Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 19:54:22
Subject: Flyers and Crew Stunned
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
I had a game yesterday in which my Stormraven took a pen from my buddy's Stormraven, and he rolled a Crew Stunned. The BRB says the flyer can only move 18" and can't turn. His Stormraven was head on with mine, so that on my turn I couldn't place my Stormraven without being on top of his. Neither one of us could think of a better resolution to this other than my flyer had to count as wrecked. Did we do this correctly?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 20:03:51
Subject: Re:Flyers and Crew Stunned
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I seem to recall that it must maintain the same flying speed as the previous turn. For most fliers this means it must zoom between 18-36" (perhaps you are also not allowed to turn).
In my experience, crew stunned or immobilized results only affect fliers that may also go into hover mode. A storm-raven that is immobilized with a unit inside will have some serious difficulty unloading that unit because it cannot slow down to "hover" mode.
-Mark
|
I welcome it.
-Mark |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 20:16:14
Subject: Re:Flyers and Crew Stunned
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Mark_Autarch wrote:I seem to recall that it must maintain the same flying speed as the previous turn. For most fliers this means it must zoom between 18-36" (perhaps you are also not allowed to turn).
In my experience, crew stunned or immobilized results only affect fliers that may also go into hover mode. A storm-raven that is immobilized with a unit inside will have some serious difficulty unloading that unit because it cannot slow down to "hover" mode.
-Mark
That's only for Locked Velocity, which only triggers with an Immobilised result. Crew Stunned forces the flyer to move 18".
To the OP, the way I read it is that the Flyer is limited to an 18" move. While it's not stated as a maximum, I would play it that way. Therefore, the vehicle is forced to move less than 18" and is destroyed as a result. This feels like the most elegant solution to me.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 0302/11/04 20:20:36
Subject: Flyers and Crew Stunned
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Yes if it is forced to end its 18 inch move over another model it is wrecked. And that is why you buy extra armor for your Stormraven.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 21:15:44
Subject: Flyers and Crew Stunned
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
if it were a friendly game I would have suggested that this be the one occasion where you storm ravens ram each other in a mid-air collision. but reaper is correct, the rules don't cover it directly, but they are clear on where you must go and since you cannot do so you would be destroyed.
as I said I'd have talked this one over and gone for ram, out of cinematic giggles than trying to get anything out of it.
in a tournament just take it off and pass it off as one of those weird rule interactions that only come up under those set of conditions and are difficult to re-create
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 21:32:07
Subject: Re:Flyers and Crew Stunned
|
 |
Lieutenant Colonel
|
Mark_Autarch wrote:I seem to recall that it must maintain the same flying speed as the previous turn. For most fliers this means it must zoom between 18-36" (perhaps you are also not allowed to turn).
In my experience, crew stunned or immobilized results only affect fliers that may also go into hover mode. A storm-raven that is immobilized with a unit inside will have some serious difficulty unloading that unit because it cannot slow down to "hover" mode.
-Mark
actually, a flyer that suffers locked velocity while zooming has to move the full 36"
its in the FAQ in case you disagree.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 21:48:35
Subject: Re:Flyers and Crew Stunned
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Yep, it's wrecked. And yes, it's a stupid rule. Forget about other flyers, you can have your Stormraven wrecked if you take a "stunned" result and there's a single grot standing 18" away directly in front of the flyer.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 21:59:52
Subject: Flyers and Crew Stunned
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Which is why I love scoring stuns. I'll opt to not fire another unit and try to run into its path if I can. So much fun.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/04 22:57:28
Subject: Re:Flyers and Crew Stunned
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Well I'm just glad our confusion at a lack of specific rule for this is shared! And It's good that there were no other obvious solutions that we missed. Thanks for the replies all!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/05 00:25:03
Subject: Re:Flyers and Crew Stunned
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'd say this is the very definition of being forced to move less then 18". If his storm raven was directly in your path at 18 or less inches away and you cannot turn you are going to be forced to stop 1" away from his storm raven because you can't go around it and you can't go through it. If you are forced to stop then you have been forced to move less then 18" in the movement phase.
|
|
 |
 |
|