Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 15:37:50
Subject: Deffrolla question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
So had a match where I used a couple battle wagons with the deffrolla. There was some arguments on how I used it. And would like some clarification
I was around 10" away from a rhino. So I declared I will be tank shocking and proceeded to move the 10" to the rhino. Before getting to the rhino there was a little hill I had to cross that we agreed was difficult terrain. They say that the battle wagon cannot cross any type of terrain while ramming or tank shocking. I said all I need to do is make my dangerous terrain roll to make sure I'm not immobilized.
We rolled to see if i could do it to save time. I was allowed to do it.
So I deffrolla the rhino. Only causing 2 hull points. Immobilizing it.
Next turn. I say I will be tank shocking a tank that was 11" away. in the way was the previous Rhino and a group of marines before I would be able to deffrolla the tank. So they argued that I can't do it. That I have to move at least combat speed before I can hit anything. And I can only hit 1 unit and not multiple targets. I say that I'm moving 12" to get the tank so I'm moving at least combat speed.
Again to save time we rolled on it. And I lost. So my question to you people is.
Does the battle wagon stop to any piece of terrain when doing a tank shock or ram?
And do I have to physically move the battle wagon at least 6" before I can apply the tank shock or ram? Or am I able to deffrolla stuff before the 6" as long as I say I'm moving more than 6"?
The multiple units part I showed them the ork FAQ saying I get to deffrolla multiple units. So that is fine. But I just need another persons take on the rules for the two questions. Thanks for any help
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 15:51:39
Subject: Deffrolla question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Page 85, third paragraph under "Tank Shock".
Not 100% sure on the second part, but the way I've always seen it played is you count as having moved whichever speed is applicable (in other words if you declare 8" but are only able to move 4" you count as moving Cruising Speed).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 16:00:07
Subject: Deffrolla question
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
Only Impassible terrain, friendly models, or the board edge will stop a tank shock/ram move. So the hill shouldn't have been a problem.
When you do a tank shock/Ram you first point the vehicle where it's going then declare how far you're moving it. This is where the speed comes in. The tank doesn't have to move more than 6" before contacting the enemy, it only has to be intending to move more than 6" over the course of the TS/Ram.
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 16:11:28
Subject: Re:Deffrolla question
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
For Ramming, you are required to move at least Cruising speed (Page 86 - Ram, second Paragraph), which should be 12", but in the example (with a Rhino hitting a Trukk) the Rhino is only 10" away, so clearly it doesn't have to be the full distance, but you might need at least 6" of space for a "run-up" in order to Ram.
Also, you'd need to get a good enough ram (or 'Roll) to remove the first Rhino (explodes result) in order to get past it (as per page 86 - last paragraph before "Ram and Jink").
The only terrain that gets a mention anywhere is Impassible or Buildings, so that was bokum (you'd get a re-roll on the difficult terrain roll anyways because of the 'Rolla).
{Edit: Removing extraneous comment}
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/29 16:15:18
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 16:16:39
Subject: Deffrolla question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Ok thanks. Our group must have misread the impassible terrain with just terrain in general. I feel stupid lol.
It seems very loose the statement for "must move at combat speed to ram". It doesn't state whether you must move that much or you jus have to declare you are moving so far.
Maybe I can email GW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 17:29:40
Subject: Deffrolla question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Look in the brb under tank shock ram there's a picture explains how ramming/shocking 2 different units at different distances.
It's allowed to do this. The difficult terrain does not stop you unless you roll a 1 but then with the rolla you can reroll it iirc.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 20:01:17
Subject: Deffrolla question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
You could. You could also email Microsoft, and would be just as likely to get a correct answer. GW don't do 'official' rules answers... your email would just be answered by one of the mail order guys.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 06:01:57
Subject: Deffrolla question
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
holymist wrote:So I deffrolla the rhino. Only causing 2 hull points. Immobilizing it.
So this means you collided with it. It is still a tank, just immobilized and you are in BTB for all intents and purposes.
holymist wrote:
Next turn. I say I will be tank shocking a tank that was 11" away. in the way was the previous Rhino and a group of marines before I would be able to deffrolla the tank. So they argued that I can't do it. That I have to move at least combat speed before I can hit anything. And I can only hit 1 unit and not multiple targets. I say that I'm moving 12" to get the tank so I'm moving at least combat speed.
My question to the OP did you have to go around the rhino you were in B2B with or were you able to pivot, aim and go? If not, this second Tank Shock / Ram is disallowed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/01 06:05:23
|
|
 |
 |
|