Switch Theme:

Can a Quad Gun be deployed separately from an ADL?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





So re-reading over the rules of various Fortification (Yes I know they are poorly written with holes) I was wondering about the deployment of the ADL.

The ADL composition rules call out that the 4 large and small segments have to be in base contact with each other and the FAQ states that it has to form 1 continual chain. However, does the Comms Relay, Quad Gun, or Icarus Lascannon HAVE to be in base contact as well? The image in the BRB shows it not in base contact and the composition only says "sections" and doesn't refer to the 3 possible upgrade options.

So with that said, can I take an ADL with Quad gun but deploy them completely separate from each other? Obviously the Quad Gun loses the ADL cover save and would follow the rules for general gun emplacements but could I deploy the ADL on one side of my table half and then the quad gun elsewhere?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Nobody knows.

The image in the book is actually a little unclear. Some have argued that the gun in the rulebook pic is actually touching the wall, it's just not obvious from the angle, but whether or not that counts for anything is a matter of debate.

It's been argue back and forth extensively with no clear consensus. It seems likely that it was intended for the gun or the relay to be placed with the walls, but whether it is supposed to be touching them or just nearby (and how far away that would allow) ... that's just down to guesswork, becaue GW still hasn't bothered to finish writing the rules for their fortifications.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





 insaniak wrote:
Nobody knows.

The image in the book is actually a little unclear. Some have argued that the gun in the rulebook pic is actually touching the wall, it's just not obvious from the angle, but whether or not that counts for anything is a matter of debate.

It's been argue back and forth extensively with no clear consensus. It seems likely that it was intended for the gun or the relay to be placed with the walls, but whether it is supposed to be touching them or just nearby (and how far away that would allow) ... that's just down to guesswork, becaue GW still hasn't bothered to finish writing the rules for their fortifications.


Ok I was thinking it fell into one of those types of situations (and as for the picture the Bastion one doesn't help the debate either). Hopefully we'll all rejoice with updated rules and wording when Stronghold Assault comes out tomorrow then. (not likely).

Thanks
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






The WALL sections are supposed to all be touching. If you look at the deployment example provided in the rulebook, the gun is not touching the wall at any point.
Personally, I think the gun is INTENDED to be deployed "with" the wall so I always keep them together.
As that other guy said though, they have not FAQed that part so there isn't an official answer on it.

clively wrote:
"EVIL INC" - hardly. More like "REASONABLE GOOD GUY INC". (side note: exalted)

Seems a few of you have not read this... http://www.dakkadakka.com/core/forum_rules.jsp 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 EVIL INC wrote:
If you look at the deployment example provided in the rulebook, the gun is not touching the wall at any point.

That statement is false.

The back panel of the Gun is touching the ADL. (Not that Pictures are rules).

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
 EVIL INC wrote:
If you look at the deployment example provided in the rulebook, the gun is not touching the wall at any point.

That statement is false.

The back panel of the Gun is touching the ADL. (Not that Pictures are rules).


Not on pg 114. Do you have another page they are ?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Fragile wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
 EVIL INC wrote:
If you look at the deployment example provided in the rulebook, the gun is not touching the wall at any point.

That statement is false.

The back panel of the Gun is touching the ADL. (Not that Pictures are rules).


Not on pg 114. Do you have another page they are ?


Yes on page 114, the back plate of the gun is touching that back wall of the ADL.

The Back right corner of the Gun touches the low part of the wall. The low part of the ADL is closer than the tall parts because of how the ADL is made.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The picture does not show that. You may think it touches but there is no proof.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

It's irrelevant either way, since the picture isn't shown as how the thing has to be deployed. It's just a picture of what the ADL looks like.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Fragile wrote:
The picture does not show that. You may think it touches but there is no proof.

and there is no proof that it is not touching, and as Insaniak says it's irrelevant either way.

The Pic is not rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/05 23:47:17


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
and there is no proof that it is not touching


This has nothing to do with rules, you claimed a statement was false and back it up with ^. That is what is called an epic failure.
   
Made in us
Wise Ethereal with Bodyguard




Catskills in NYS

RAW: you don't need to have it touching
RAI: it should be touching

or something like that...

Homosexuality is the #1 cause of gay marriage.
 kronk wrote:
Every pizza is a personal sized pizza if you try hard enough and believe in yourself.
 sebster wrote:
Yes, indeed. What a terrible piece of cultural imperialism it is for me to say that a country shouldn't murder its own citizens
 BaronIveagh wrote:
Basically they went from a carrot and stick to a smaller carrot and flanged mace.
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Just recently had this pointed out in a game and dunno if its been addressed or argued but.

The book states that each section must be placed in base contact with at least 1 other piece

wouldn't that allow you to place these things all over the place so long as it was in pairs?

Also ADL have no base (though im saying this jokingly)

Edit: V MK better let that player know than.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/06 01:15:18


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Desubot wrote:
The book states that each section must be placed in base contact with at least 1 other piece

wouldn't that allow you to place these things all over the place so long as it was in pairs?

No. See the rulebook FAQ - the wording was changed.


Also ADL have no base (though im saying this jokingly)

Any wall has a base.

 
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






I'll look when I get back home. I was going by the one shown in the little rulebook thst comes with the starter set. It showed a space between them. Could be a spot of it is touching.Hard for me to see the stuff in it without reading glasses.

Note that the picture is not the rules of how it has to be deployed. It is an example of a possible deployment within the rules.

clively wrote:
"EVIL INC" - hardly. More like "REASONABLE GOOD GUY INC". (side note: exalted)

Seems a few of you have not read this... http://www.dakkadakka.com/core/forum_rules.jsp 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 EVIL INC wrote:
It is an example of a possible deployment within the rules.

No, it isn't. It's a picture showing what the ADL looks like, nothing more.

 
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






so your saying they show illegal deployments for units while trying to teach new players how to play the game. I never saw where they announced you could not actually deploy it like that in a game.
Their show, not how I would do it. We have all definitely seen them do worse. lol

Looking at the front of the gun, it is well away from the from of the wall as are both sides. You might notice that both sides are "square with the wall (looks that way to me anyway). If you look at the back left corner of the base of the gun, it appears to be a good inch away from the back wall (farther than the tiny extension would reach). This is a judgement call because as we can physically see that point as it is not in the picture, it may or may not actually be touching the wall in the rear. I am of a mind that it doesn't but my depth perception may be off.

clively wrote:
"EVIL INC" - hardly. More like "REASONABLE GOOD GUY INC". (side note: exalted)

Seems a few of you have not read this... http://www.dakkadakka.com/core/forum_rules.jsp 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 EVIL INC wrote:
so your saying they show illegal deployments for units while trying to teach new players how to play the game.

GW rulebooks and codexes have had illegal units pictured in them for 20 years now. It shouldn't really be a surprise to anyone by this point.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Fragile wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
and there is no proof that it is not touching


This has nothing to do with rules, you claimed a statement was false and back it up with ^. That is what is called an epic failure.

It was false, because it is touching, there is a pic in a previous thread that shows the lines and where the gun touches.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/06 05:03:25


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






This is true.
On that particular set up of the wall that they have in the picture, what is illegal about it? I often use an ADL and usually havit either I a long end to end line or I a shorter line with branches. but I'm just not seeing what is illegal about that particular picture. I don't think the gun has to be in contact with the wall and all sections of the wall are touching another wall section at the "bases".

clively wrote:
"EVIL INC" - hardly. More like "REASONABLE GOOD GUY INC". (side note: exalted)

Seems a few of you have not read this... http://www.dakkadakka.com/core/forum_rules.jsp 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

You were the one who brought up the legality of it, so you tell me.

My point was simply that the picture just shows what the ADL looks like. It is not an indication of legal setup.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/06 05:11:58


 
   
Made in my
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

Can a Land Raider's lascannon be deployed separately from a Land Raider?

 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 DeathReaper wrote:
Fragile wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
and there is no proof that it is not touching


This has nothing to do with rules, you claimed a statement was false and back it up with ^. That is what is called an epic failure.

It was false, because it is touching, there is a pic in a previous thread that shows the lines and where the gun touches.


You cannot determine from that picture whether it is touching or not, your simply refusing to admit your wrong.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 PrinceRaven wrote:
Can a Land Raider's lascannon be deployed separately from a Land Raider?

When the land raider is fully assembled, is the lascannon a completely separate, unattached model in its own right?

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, if you dont glue the sponson to the hull.

(Not using the rulebook definition of "model", of course, as the quadgun is not one)
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






nosferatu1001 wrote:
Yes, if you dont glue the sponson to the hull.


Then it isn't fully assembled. Fully assembling a Land Raider includes mounting the sponson in the appropriate place, and you aren't allowed to modify the model by removing the sponson and placing it somewhere else in the middle of the game.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Do you have a rule for that? Or how about a leman russ - where sponsons are optional upgrades - what rule states they must be attached?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

The one that results in you not having many opponents if you try to deploy your sponsons as separate models.



Seriously, RAW is awesome and all, but sometimes these arguments just get too silly for words.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Indeed -but so does claiming you can place the Quadgun anywhere you like, but not a sponson, "because"

Place it in base contact. Not a single person I have ever met using one, or playing against one, thinks you can place the gun anywhere you like
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Indeed -but so does claiming you can place the Quadgun anywhere you like, but not a sponson, "because"

'Because' has never been the argument. The difference between a sponson and a quad gun should be fairly self evident from a cursory look at the models in question.

Place it in base contact. Not a single person I have ever met using one, or playing against one, thinks you can place the gun anywhere you like

From my experience, most steer away from the 'anywhere' approach as much because they know that their opponent is likely to disapprove... The general approach seems to be either base contact or within 2" or so.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: