Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 15:18:51
Subject: vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I know this may be stupid, but I cant find the distinction anywhere inside the rulebook (so I turn to you guys)
A daemon player rolls on the warp storm table..gets the rule that an enemy psyker must roll the 3d6 leadership test or be removed as a casualty.
Only psyker on table is opponents warlord..in a land-raider.
Of course the first thing he says is "no no no no no....he's in a land-raider, that counts as being a vehicle character".
Then of course the next hour is spent with 4 people going through rule books...and of course no one can find anything.
Any thoughts?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 15:23:03
Subject: vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Opponents warlord has to roll, regardless of where he is.
There's no such thing as a "vehicle character". There's characters and not characters.
And psykers don't have to be characters.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 15:26:25
Subject: Re:vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So what would that mean when the rule says "any non vehicle character" (ive never heard of a vehicle character...but hey...who knows)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 15:35:02
Subject: vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Bjorn (space wolf dreadnought HQ) is a vehicle character. So I guess I was wrong - there is such a thing, but they're very very very rare.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 15:47:23
Subject: Re:vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
oh....im surprised..I was thinking a vehicle character would be some strange IG forge-world vehicle lol.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 15:47:48
Subject: vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
Kelne
|
Bjorn (sw) , Ravenwing's boss when in his land speeder I think, a few FW Dreadnought characters ...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 15:48:03
Subject: vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The only question is whether the ability affects models in a transport. GW has a history of going either way with that, so its something that you should discuss among your group.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 16:11:11
Subject: vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
I would say it would depend on the wording of the warp storm effect and the wording for embarked upon a transport and how the two interact.
while there is a possibility your opponent may be correct, his logic for coming to that conclusion is very, very wrong.
for reference, and a possible over-site from GW's point, the embarkation rule on p78 actually state that you remove the models from the table, it does go on to say you measure effects that involve the unit to the hull but that could be a red herring as far as this warp storm is concerned.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 17:05:26
Subject: vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:Opponents warlord has to roll, regardless of where he is.
There's no such thing as a "vehicle character". There's characters and not characters.
And psykers don't have to be characters.
Nope, FAQ says differently. He will auto pass the leadership test.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 17:11:29
Subject: vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
MarkyMark wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Opponents warlord has to roll, regardless of where he is.
There's no such thing as a "vehicle character". There's characters and not characters.
And psykers don't have to be characters.
Nope, FAQ says differently. He will auto pass the leadership test.
Which FAQ specifically? There isn't one in the Demons FAQ and I didn't see it in the BRB FAQ.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 17:15:04
Subject: vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Here it is.
Q: Can psychic powers or other effects that cause a Leadership
test, for example the Tyranids’ Psychic Scream, affect vehicles
or units embarked upon transports? (p76 / p78)
A: No
I play daemons heavily so have noticed this FAQ a long time ago. It is a effect that causes a leadership test on a embarked passenger.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 17:21:23
Subject: vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Thanks - I'd missed that.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/07 20:44:19
Subject: vehicle character vs character in a vehicle
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
There is another example of a vehicle character within the forge world rules, in essence a Salamander version of Bjorn that is a monster if you put them in a drop pod. Still it is very rare and when it occurs there is a specific mention of it in the rule section of the unit entry to highlight this fact. Just thought to bring it up because I would like to see some more vehicle characters, even if the rules we have right now only make it possible for walkers to function as characters due to the whole needing to be able to carry out assault thing.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
|