Switch Theme:

Riptide Nova Charge 36 rending shots in 1 turn.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok. Riptide with HBC, Counter Defense System and Interceptor. According to the Codex: Tau Empire. On a successful roll of charging your Riptide's Nova Reactor you get 1 of the 4 profiles. The rules state, "you can choose one of the abilities listed below for the Riptide Shas'vre to have (until the start of its next movement phase)". Assuming you have the Heavy Burst Cannon and you charged it to have the 12 Shot, Rending, Gets Hot rule. You shoot. End your turn. Then during the your opponents movement phase something rolls in on reserves you fire (interceptor). Does the Heavy Burst Cannon still have the Nova Charge? Also, because Interceptor clearly says, "If this rule is used, the weapon cannot be fire in the next[b] turn." Meaning if someone were to charge the Riptide (or another unit w/ [b]supporting fire) on that same enemy's' assault phase (that turn), does the Heavy Burst Cannon shoot the Nova Charge again (for the third time) at BS 2 with the Nova Charge? 3x12 rending shots, though dangerous, seems a little insane to me.

Thanks guys.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Yes, that's how it works.

36 Rending *Get's Hot* shots - and it'll get hot more often than it rends.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Idaho

Yes to all questions.

2200
4500
3500 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Except the Riptide can't fire twice in one player turn, so can't overwatch in the same player turn that you shot interceptor.

DS:70S++G+MB-IPw40k10#+D++++A+/aWD-R+T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners




Boston, MA

Tye_Informer wrote:
Except the Riptide can't fire twice in one player turn, so can't overwatch in the same player turn that you shot interceptor.


Says?

Interceptor says "next turn" which is "player turn". Interceptor (Enemy movement) and Overwatch (Enemy assault) are the *same* turn.

0000 - Rest Period - BUT YOU BETTER NOT SPEND FOUR WHOLE HOURS SLEEPING. IF YOU DO YOU ARE NOT ANGRY ENOUGH AND TOMORROW YOU GET THE FIRST CHANCE TO PLAY PIN THE TAU ON THE CARNIFEX. 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





Tye_Informer wrote:
Except the Riptide can't fire twice in one player turn, so can't overwatch in the same player turn that you shot interceptor.

Please do not bring a thread's hotly contested argument into another thread.

If you want to argue that, please do so in that thread.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/05 20:11:57


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Tye_Informer wrote:
Except the Riptide can't fire twice in one player turn, so can't overwatch in the same player turn that you shot interceptor.


Except you would be wrong.
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker





Fragile wrote:
Tye_Informer wrote:
Except the Riptide can't fire twice in one player turn, so can't overwatch in the same player turn that you shot interceptor.


Except you would be wrong.


Read the thread, there's another thread discussing this already.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Ricter wrote:
Fragile wrote:
Tye_Informer wrote:
Except the Riptide can't fire twice in one player turn, so can't overwatch in the same player turn that you shot interceptor.


Except you would be wrong.


Read the thread, there's another thread discussing this already.


I have read the thread. That statement is no more right in that thread either.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: