Switch Theme:

Destroyer Weapons vs. Serpent Shields  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Executing Exarch





McKenzie, TN

Does a serpent shield downgrade a Destroyer result (any of them) to a glancing hit?

I would image yes for 1) Penetrating hit and no for 2+
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

Does a Destroyer hit actually cause a Penetrating Hit?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





On a 1 it causes a single penetrating hit, on a 2+ it causes craptons of hull points.

Serpent shield would downgrade the penetrating hit, nothing in the rules for destroyer weapons says the hit can't be downgraded.

But a 2+ the serpent just gets hull-pointed out of existence

13000
12000
:daemon 14000
:darkeldar 5000 
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch





McKenzie, TN

Sounds good to me.
   
Made in ru
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker





Hive Moscow

 ansacs wrote:
Does a serpent shield downgrade a Destroyer result (any of them) to a glancing hit?

I would image yes for 1) Penetrating hit and no for 2+


No, see wording of D weapons, they ignore any kind of saves, rolls, or special rules.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





 Darog wrote:
 ansacs wrote:
Does a serpent shield downgrade a Destroyer result (any of them) to a glancing hit?

I would image yes for 1) Penetrating hit and no for 2+


No, see wording of D weapons, they ignore any kind of saves, rolls, or special rules.


They specifically listed what rolls D weapons ignore: saves, FNP, and RP. That's it! If they intended for anything else they would have listed it or been more specific than "special rolls".
   
Made in nz
Disguised Speculo





^This. They don't ignore the Rev's holo save for instance
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






 Dakkamite wrote:
^This. They don't ignore the Rev's holo save for instance


But that's only because the holofield rule specifically says that it works against D-weapons. The D-weapon rules don't only ignore FNP/RP, they just give those as "such as" examples. The Wave Serpent's special ability is pretty obviously a similar defensive roll that should not be allowed against D-weapons.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in dk
Infiltrating Prowler






A roll on 1, you cause a penetrating hit and yes, the waveserpent can downgrade it.

A roll of 2+ causes you to lose HP, that's it.
   
Made in gb
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Would St celestine be able to get back up after D hit?
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 Peregrine wrote:
 Dakkamite wrote:
^This. They don't ignore the Rev's holo save for instance


But that's only because the holofield rule specifically says that it works against D-weapons. The D-weapon rules don't only ignore FNP/RP, they just give those as "such as" examples. The Wave Serpent's special ability is pretty obviously a similar defensive roll that should not be allowed against D-weapons.


This you have to specifically call out Destroyer hits to get any sort of save or special roll against the damage. That's what the destroyer rules state.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Mythantor wrote:
Would St celestine be able to get back up after D hit?


No.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/10 12:25:18


Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Downgrading is NOT a save. While it functions off a dice roll, it is NOT a save - as a save ignores the result, this changes the result.

I see nothing that stops serpent shields working against D weapons
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




 FlingitNow wrote:

 Mythantor wrote:
Would St celestine be able to get back up after D hit?


No.

Wrong. She gets back up on the controlling players turn. It's not a save, nor a special rule to resist damage, nor anything else that the destroyer shot can do a thing about. Rather, it's regeneration of life which can happen against any form of damage. The only way to prevent her regeneration is to bypass the damage system alltogether and use a weapon which causes 'removal from play,' (IE Jaws.) [Citation Needed.] Or, use a rule which gets rid of her power alltogether. (IE Zogworts Curse.)
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

The only way is Zog's curse or if she was never on the table at all (i.e. deep strike mishap where she isn't the model used to roll scatter).

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Waaaghpower wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:

 Mythantor wrote:
Would St celestine be able to get back up after D hit?


No.

Wrong. She gets back up on the controlling players turn. It's not a save, nor a special rule to resist damage, nor anything else that the destroyer shot can do a thing about. Rather, it's regeneration of life which can happen against any form of damage. The only way to prevent her regeneration is to bypass the damage system alltogether and use a weapon which causes 'removal from play,' (IE Jaws.) [Citation Needed.] Or, use a rule which gets rid of her power alltogether. (IE Zogworts Curse.)


Check the destroyer rules. RP is almost exactly the same as Celestine's rule in how it functions as is EL both, Destroyer calls out such rules. Destroyer says do you have a roll that means the model hasn't suffered damage? Then you don't get it.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

She does suffer damage. She just gets back up later.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 pretre wrote:
She does suffer damage. She just gets back up later.


So does a Necron with a RP roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/10 17:15:41


Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 Tarrasq wrote:
 Darog wrote:
 ansacs wrote:
Does a serpent shield downgrade a Destroyer result (any of them) to a glancing hit?

I would image yes for 1) Penetrating hit and no for 2+


No, see wording of D weapons, they ignore any kind of saves, rolls, or special rules.


They specifically listed what rolls D weapons ignore: saves, FNP, and RP. That's it! If they intended for anything else they would have listed it or been more specific than "special rolls".


This isn't true. The rule states, "including special rolls such as Feel No Pain or Necron Reanimation Protocols." That means D weapons ignore all manner of special rolls, like Celestine and Thawn. FNP and RP are examples of what D ignores, and not an exhaustive list.

LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




Except RP occurs at the end of the same phase that you took damage. Celestine's ability takes place on an entirely different turn.
   
Made in us
Shadowy Grot Kommittee Memba




The Great State of New Jersey

 Elric Greywolf wrote:
 Tarrasq wrote:
 Darog wrote:
 ansacs wrote:
Does a serpent shield downgrade a Destroyer result (any of them) to a glancing hit?

I would image yes for 1) Penetrating hit and no for 2+


No, see wording of D weapons, they ignore any kind of saves, rolls, or special rules.


They specifically listed what rolls D weapons ignore: saves, FNP, and RP. That's it! If they intended for anything else they would have listed it or been more specific than "special rolls".


This isn't true. The rule states, "including special rolls such as Feel No Pain or Necron Reanimation Protocols." That means D weapons ignore all manner of special rolls, like Celestine and Thawn. FNP and RP are examples of what D ignores, and not an exhaustive list.


Gonna have to give it to this man, reading comprehension FTW!

CoALabaer wrote:
Wargamers hate two things: the state of the game and change.
 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Waaaghpower wrote:
Except RP occurs at the end of the same phase that you took damage. Celestine's ability takes place on an entirely different turn.


Yes that's true but I don't see why you think that makes a difference nothing in the D weapons rules state phase.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




My argument would be that D weapons on a roll of a 2+ do not actually cause a penetrating hit. It's similar to how you can't make saves against JoWW because it doesn't cause wounds. on a roll of a 2+ the vehicle suffers an explodes result, there is not penetrating hit to reduce, therefore the serpent shield is ineffective.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

However, the question remains, if a Destroyer weapon rolls a 1 on its "I'm-a gonna damage youse" roll, can a Serpent Shield knock it down to a glance? It's still taking damage, just not as severe (if allowed).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




 FlingitNow wrote:
Waaaghpower wrote:
Except RP occurs at the end of the same phase that you took damage. Celestine's ability takes place on an entirely different turn.


Yes that's true but I don't see why you think that makes a difference nothing in the D weapons rules state phase.

However, it does make Celestine and Thawns rule dissimilar to the rules mentioned. It's close, and in a game I'd probably not press the issue, that's just my interpretation.
As for the serpent shield, I'd say that it works if the destroyer hit rolls a '1', but not otherwise.
   
Made in au
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




The Golden Throne

If the D weapon rolled a 1, you could downgrade it as it states it is a penetrating hit.

On a 2+, the doesnt suffer a penetrating hit, it just explodes. So no, not on a D weapon rolling 2 or higher.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/11 14:38:10


Build a man a fire, he will be warm for a night. Set a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life. 
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Is it a special roll?
Does it reduce the damage you have suffered as a result of a destroyer hit?

If the answer is yes to those then you can not use that rule against Destroyer hits.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







 FlingitNow wrote:
Is it a special roll?
Does it reduce the damage you have suffered as a result of a destroyer hit?

If the answer is yes to those then you can not use that rule against Destroyer hits.


Isn't this the EXACT same scenario that has been discussed at length for EL versus Sweeping Advance?
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




 FlingitNow wrote:
Is it a special roll?
Does it reduce the damage you have suffered as a result of a destroyer hit?

If the answer is yes to those then you can not use that rule against Destroyer hits.

Special roll? Yes.
Reduce damage? No.
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Waaaghpower wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Is it a special roll?
Does it reduce the damage you have suffered as a result of a destroyer hit?

If the answer is yes to those then you can not use that rule against Destroyer hits.

Special roll? Yes.
Reduce damage? No.


Are you talking about the shield or Celestine now? If the former then that is a ludicrous statement to make. Therefore I assume you're talking about Celestine? Does she get back up and discount the damage? Like a Necron with an RP roll just at a different time? If so then clearly no roll.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought




 FlingitNow wrote:
Waaaghpower wrote:
 FlingitNow wrote:
Is it a special roll?
Does it reduce the damage you have suffered as a result of a destroyer hit?

If the answer is yes to those then you can not use that rule against Destroyer hits.

Special roll? Yes.
Reduce damage? No.


Are you talking about the shield or Celestine now? If the former then that is a ludicrous statement to make. Therefore I assume you're talking about Celestine? Does she get back up and discount the damage? Like a Necron with an RP roll just at a different time? If so then clearly no roll.

Celestine. And the rule states that she gets new wounds, not ignores old damage. Does Destroyer annul Regeneration? Or Life Leech?
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: