens at the start of the turn. And blessing can be casted at the start of the movement, can he or not cast them?

Killing is easy. Being politically correct is a pain in the ass...
My Chaos Space Marines showcase so far: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/437151.page (too old - i will update it soon) 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




No, because unit arriving from reserves cannot use special rules and abilities that must be used at the start of the turn. (pg 125, second paragraph)
And blessings must be cast on start of the turn.
   
Made in eu
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu





Athens, Greece

Thanks a lot Luide!

Killing is easy. Being politically correct is a pain in the ass...
My Chaos Space Marines showcase so far: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/437151.page (too old - i will update it soon) 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





It also say you can't use psychic powers that must be done at the start of the turn on the turn the psyker arrive from reserves on pg67
   
Made in br
Fireknife Shas'el




Lisbon, Portugal

What you can do is having another unit cast a blessing on the arriving unit, as reserves and blessing/maledictions happens at the same time

AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"

 Shadenuat wrote:
Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Redding, California

Pg. 7 of the rulebook FAQ makes it clear.

Blessings and reserves all happen at the same time, the player whos turn it is decides if blessings happen first or the reserves.

So luide is wrong. Yes you can chose to bring in your reserves then bless them no problem.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/27 00:04:58



NorCon 2010 - Best Overall
NorCon 2012 - Best General
Alight in the Grimdark invitational 2012 - Best General
NorCon 2013 - Player Choice
LVO Primer Tournament 2013 - Best General
NorCal 2014 ITC associate Tournament league - 1st place Know No Mercy GT "A second chance" 2016- Best General
Clash of the Titans 2015 - 2nd place
Contest of Campions #2 2015 - Best General
RageCon GT 2015 - 2nd Place "first loser"
Clash of the Titans 2016 - 2nd place... doh "Ill get it one day"
Contest of Champions #1 2016 - Best General
Contest of Champions #3 2016 - Best General
Know No Mercy GT 2016 - Best Daemons :-) "ROCK ON DAEMONS ill miss you D thirster" 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 Masos wrote:
Pg. 7 of the rulebook FAQ makes it clear.

Blessings and reserves all happen at the same time, the player whos turn it is decides if blessings happen first or the reserves.

So luide is wrong. Yes you can chose to bring in your reserves then bless them no problem.

The FAQ you are referring to deals with a psyker already on the table casting a 'start of turn' power on a unit coming in from reserve. It does not change the rule that clearly states that a unit that comes in from reserve can not cast a 'start of turn' power.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Redding, California

 Ghaz wrote:
 Masos wrote:
Pg. 7 of the rulebook FAQ makes it clear.

So luide is wrong. Yes you can chose to bring in your reserves then bless them no problem.

The FAQ you are referring to deals with a psyker already on the table casting a 'start of turn' power on a unit coming in from reserve. It does not change the rule that clearly states that a unit that comes in from reserve can not cast a 'start of turn' power.


Im almost 100% that you are wrong. The FAQ refers to the manifest of blessings. Not about a psyker already on the table. Ill read it again.

I can choose to have my psyker come in from reserves and still cast blessings. Because reserves and blessing happen at the same time.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/27 01:14:42



NorCon 2010 - Best Overall
NorCon 2012 - Best General
Alight in the Grimdark invitational 2012 - Best General
NorCon 2013 - Player Choice
LVO Primer Tournament 2013 - Best General
NorCal 2014 ITC associate Tournament league - 1st place Know No Mercy GT "A second chance" 2016- Best General
Clash of the Titans 2015 - 2nd place
Contest of Campions #2 2015 - Best General
RageCon GT 2015 - 2nd Place "first loser"
Clash of the Titans 2016 - 2nd place... doh "Ill get it one day"
Contest of Champions #1 2016 - Best General
Contest of Champions #3 2016 - Best General
Know No Mercy GT 2016 - Best Daemons :-) "ROCK ON DAEMONS ill miss you D thirster" 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

No. The FAQ does cover psykers already on the table casting a psychic power on a unit coming in from reserve. The main rulebook already covers psykers coming in from reserve as already noted in this thread.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/27 00:53:24


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 Masos wrote:


Im almost 100% that you are wrong. The FAQ refers to the manifest of blessings. Not about a psyker already on the table. Id read it again.

I can choose to have my psyker come in from reserves and still cast blessings. Because reserves and blessing happen at the same time.


I hope your "100%" is actually more like "10%," because the BRB is VERY clear on this:
BRB 67 wrote:
On a turn that a psyker arrives from reserve (see page 124) he cannot attempt to manifest any pyschic powers that must be manifested at the start of the Movement phase [eg. Blessings/Maledictions]

And this rule was already quoted in this thread.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/11/27 01:06:43


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone




Redding, California

Here's your sign.

Pg. 7 of official GW FAQ

Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

Does that clear this little misunderstanding up??

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/27 01:13:25



NorCon 2010 - Best Overall
NorCon 2012 - Best General
Alight in the Grimdark invitational 2012 - Best General
NorCon 2013 - Player Choice
LVO Primer Tournament 2013 - Best General
NorCal 2014 ITC associate Tournament league - 1st place Know No Mercy GT "A second chance" 2016- Best General
Clash of the Titans 2015 - 2nd place
Contest of Campions #2 2015 - Best General
RageCon GT 2015 - 2nd Place "first loser"
Clash of the Titans 2016 - 2nd place... doh "Ill get it one day"
Contest of Champions #1 2016 - Best General
Contest of Champions #3 2016 - Best General
Know No Mercy GT 2016 - Best Daemons :-) "ROCK ON DAEMONS ill miss you D thirster" 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Masos wrote:
Here's your sign.

Pg. 7 of official GW FAQ

Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

Does that clear this little misunderstanding up??

That has nothing to so with a psyker being able to come on the board and cast - all it solves is a timing issue for payers already on the board.
Unfortunately, in addition to the timing issue, there is a denial on page 67 from casting any blessings/Maledictions the turn you arrive from Reserves.

"Here's your sign." Indeed.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 Masos wrote:
Here's your sign.

Pg. 7 of official GW FAQ

Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

Does that clear this little misunderstanding up??


If you're still claiming that a Psyker can start the turn in reserves, and then cast a blessing/malediction...then no, this doesn't clear up anything.

Think of it this way: For the psyker ON the table, he can cast at the same time reserves arrive, since he hasn't done anything yet that turn. For the psyker in reserve, he has already done something at the beginning of the turn--namely, ARRIVE.
The BRB and FAQ clarify this nicely.

If you're retracting your earlier statement, to be in accordance with the clear RAW...then this FAQ still has nothing to do with that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/27 01:18:16


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





 Masos wrote:
Here's your sign.

Pg. 7 of official GW FAQ

Q: Blessings are manifested ‘at the start of the Psyker’s Movement
phase’ – does this mean they happen simultaneously with Reserves
rolls, Outflanking rolls etc and if so which is resolved first? (p68)
A: They do occur simultaneously – as such, the player whose
turn it is decides in what order these things occur as per
page 9 of the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.

Does that clear this little misunderstanding up??

Nothing in that FAQ mentions psykers coming in from reserves, just that psy powers and reserves are done at the same time.

The reason psykers can't cast powers from reserves wasn't because of reserves being also at the same time (which is what the faq is referring to), its because the BRB flat out says they can't on PG67 (which the faq makes no reference to)

So no, psykers coming from reserves still can't use blessing and maledictions when coming in from reserves.
   
Made in eu
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu





Athens, Greece

After reading the above posts plus reading the BRB and FAQ I think that people are right here. FAQ is reffering to another circumstance of reserves and psychic powers than if a psyker who arrives through reserves could or could not cast powers that are being cast at the start of the movement phase. That is already solved through the rulebook. The later FAQ simply corrects the time restrictions depending the reserves and other psykers already "on board".
That being said I think this thread is done.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/27 06:09:53


Killing is easy. Being politically correct is a pain in the ass...
My Chaos Space Marines showcase so far: http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/437151.page (too old - i will update it soon) 
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander








This is what the FAQ is for: Psykers who have powers that manipulate reserves, such as scrier's gaze.

As the casting and the reserves happen simo, the player can choose in what order to do them. So he can cast Scrier's Gaze and use that to influence later reserve rolls.

The FAQ does not overule the psyker coming in from reserves.

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Oh ma gerd.

That FAQ simply puts to bed when you manifest psychic power or when you roll for reserves. READ IT CLEARLY.

THERE was some confusion about rolling for who comes in then rolling for casting. Now it has a clear cut rule, so like if ya wanna cast scryers gaze you can before ROLLING for reserves. Rolling and starting the moves is two different things.

You cannot cast blessings with a psyker who comes from reserves, nor can you cast blessings on a unit that has arrived from reserves from a psyker already on the board since when you start moving units the casting phase is done....

That FAQ though poorly worded does not give you permission to break the game .

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Lungpickle wrote:
... nor can you cast blessings on a unit that has arrived from reserves from a psyker already on the board since when you start moving units the casting phase is done....

Not true. Reserves arrive and move onto the board before you can move any other units, therefore their movement occurs at the start of the Movement phase/turn. It is perfectly legal to cast a blessing on said units.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 Ghaz wrote:
Lungpickle wrote:
... nor can you cast blessings on a unit that has arrived from reserves from a psyker already on the board since when you start moving units the casting phase is done....
Reserves arrive and move onto the board before you can move any other units, therefore their movement occurs at the start of the Movement phase/turn.
Argument is grossly insufficient to prove assertion. Moving reserves is distinctly after rolling for reserves, which is defined as the start of the turn, so therefore is no longer the start. My argument is at least as correct as yours. Honestly, it's not really well-defined. But given that the relevant FAQ cites rolling for reserves (as opposed to resolving them) and the fact that moving units coming in from reserve is part of standard mid-movement phase rules, I find that very few people accept the argument that it's still the "start".
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Eye of Terror

Yes it is obvious reserves come on at the end of the turn.

My blog... http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com

Facebook...
https://m.facebook.com/Terminus6Est/

DT:60+S++++G++++M+++B+++I+++Pw40k89/d#++D+++A++++/eWD150R++++T(T)DM+++ 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Pyrian wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
Lungpickle wrote:
... nor can you cast blessings on a unit that has arrived from reserves from a psyker already on the board since when you start moving units the casting phase is done....
Reserves arrive and move onto the board before you can move any other units, therefore their movement occurs at the start of the Movement phase/turn.
Argument is grossly insufficient to prove assertion. Moving reserves is distinctly after rolling for reserves, which is defined as the start of the turn, so therefore is no longer the start. My argument is at least as correct as yours. Honestly, it's not really well-defined. But given that the relevant FAQ cites rolling for reserves (as opposed to resolving them) and the fact that moving units coming in from reserve is part of standard mid-movement phase rules, I find that very few people accept the argument that it's still the "start".


Should I point out that per the FAQ, psychic powers are done at the same time as outflank rolls which are done when the unit moves on?

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From page 124 of the Warhammer 40K 6th edition rulebook (emphasis mine):

When Reserves arrive, the player picks any one of the units arriving and deploys it, moving it onto the table as described below. Then he picks another unit and deploys it, and so on until all arriving units are on the table. The player can then proceed to move his other units as normal.

This clearly places units that are arriving from Reserve and their movement in arriving as occuring at the start of the Movement phase/turn.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Well I believe GOI is an exception. If one of a unit of three psykers casts GOI, the other two could then use start of turn psychic powers. While GOI does cause them to DS it does not place them in reserve and they are on the battlefield at the start of the turn. So in such a case another psyker in the unit could then bless himself or his unit... even with another GOI...

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






it was my understanding that it was no with the example, I saw being discusses was mephiston because people wanted to deep strike him since he could turn himself into jump infantry.
Or something of that sort. I have been doing it with my guard/inquisitors at the proper time and if I forgot... well, I just didn't get to use it that turn.

clively wrote:
"EVIL INC" - hardly. More like "REASONABLE GOOD GUY INC". (side note: exalted)

Seems a few of you have not read this... http://www.dakkadakka.com/core/forum_rules.jsp 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

We'll moving on from reserves count as movement. So the movement has started. They are just forced to move first as per the rules.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Lungpickle wrote:
We'll moving on from reserves count as movement. So the movement has started. They are just forced to move first as per the rules.

Since the rules for the Movement phase doesn't cover moving on from reserve, all of your reserves are moving at the start of the Movement phase/turn.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Lungpickle wrote:
We'll moving on from reserves count as movement. So the movement has started. They are just forced to move first as per the rules.

This view ignores the fact that Outflank rolls are made when moving a unit on the board, and are simultaneous with casting blessings and Reserve rolls.

No, arrival from Reserve happens prior to the rest of your units moving.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: