Switch Theme:

Storm Wing formation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Sergeant




Darlington

The Black Library has just released a data slate for the Storm Wing formation, all well and good I understand formations are outside FoC, Allies and Inquisition

Question is can you choose any Chapter to run this from and fill the Troop Capacity of the Stormraven with, so I'm running Space Wolves with Blood Angel allies and then a Storm Wing formation with White Scar troops or Iron Hand Centurions?

Not very clear really

Potentially Lethal - My Gaming Blog
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They are a detachment, the rules for entering vehicles from detachments would still apply
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

What are the rules for entering vehicles from a formation if its from your codex? I can't find them anywhere.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






you can put marines from codex marines in them, this is according the GW digi editions, they are going to update the DIGI codex to reflect this soon

“Independent Formation: The Adeptus Astartes Storm Wing Formation does not benefit from the Chapter Tactics special rule, but units from Codex: Space Marines that are included in the same army can begin the game embarked on the Stormraven Gunship, and can embark on it during the game.”

Excerpt From: Games Workshop Ltd. “Dataslate - Storm Wing.” iBooks.

 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

Ok stupid question, can dark angels take the formation like any apoc formation

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/05 18:08:16


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






The rules preventing a unit that can normally embark onto a transport from embarking onto a transport in another detachment are the allied relationship rules. With out these rules the permission to board any transport in your army would allow units from any detachment into any other detachment's transports. Two different detachments from the same codex don't have an allied relationship, so there are no rules baring unit from one detachment embarking into transports from another detachment chosen from the same codex.

Embarking your unit into the storm raven from this formation is no different then embarking units from your 1st primary detachment into a transport from your second primary detachment.

With codex space marines it is just a little bit more complicated. Each detachment needs at to choose a chapter tactic. Detachments with different chapter tactics will have allied relationships, detachments with the same chapter tactic will have no allied relationship. So you can't embark your White Scars in your Iron Hands storm raven.
edit: This last bit may be wrong, just read the line about no chapter tactics in this formation.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Formosa wrote:
Ok stupid question, can dark angels take the formation like any apoc formation


Dark Angels can only use Dark Angel Apocalypse formations, but in apocalypse there is nor reason you can't play more then one army. This formation however, has express permission to be placed in any army where it won't have a "come the apocalypse" relationship with any other detachment in that army, so yes Dark Angels can take this formation, but remember you cannot embark Dark Angel units into the Storm Raven. You can however use the storm talons as escort craft to the DA jet fighters.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/12/05 18:19:33


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

Sounds good to me, nephilims backed by ravens might be fun
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DJGietzen wrote:
The rules preventing a unit that can normally embark onto a transport from embarking onto a transport in another detachment are the allied relationship rules. With out these rules the permission to board any transport in your army would allow units from any detachment into any other detachment's transports. Two different detachments from the same codex don't have an allied relationship, so there are no rules baring unit from one detachment embarking into transports from another detachment chosen from the same codex.

Embarking your unit into the storm raven from this formation is no different then embarking units from your 1st primary detachment into a transport from your second primary detachment.

With codex space marines it is just a little bit more complicated. Each detachment needs at to choose a chapter tactic. Detachments with different chapter tactics will have allied relationships, detachments with the same chapter tactic will have no allied relationship. So you can't embark your White Scars in your Iron Hands storm raven.
edit: This last bit may be wrong, just read the line about no chapter tactics in this formation.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Formosa wrote:
Ok stupid question, can dark angels take the formation like any apoc formation


Dark Angels can only use Dark Angel Apocalypse formations, but in apocalypse there is nor reason you can't play more then one army. This formation however, has express permission to be placed in any army where it won't have a "come the apocalypse" relationship with any other detachment in that army, so yes Dark Angels can take this formation, but remember you cannot embark Dark Angel units into the Storm Raven. You can however use the storm talons as escort craft to the DA jet fighters.


This is incorrect according to the wording of the formation.

If this from Easysauce, is quoted accurately from the Dataslate: “Independent Formation: The Adeptus Astartes Storm Wing Formation does not benefit from the Chapter Tactics special rule, but units from Codex: Space Marines that are included in the same army can begin the game embarked on the Stormraven Gunship, and can embark on it during the game.”

This grants permission to any Codex:SM unit in the Army to embark upon the StormRaven regardless of detachment. So an Iron Hands IC joined to a White Scars Tac squad and a Dread can all be embarked on the SR at the same time.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






40k-noob wrote:

This is incorrect according to the wording of the formation.

If this from Easysauce, is quoted accurately from the Dataslate: “Independent Formation: The Adeptus Astartes Storm Wing Formation does not benefit from the Chapter Tactics special rule, but units from Codex: Space Marines that are included in the same army can begin the game embarked on the Stormraven Gunship, and can embark on it during the game.”

This grants permission to any Codex:SM unit in the Army to embark upon the StormRaven regardless of detachment. So an Iron Hands IC joined to a White Scars Tac squad and a Dread can all be embarked on the SR at the same time.


My entire post is incorrect? Or just the part I said might not be correct? Also the problem I see with the datalsate and codex space marines is that units with different chapter tactics are both in the same army (the models in your force) and not in the same army (becosue the rule on pg 77 says models with the same tactics are the same army. ) And while I'm inclined to believe they mean the former, there is room for argument on the matter.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 DJGietzen wrote:
40k-noob wrote:

This is incorrect according to the wording of the formation.

If this from Easysauce, is quoted accurately from the Dataslate: “Independent Formation: The Adeptus Astartes Storm Wing Formation does not benefit from the Chapter Tactics special rule, but units from Codex: Space Marines that are included in the same army can begin the game embarked on the Stormraven Gunship, and can embark on it during the game.”

This grants permission to any Codex:SM unit in the Army to embark upon the StormRaven regardless of detachment. So an Iron Hands IC joined to a White Scars Tac squad and a Dread can all be embarked on the SR at the same time.


My entire post is incorrect? Or just the part I said might not be correct? Also the problem I see with the datalsate and codex space marines is that units with different chapter tactics are both in the same army (the models in your force) and not in the same army (becosue the rule on pg 77 says models with the same tactics are the same army. ) And while I'm inclined to believe they mean the former, there is room for argument on the matter.


Sorry for not editing your post in my quote.

Basically, if the Data slate quote is correct then the Battle Brothers rule about embarking on transports is null and void for the Storm Raven with regards to Codex: SM units.
It will be like before the new Codex: SM book dropped and all those chapters were Codex: SM.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




would the Blood Angels be able to embark on it, since it is in their codex or does the fact that it is in the formation prevent this?
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




LongFang4Life wrote:
would the Blood Angels be able to embark on it, since it is in their codex or does the fact that it is in the formation prevent this?


Dataslate only lists codex:sm units may embark so no ba/sw etc
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: