| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 21:39:13
Subject: Stormboyz and charging
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
Da Kamp
|
The Stormboyz have their special jump packs known as Rokkit Packs. They count as jump packs, with the added benefit of an extra D6 movement whenever they, well, move.
Now, jump-packs usually charge 2D6. Does this mean that with the rokkit-packs, stormboyz can charge 3D6? Still with the risk of a crashing stormboy ofcourse.
|
W: Too few L: Too many D: Yes
Not gold. Not plastic. Soon, Games Workshop miniatures will be forged entirely from narrative - a 5-man box costing £70, containing the highest-quality imaginary soldiers in the world. Why have miniatures? Why paint, assemble or convert when you can simply imagine your army? - Frozen Ocean |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 21:54:23
Subject: Stormboyz and charging
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, but only if they are using their jump pack to assault, meaning they haven't used them during the movement phase...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/15 22:05:22
Subject: Stormboyz and charging
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
Da Kamp
|
Aww, I forgot that you can't use jump packs twice in a turn... I was hoping for a nice 4D6 + 12" threat range  Thanks anyway!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/15 22:07:50
W: Too few L: Too many D: Yes
Not gold. Not plastic. Soon, Games Workshop miniatures will be forged entirely from narrative - a 5-man box costing £70, containing the highest-quality imaginary soldiers in the world. Why have miniatures? Why paint, assemble or convert when you can simply imagine your army? - Frozen Ocean |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 16:06:22
Subject: Stormboyz and charging
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
1) If they have not already used their Rokkit Packs in the Movement phase, Stormboyz get a 3D6" re-rollable charge range? Sweet.
2) However, whenever they fall back, it must be 4D6". I can live with that.
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 17:45:19
Subject: Stormboyz and charging
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Ghenghis Jon wrote:1) If they have not already used their Rokkit Packs in the Movement phase, Stormboyz get a 3D6" re-rollable charge range? Sweet.
2) However, whenever they fall back, it must be 4D6". I can live with that.
Be mindful that I believe technically with the way the rule is worded you can't re-roll the extra dice you get from the Stormboyz Rokkit pack in an assault. You'd also need to roll it separate both when falling back or assaulting since it determines whether or not a Stormboy dies.
The rule lets you add the result of the Rokkit Pack dice to your move. So when assaulting with Stormboyz you should get 2D6 (rerollable) plus an additional D6.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 18:27:06
Subject: Stormboyz and charging
|
 |
Glorious Lord of Chaos
The burning pits of Hades, also known as Sweden in summer
|
I was not aware of this. Are you certain that it is not movement phase only?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/16 19:27:41
Subject: Stormboyz and charging
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The Stormboyz were never provided any kind of FAQ for 6th edition, and the rule simply states "any time the Stormboy utilizes its Rokkit pack to move or fall back".
In 4th and 5th edition Jump Troops couldn't use their jumppacks during Assault, so there was no need to make the rule any more specific than that. An assault move is still a move, and since the rule was originally written such that Stormboyz would use the Rokkit Pack whenever they activated their jets, it follows that they'd still be able to use them anytime they activated their jets in 6th edition.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/20 11:46:43
Subject: Stormboyz and charging
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Since this is uncharted territory, is there a discernible order of operations for the rolling the 3 dice in Assault? Or do we get to choose? Such as:
Process A:
1. Roll 2D6 for assault range
2. Roll extra Stormboy D6
3. Re-roll any of the original 2D6 if desired
Process B:
1. Roll 2D6 for assault range
2. Re-roll any of the 2D6 if desired
3. Roll extra Stormboy D6
Process C:
1. Roll extra Stormboy D6
2. Roll 2D6 for assault range
3. Re-roll any of the 2D6 if desired
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/12/20 11:57:05
Subject: Re:Stormboyz and charging
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
A and C are essentially the same, since you only care if you re-roll before or after the extra D6.
I would say that A (or indeed, C) is the correct way. The dice should be rolled at the same time (with a different colour for the extra-Stormboy-might-explode dice preferably), unless someone can provide a page reference in counter-argument? Given that this is the only unit it would apply to, I would guess GW hasn't thought of it at all.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|