Switch Theme:

Necron Flyer Spam and reserve limit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in pl
Horrific Howling Banshee




I haven't faced a Necron Croissant Spam player yet, so I didn't have a chance to ask one how this works.
I may be wrong but it appears that those lists (9 flyers for example) ignore the maximum half units in reserves limit.

I would be very glad if someone gave me an explanation.

"I'm rather intrigued to discover that my opponent, who looks like a perfectly civilised person, is in fact mathematically capable" 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

On page 124, right after the section explaining the 1/2 reserve in fact, is a line explaining how units that must begin the game in reserves are calculated in relation to the rest of the army that has the option to be deployed in or out. Due to the tenets of this forum I can not give you much more information then that, because it is a line within the Basic Rule Book that is self-explanatory. Should you still have questions as to how Fliers are calculated into reserves after reading this paragraph again, please do provide us with more a more specific concern and we will do our best to diagnose it.

While this one was easy to answer, I do have one interesting pondering to put forth thanks to the new Stronghold Assault rules that is related so here goes:
Does an army taking a Sky-shield Landing Pad, upgraded with the Ready for Takeoff Special rule, now count the flier towards the standard army reserves?

I am leaning towards no, I have yet to dissect the rules involved too deeply though so it still is an open question. For those whom are unsure of what I am talking about, and without giving away any specifics, the new book for fortifications grant and additional upgrade to the sky-shield. This upgrade provides a few tactical pondering, I can even think of a few broken situations, at a cheap enough cost that I really want to try it out. While there are some additional restrictions I won't get into, in order not to annoy the Game Workshop anti-piracy sniffers, the long and short of the rule is to allow a flier to begin deployed on the table before the game begins. So it might be possible to argue, as this Special Rule removes the must, that it now falls back into standard reserve rules.

But again, just a pondering, as you wouldn't take this upgrade if you where not going to use it.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/12/21 19:52:31


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in pl
Horrific Howling Banshee




Thank you very much, Sir.

"I'm rather intrigued to discover that my opponent, who looks like a perfectly civilised person, is in fact mathematically capable" 
   
Made in mx
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan




Mexico

In other words, units embarked in their dedicated transports count as 1 unit, and units that must start in reserves don't count.

By this same rule you can have an all deep striking pod army for SM.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/21 19:19:01


 
   
Made in pl
Horrific Howling Banshee




Does this also work with Mycetic Spores?

"I'm rather intrigued to discover that my opponent, who looks like a perfectly civilised person, is in fact mathematically capable" 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

That you will need to look into the Nid's codex, and deciding not to be so lazy it looks like page 54 will give you the answer.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/21 19:23:57


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in mx
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan




Mexico

Yes, but sadly mycetic spores don't have that nice first turn landing rule.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Which, as far as I can see as a non-Tyranid player, is your answer.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: