Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/13 09:36:57
Subject: Daemon of Tzench and Reinforced Aegis
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hi,
I had a question the other day facing a Deamon army with my GK.
Kairos tried to cast a spell at my GK that were close to a Dread.
He starts with LD 9 (IIRC) and has 2 modifiers for his psychic test (+3 for Tzeentch and -4 for Reinforced Aegis).
The order is important as LD cannot be over 10 so if we add 3 first it makes 9 + 3 = 12 (brought back to 10) then -4 = 6
Or it could be 9-4+3 = 8
When i checked the BRB, it gives the order between multiplier and addition or set value but not what to do in that case.
Is there a rule to define what should be done? Is it depending on active player (who chooses the order)?
Is there any consensus? (tests at 8 are really far different from 6 against deamons)
I agre that GK do not need that to stand a chance against deamons but i still would be interested in the answer.
Thanks to you all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/13 09:46:11
Subject: Daemon of Tzench and Reinforced Aegis
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
You apply all modifiers and then cap at 10. So you're Ld8no matter which you do first.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/13 10:04:18
Subject: Daemon of Tzench and Reinforced Aegis
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
I would just order of operations that. Because addition and subtraction happen at the same time in math, they would happen at the same time here, for a -1 to his LD9. I wouldn't resolve it as [max10](9+3)-4 = 6 because that really doesn't make sense
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/13 10:05:04
Subject: Daemon of Tzench and Reinforced Aegis
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok thanks a lot for that.
I agree it seems logical and that is how we played it but wanted to make sure.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/13 10:50:46
Subject: Daemon of Tzench and Reinforced Aegis
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As subtractions and additions happen at the same time the player whos turn it is decides, so basically it will be the daemon players turn and they will decide whatever is best for them
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/13 10:55:30
Subject: Daemon of Tzench and Reinforced Aegis
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
MarkyMark wrote:As subtractions and additions happen at the same time the player whos turn it is decides, so basically it will be the daemon players turn and they will decide whatever is best for them
No additions and subtractions happen at the same time. The max 10 comes in at the end (as does any minimum) because you have no permission to intercede that step.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/13 12:43:57
Subject: Daemon of Tzench and Reinforced Aegis
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
MarkyMark wrote:As subtractions and additions happen at the same time the player whos turn it is decides, so basically it will be the daemo n players turn and they will decide whatever is best for them
That only applies when two players have actions that occur at the same time. They dont.
You dont apply caps until after resolving the equation, as nothingint eh rules for multiple modifiers tells you to stop, apply cap, then complete the remaining steps.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/14 03:16:16
Subject: Re:Daemon of Tzench and Reinforced Aegis
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Ha, just watch him struggle to make his powers at LD 8, and then deny it on a 5+ anyway. And good for you for taking a Dreadnought!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|