Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 18:42:28
Subject: GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Bewitched Vassal of Angmar
|
Quick Question on the grand strategy rule.
Playing a opponent yesterday and he said he was giving his LR the scout ability via grand strategy. He won first turn and proceeded to scout the LR up 12". He then moves it another 6" and disembarks his purifiers.
In his assault phase he tries to charge the purifiers, but I say he cant because they scouted and he got 1st turn. His immediate reply was that the LR had scouted and not the unit inside so they were eligible to charge.
Of course I did not agree but I could not find an explanation for the RAI vs RAW.
Could some one here on dakkadakka help me with this?
thanks.
|
= |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 18:50:24
Subject: GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
1) Can't use grand strategy on non-walker vehicles.
2) Could only get the LR scout by having it be a dedicated transport for a unit given scout.
3) If the unit scouts in the land raider, they scouted.
4) Don't play with this guy, he sounds like a douche.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 19:09:58
Subject: Re:GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
All sorts of wrong there.
1) Cannot use grand strategy on a (non-walker) vehicle
2) Landraiders are not dedicated transports for 'any' unit in the grey knight codex, let alone purifiers specifically. (so no transferring scout that way)
3) A unit that has made a scout re-deployment cannot charge on the 1st turn. The unit inside a vehicle counts as having moved if the vehicle does.
Your opponent appears to have a fairly poor grasp of the 40k rules in this instance.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/29 19:11:11
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 19:15:49
Subject: Re:GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Neorealist wrote:
3) A unit that has made a scout re-deployment cannot charge on the 1st turn. The unit inside a vehicle counts as having moved if the vehicle does.
Cannot charge in the top of the first turn. If the player goes second, then a unit that scouted can charge in the bottom of Game Turn 1.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 19:22:27
Subject: Re:GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
The OP indicated that his opponent 'won' the first turn. I was responding with that in mind.
Your statement is correct though, the scout rule does not mention the first 'game' turn, so it defaults to the first 'player' turn as per the rule for such.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 19:36:26
Subject: Re:GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Neorealist wrote:
3) A unit that has made a scout re-deployment cannot charge on the 1st turn. The unit inside a vehicle counts as having moved if the vehicle does.
re-deployment is not movement. There have been a few discussions on weather or not a unit embarked on a transport that has done a scout re-deployment has itself also done a scout redeployment. RAW would suggest they have not. Popular opinion for RAI they have. How it should probably be played? In a friendly game don't do anything your friend might think is 'cheating'. In a tournament, call a TO over and be prepared to stick to the answer you didn't want to hear.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 19:39:42
Subject: GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Bewitched Vassal of Angmar
|
OK, thanks for the replies.
I will point this out to him next time I see him.
So anything can benefit from grand strategy except for non walker vehicles.
Interesting, very interesting.
Thanks again.
|
= |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 19:47:17
Subject: Re:GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
There is a specific list of unit types in the grey knight codex indicating which can benefit from grand strategy. Non-walker vehicles aren't on it, but there are a couple of others restricted as well.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/11/29 19:48:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 19:55:21
Subject: GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Ancient Venerable Black Templar Dreadnought
|
The main rule to keep in mind is NOTHING can go into assault in the beginning of the first turn.
Many people are looking into this very thing of sending in a LR with the SM white scar rules to get Centurions in close for their Gravity Guns.
|
A revolution is an idea which has found its bayonets.
Napoleon Bonaparte |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 19:57:31
Subject: Re:GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Neorealist wrote:The OP indicated that his opponent 'won' the first turn. I was responding with that in mind.
Your statement is correct though, the scout rule does not mention the first 'game' turn, so it defaults to the first 'player' turn as per the rule for such.
I just did not want other people to take your statement out of context and then get into a 40k inspired fist fight
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 20:03:27
Subject: GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Talizvar wrote:The main rule to keep in mind is NOTHING can go into assault in the beginning of the first turn.
That's not true at all. It's not common, but it can happen.
Opponent infiltrates a unit out of LoS 12" away from you. You move and can see one model from the unit. You are allowed to declare an assault top of turn 1.
Opponent scouts a vehicle 12" forward. You move forward 6" from the deployment line and have a 7" charge available.
There's more, but those should be enough to prove you wrong.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 20:43:53
Subject: GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
While I don't want to go too off topic, where does it say that you can charge after Scouting if you go 2nd?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 20:46:58
Subject: GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You have permission to charge each turn. Scout restricts that by saying that you cannot do it the first turn. Turn, unless otherwise specified, means player turn and not game turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 21:13:25
Subject: GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Valkyrie wrote:While I don't want to go too off topic, where does it say that you can charge after Scouting if you go 2nd?
BRB FAQ p5 wrote:Q: The rulebook states "A unit that makes a Scout redeployment cannot charge in the first turn."Does this mean that if your opponent has the first turn and you go second, your Scouting unit can charge? (p41)
A: Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 22:57:24
Subject: GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
rigeld2 wrote: Talizvar wrote:The main rule to keep in mind is NOTHING can go into assault in the beginning of the first turn.
That's not true at all. It's not common, but it can happen.
Opponent infiltrates a unit out of LoS 12" away from you. You move and can see one model from the unit. You are allowed to declare an assault top of turn 1.
Opponent scouts a vehicle 12" forward. You move forward 6" from the deployment line and have a 7" charge available.
There's more, but those should be enough to prove you wrong.
Plus the pivot trick still works to get a charge range over 24" and Lucius Pattern Drop Pods. There are still plenty of ways of getting into assault turn 1 but you don't have the easy 40"+ reach of 5th Ed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/11/29 23:41:30
Subject: GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
No longer an option with the Lucius. Can't drop and assault in the same turn any more.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 03:02:09
Subject: Re:GK grand strategy Question (I suspect foul play)
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
While assaulting from the Land Raider? was ok, No walker. No grand strategy.
|
"I don't have a good feeling about this... Your mini looks like it has my mini's head on a stick..."
"From the immaterium to the Imperium, this is Radio Free Nostramo! Coming to you live from the Eye of Terror, this is your host, Captain Contagion, bringing you the latest Heretical hits!"
|
|
 |
 |
|