Switch Theme:

Psychic Powers Stacking  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 DeathReaper wrote:
sirlynchmob wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:

sirlynchmob wrote:
Does maledictions say it inflicts rules? nope, just inflicts special rules..
Demonstrably false...



So this RAW line on pg 68 is a lie?
"reducing their characteristics OR inflicting penalizing SPECIAL RULES"

We agree the difficult terrain is a rule, maledictions state specifically and unequivocally, it's a special rule.

No, the blurb on page 68 is just a simple explanation of what the Special Rules on pages 32-43 and in the Codexes do.

DT is a rule, Enfeeble, when cast is a rule. It is not in a Codex and it is not on page 32-43 so it is not a Special Rule, just a rule (An advanced rule that over-rides the basic rule about open terrain converting it to difficult).


I get what you're saying, but it's not a blurb it's a rule. Maledictions do 1 of 2 things. it's either a modifier or a special rule. Those 2 quote you list on pg 32 say one is the common rules, the other is for abilities. Surely if "different powers are cumulative" don't mean the same powers don't stack. Then 2 examples of where to find special rules also does not necessarily mean all.

And yes Nos it's just one power. It's "A" melediction. Singular. It's "The power". Again singular.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/16 22:49:20


 
   
Made in fi
Courageous Space Marine Captain






 hyv3mynd wrote:

Using "different maledictions are cumulative" as an argument against similar powers is intent since there isn't a single rule restricting to multiple modifier process for similar powers. That sentence can also be parsed as "additional maledictions are cumulative" with a dictionary synonym for "different".

In this context it absolutely can't. 'Same' and 'different' are used very specifically in the psychic power rules (and in whole BRB in fact; see: 'special rules'.) They must mean 'power with the same name' and power with a different name' or the rule about a psyker not being able to cast same power twice breaks.

Reminders worded in other powers for cumulative resolution are also dismissed as intent because they don't address the powers in question, and codexes have different authors across different editions.
Chaos codex has clause that a power stacks on some powers but not on other similar powers. All these powers presumably had a same author. It is not reasonable to assume that these are reminders.

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Crimson wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:

Yes, and if you have 2 powers in effect you have 1 terrain effect and -1T for the first one, and and 1 terrain effect and -1T for the second one.

Except when they're the same power. Enfeeble either is in effect or is not.

They are two different castings. so ebfeeble from Psyker A is in effect as is Enfeeble from Psyker B.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
sirlynchmob wrote:
I get what you're saying, but it's not a blurb it's a rule. Maledictions do 1 of 2 things. it's either a modifier or a special rule. Those 2 quote you list on pg 32 say one is the common rules, the other is for abilities. Surely if "different powers are cumulative" don't mean the same powers don't stack. Then 2 examples of where to find special rules also does not necessarily mean all.

And yes Nos it's just one power. It's "A" melediction. Singular. It's "The power". Again singular.

That is not all Maledictions do, as some effects are not Special rules or modifiers...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/10/16 23:33:50


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

So Reapers stance is Different equates to different castings. Which is ridiculously obvious even without being said in the rule book. Ofcourse using your counter claim, Different powers =/= mean different castings of the same power.

But instead of leaving it at that and assuming its fact I will back up my claim.

There is no conclusive indication that Different power refers to different castings of the same power. Further more such an indication is subjectivity based on your opinion as it can easily be argued that an alternate interpretation exists. This alternate interpretation is based on multiple factors including the lack of need to distiguish different castings without specific mention of same power listings. Further backed up by clearly stated exceptions in a select few powers but not others of the same author to the alternate interpretation.

   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




 DeathReaper wrote:
 Crimson wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:

Yes, and if you have 2 powers in effect you have 1 terrain effect and -1T for the first one, and and 1 terrain effect and -1T for the second one.

Except when they're the same power. Enfeeble either is in effect or is not.

They are two different castings. so ebfeeble from Psyker A is in effect as is Enfeeble from Psyker B.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
sirlynchmob wrote:
I get what you're saying, but it's not a blurb it's a rule. Maledictions do 1 of 2 things. it's either a modifier or a special rule. Those 2 quote you list on pg 32 say one is the common rules, the other is for abilities. Surely if "different powers are cumulative" don't mean the same powers don't stack. Then 2 examples of where to find special rules also does not necessarily mean all.

And yes Nos it's just one power. It's "A" melediction. Singular. It's "The power". Again singular.

That is not all Maledictions do, as some effects are not Special rules or modifiers...


pg 418 of the BRB tells us different psykers can have the same power. which would strongly imply different psykers cast the same power. and enfeeble is still the same power as enfeeble regardless of who cast it.
For the LRB since we're looking at enfeeble, it's the page on the left of it.

I only see those two options under maledictions.

Shall we call it here I don't think either of us will change our minds on what the effect of they psychic power is?

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Indeed, this doesn't seem to be going anywhere productive, and 20 pages is well and truly long enough for everyone to have made their points.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: