Switch Theme:

What does assault D3 mean  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




Tidworth

So I am new to this and have DA codex. I am not sure how to use Ezekiel's mind worm any takers.
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

assault D3 means you roll everytime you "shoot" it to see how many shots you get
   
Made in us
Last Remaining Whole C'Tan






Pleasant Valley, Iowa

It means that they can shoot a random number of shots. The d3 refers to a 3 sided dice, and you'll commonly see a d6, which means roll a dice.

Since there is no such thing as a d3, simply roll a 6 sided dice and a 1-2 is a 1, a 3-4 is a 2, and a 5-6 is a 3.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/27 00:04:18


 lord_blackfang wrote:
Respect to the guy who subscribed just to post a massive ASCII dong in the chat and immediately get banned.

 Flinty wrote:
The benefit of slate is that its.actually a.rock with rock like properties. The downside is that it's a rock
 
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




Tidworth

So if I roll a 3 I get to use his power potential twice if the first one fails?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

No you use it once but it fires 3 shots
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





No - but if the power succeeds you can roll to hit 3 times.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




Tidworth

Ok I get it now I think, as it is D3 and I roll a 3 I get to hit twice?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Twice? From three? Why twice?
You roll 3 you get to shoot 3 times.
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




Tidworth

I thought as it was D3 you get 1-2 as 1 3-4 as 2 ect
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

1-2 = 1
3-4 = 2
5-6 = 3

It's a D3 so the range is 1 to 3.

Did you mean roll a 3 on a D6? Not a D3?
If so yes, a 3 would equal 2 sorry.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/12/27 00:21:25


 
   
Made in gb
Dark Angels Neophyte Undergoing Surgeries




Tidworth

Yes that's right so you get to hit any where between 1 & 3 times.
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander






Usually players roll a D6 and count 1,2 =1, 3,4=2 and 5,6=3.

clively wrote:
"EVIL INC" - hardly. More like "REASONABLE GOOD GUY INC". (side note: exalted)

Seems a few of you have not read this... http://www.dakkadakka.com/core/forum_rules.jsp 
   
Made in it
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners






I'll be a bit obvious, maybe redundant, bear with me..

Now, let's assume you want to use this power (I don't have the codex with me, I'll approximate):
First, you declare the power and make a psychic test
If you succeed, D3... The D6 shows a 3, so it means two attacks
Now you roll two (the d3 result) To Hit rolls, and eventually To Wound, then allocate... the rest is pretty normal

2270 (1725 painted)
1978 (180 painted)
329 (280ish)
705 (0)
193 (0)
165 (0)
:assassins: 855 (540) 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





I tend towards using (1,4)=1, (2,5)=2, and (3,6)=3. That way the face of the die is easier to read since the 1,2,3 parts match up, no interpretation necessary.

That said whatever system you use is fine just so long as you and your opponents know what you are rolling for.

the d3 in this case means the weapon fires a random number of shots from 1-3 each time you use it, so roll to determine the amount of shots fired by the gun whenever you do so.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






If you want to be a stickler for the rules. Take the d6 result and divide by 2 rounding up to get the result of a d3. Basically what Ouze posted above. Page 5 of the BRB.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: