If a unit has to pass a characteristic test, do modifiers apply to the characteristic listed on it's profile?
This came up in a game where my DP cast enfeeble on a squad of space marines in the movement phase, which reduced their toughness by 1. Then he cast hemorrhage in the shooting phase, which causes toughness tests. The SM player failed his first 3 tests, then rolled a 4. We could not agree on whether we should use the toughness listed in his profile or the modified value from the enfeebled result.
We checked the BRB. The language about how modifiers affect dice rolls was quite clear. When we read the section on characteristic tests, RAW state "roll a d6 and compare the result to the relevant characteristic in the model's profile." This would seem to mean that models always does tests using the value listed in the profile. There is no language about modifiers affecting characteristic tests anywhere, however, and we both thought it curious given how detailed the book is about them in other situations.
Anyways, I am wondering if this is really the case or if someone can point me to more accurate language in the rules. It seems kind of silly to think modifiers do not apply in this situation.
|