Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 20:09:51
Subject: Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
SO im running a Salamander list that is Techmarine heavy 2 Master of the Forges 2 Techmarines and 3 Techmarine gunners with Thunderfire cannons.
in the Chapter tactics for Salamnders its says each (Character) can upgrade one weapon to be master crafted at no additional cost, What i wanted to know is can i do that on the Servo-Harness and it effects everything on it because you buy the harness and it says it incorporates the 2 servo-arms a TL plasma pistol and flamer???
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 20:12:51
Subject: Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Is the Servo-Harness a weapon, or a peace of wargear with several weapons included?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 20:14:08
Subject: Re:Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
its a weapon upgrade for the servo-arm which is a weapon so yes its a weapon
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 20:24:15
Subject: Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Warplord Titan Princeps of Tzeentch
|
No, its a wargear upgrade for the servo arm weapon.
The fact it replaces a weapon does not make it a weapon.
|
can neither confirm nor deny I lost track of what I've got right now. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 21:14:09
Subject: Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
no, you may not mastercraft the servoharness, it is special issue wargear as dictated by p125 of the space marine codex.
the conversion beamer however you could.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 21:27:12
Subject: Re:Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
but the weapons on it ie. one of the 2 servo arms, flamer or TL plasma pistol you could as well yes?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 21:46:18
Subject: Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
nope, they are not 'the character's' weapons, they are the servo-harnesses.
(fyi I play salamanders too) Automatically Appended Next Post: also, why would you want to master crafta twin linked weapon??? there is no benefit
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/01 21:47:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 22:07:11
Subject: Re:Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
I was going to mastercraft the servo-arms but i guess ill do the combi-flamers thanks for clearing that up i just needed to know what i could and couldn't do before i play a game
btw this is my loadout on the Techs as a Salamander player tell me what you think
Master of The Forge(Warlord)
-The Primarchs Wrath (Already Master Crafted)
Master of The Forge
-Combi Flamer (Master Crafted)
-Melta bombs
Techmarine X2
-Combi Flamer (Master Crafted)
-3 Servitors
-Servo Harness
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 22:53:50
Subject: Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
mastercrafting the flamers is also kind of moot since they effectively get that as a chapter trait, you would be better off master crafting their CC wepaons for re-rolls all round.
other than that my only comment would be with regards to the plans for all these techmarines and masters?
dreads don't benefit from being salamanders unless you have vulkhan and rock melta's and even then the flamers don't get to use the re-rolls and are not characters.
also the tanks don't benefit from the chapter traits.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 22:58:21
Subject: Re:Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
I have Tau Allies with Hammerheads(2) and Skyray(1) so they will sit behind them and repair and when is none needed pop out and shoot and the Warlord is moving up with a tactical squad with flamer, heavy flamer, and combi-flamer sgt so thats 4 flamers in a squad plus a Salvo 3/5 rending bolter
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 23:04:59
Subject: Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
They can't repair allied vehicles.
From the official FAQ:
Q: Can models from an Allied Detachment that have the ability to repair Hull Points or Immobilised/Weapon Destroyed results from the Vehicle Damage Table use this ability on Allied vehicles? (p112)
A: No.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/01 23:41:58
Subject: Re:Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You might want to discuss the ability for a space marine tech-marine to repairer allied vehicles before you start your game. The FAQ only clarifies that there is no permission for any model to do that on page 112 of the BRB. The Blessing of Omnissiah can be considered to grant that permission but not every one will feel that way because its not expressly written out that way.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/01 23:42:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/02 12:59:22
Subject: Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
it is expressly denied by the FAQ.....there is no room for discussion as it was shut down.
as for the flamers, you would be better served with a command squad and a captain and each veteran taking a flamer....just saying.....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/02 13:25:05
Subject: Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nutty_nutter wrote:it is expressly denied by the FAQ.....there is no room for discussion as it was shut down.
No its not. The FAQ says that according to page 112 of the BRB a model that can repair a hull point can not repair a hull point on an allied vehicle and this is true. Neither the BRB nor this FAQ say that a special rule in a codex can never allow a model to repair a hull point on an allied vehicle.
Its a permissive rule set, you need permission to do something. Page 112 of the BRB does not give you permission to repair allied vehicles with your tech marine. There is room for discussion if the Blessing of Omnisseiah does.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/02 14:58:32
Subject: Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
DJGietzen wrote:No its not. The FAQ says that according to page 112 of the BRB a model that can repair a hull point can not repair a hull point on an allied vehicle and this is true. Neither the BRB nor this FAQ say that a special rule in a codex can never allow a model to repair a hull point on an allied vehicle.
Its a permissive rule set, you need permission to do something. Page 112 of the BRB does not give you permission to repair allied vehicles with your tech marine. There is room for discussion if the Blessing of Omnisseiah does.
If Codex > FAQ in this case, then what is the FAQ for? It applies to nobody.
Permission to repair vehicles is always found in the relevant Codex ( IG, SM, SW, DA, BA, GK), it is never mentioned in the BRB. The reference to page 112 is because that's where the rules for allies is, not where the rules for repairs are. Referencing the proper pages in the codexes was clearly too much effort for GW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/02 15:32:33
Subject: Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
The Codex rule says nothing about overriding this restriction, nor does it create a conflict. So there's no reason why it should work on an allied vehicle.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/08 21:01:42
Subject: Re:Salamanders Chapter Tactics
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
I agree it shouldn't work unless allied with obvious actual allies like Blessing of the Omnissiah should work from Space Marines to IG and vice versa because they have the same machine spirit but Space Marines repairing a Eldar Fire Prism wouldn't
I asked my opponenet and thats what he said Imperium armies can help each other Chaos and Daemons can DE and Eldar can and the Orks,Tau, and Necrons are SoL
He said this for friendly games he would allow the above because it makes sense but in Tournament games we should stick to the FAQ.
Thank you all for your help on this matter!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/08 21:02:57
|
|
 |
 |
|