Switch Theme:

Vortices (Vortexes?) and Survivors  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

Ok, so my apoc book states that:
Warhammer 40000: Apocalypse wrote:
VORTEX
A weapon with this special rule is a Destroyer weapon and uses a blast marker of some
type (i.e. blast, large blast, massive blast etc). Place the appropriate marker, roll for
scatter and apply damage (see Destroyer Weapons, opposite). For determining Wound
allocation, always assume the shot is coming from the centre of the marker, in the
same manner as a Barrage weapon.
The marker for a Vortex weapon is not removed from play after damage
has been resolved. Leave it in play on the tabletop. The marker is impassable
terrain as long as it remains in play.
At the beginning of every subsequent player turn, the marker scatters
2D6" (use the little arrow if you roll a Hit!). If a double is rolled, the marker is
removed from play instead. Any model under the marker's new location is hit.
Apply damage as described above.

So, picture this scenario:
I fire my vortex missile (or whatever), and it does damage.
My opponents turn, it scatters on top of 5 guardsmen.
I roll a 1,2,2,2,5 on the destroyer chart. Four guardsmen die.
Seems ok?
But now the conundrum:
Let's assume the surviving guardsman is still part of a unit (say, 5 more guys). He is now in the middle/underneath/on top of impassable terrain. How does movement work???
My first thoughts/ideas (none of which are rules-based, so I'm looking for the RAW answer please! ):
1) Just that guardsman cannot move. The others are free to move.
2) That guardsman can move (makes no sense).
3) None of the unit can move.
4) The guardsman dies.
What do you guys think?

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

Nobody?

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in gb
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian




1) Intentionally breaks unit coherency which is against game rules.
2) Breaks impassible terrain rules.
3) Seems stupid but the one which most follows RAW.
4) Then what is the point in rolling to wound? Rules do not state he dies.

Also why the hell are you shooting a vortex missile at a guardsman squad :-p???
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

Poly Ranger wrote:
1) Intentionally breaks unit coherency which is against game rules.
2) Breaks impassible terrain rules.
3) Seems stupid but the one which most follows RAW.
4) Then what is the point in rolling to wound? Rules do not state he dies.

Also why the hell are you shooting a vortex missile at a guardsman squad :-p???

Thanks for the response
Just to clarify, for (1) I meant while maintaining coherency.
2) Agreed.
3) Can you clarify why you think this one and not (1)?
4) I know, that one was more of a possible HYWPI... (I couldn't think of any answer by RAW).

And it's more the concept than the actual guardsmen

What do you think would change if the surviving target was a super-heavy vehicle?

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
Made in gb
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian




Lol I know, was just pulling your leg. Well as a superheavy it wont have to worry about unit coherency.
If maintaining coherency, I dont see a problem with #1 tbf. The unit can move if not under the vortex blast as long as 1 model stays within 2" of the model under the template. I just misunderstood what you meant by 'move', I assumed you meant 'move away'.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

It does seem to be a interesting way that you could 'lock' a unit into a dangerous situation if the lady was on your side. Either to prevent them from moving into a better position or just to keep them next to the ball-o-killy-death that has a chance to wipe more out of them from the board in the following turns. After all, your guaranteeing at least one follow up hit on the unit the next turn, unless it doubles out.

It was an interesting question though, I refrained from posting originally because I wanted to see what others would think first and see if they found something I was over-looking. For right now I believe the unit would be forced to get as close to the trapped man as possible, unless they manage to get someone within 2 inches of him which might not even be possible with large enough blast markers, as the only action they can take during the movement phase. I think it is an oversight in the rules myself, maybe they never thought of a situation where impassable terrain will pop into existences around a model at time of writing, but the most Rules as Written answer I have seen has been thus:

Move them as close to coherency as you can, without moving the trapped model of course.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





would like to point out that the scenario is very unlikely to happen, the template would be scattering in every player turn and will always scatter a minimum of 3" which 'should' be enough to allow a regular infantry base to no longer be effected.

if due to weird distances, angles he remained under the template he would be taking another hit and would be very lucky to live through that one too making this scenario is very unlikely.

however, in the event that he was to live through 2 hits, then as stated by others the unit would have to maintain coherency and the model would be unable to move, it would also prevent the unit from charging.


*edit for clean-up

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/21 16:07:47


 
   
Made in gb
Rough Rider with Boomstick



Wiltshire

JinxDragon wrote:
It does seem to be a interesting way that you could 'lock' a unit into a dangerous situation if the lady was on your side. Either to prevent them from moving into a better position or just to keep them next to the ball-o-killy-death that has a chance to wipe more out of them from the board in the following turns. After all, your guaranteeing at least one follow up hit on the unit the next turn, unless it doubles out.

It was an interesting question though, I refrained from posting originally because I wanted to see what others would think first and see if they found something I was over-looking. For right now I believe the unit would be forced to get as close to the trapped man as possible, unless they manage to get someone within 2 inches of him which might not even be possible with large enough blast markers, as the only action they can take during the movement phase. I think it is an oversight in the rules myself, maybe they never thought of a situation where impassable terrain will pop into existences around a model at time of writing, but the most Rules as Written answer I have seen has been thus:

Move them as close to coherency as you can, without moving the trapped model of course.

Thanks, Jinx. (And everyone else )
This was my original thought I think
So, just to clarify, if the target was a superheavy, a gargantuan creature (that wasn't flying), or any single survivor (independent character, big gribblies etc), they would be unable to move? Awesome

Note to the reader: my username is not arrogance. No, my name is taken from the most excellent of commanders: Lord Castellan Creed, of the Imperial Guar- I mean Astra Militarum - who has a special rule known only as "Tactical Genius"... Although nowhere near as awesome as before, it now allows some cool stuff for the Guar- Astra Militarum - player. FEAR ME AND MY TWO WARLORD TRAITS. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: