Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 01:21:18
Subject: resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lets assume that a squad shoots 5 lascannons at a rhino with troops in it. They will all hit, there will be 3 glancing hits, a crew stunned and an explodes result. What is the correct way of resolving the shooting attack :
A) roll all the penetration rolls and choose to apply the explosion only
B) roll all the penetration rolls and choose to apply the stunned first (so the passengers cannot shoot next turn), then choose to apply the explodes result.
C) roll the penetration rolls one at a time (lets say tthe 3 glances come up first) and the vehicle is only wrecked.
D) all pens are resolved simultaneously resulting in stunned passengers (that cannot fire in thier next turn) and also an explodes result (Functionally the same as B).
An important note that some have missed is that crew stunned results affect the passengers inside the transport. BRB 80 "Crew Stunned. Passengers cannot shoot in thier next shooting phase, but are otherwise unaffected"
Consensus seems to be that the answer is D.
Interesting consideration regarding squadrons of transports. Since penetration rolls occur one at a time, an penetration pool of 4 dice assuming 2 explosions will come up and then 2 stunned will come up (and no glances) will result in 2 exploded transports but otherwise unaffected troops. The same penetration pool in which the stunned comes before the explosion results in passengers that can't shoot next turn.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/01/07 08:23:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 01:38:12
Subject: resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Roll all. The explodes is the only one that matters. Technically they all happen at the exact same time but once it explodes none of the other results matter.
Editing because I was categorically wrong.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/15 22:34:15
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 01:44:27
Subject: Re:resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
I thought only shooting hits were resolved simultaneously, and that the results were resolved sequentially. (That's why if the Apothecary in your command squad dies, the rest of the marines stop getting Feel No Pain.) Is that not correct?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 01:52:07
Subject: Re:resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
We are casual as players so this changes all the time but if its remotly serious we just roll each result seperately and do it in that order.
So first roll = glance, second roll = glance, 3rd roll = glance THEN STOP and it doesnt matter how many more dice you have to roll after. Unless its a squad.
But if your just having fun and you got like 50 hits on a rhino keep rolling till the explode result comes up
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 02:14:29
Subject: resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
clively wrote:Roll all. The explodes is the only one that matters. Technically they all happen at the exact same time but once it explodes none of the other results matter.
The crew stunned result matters because it is a transport, if a transport carrying passengers suffers a crew stunned result then the passengers cannot shoot during thier next shooting phase (regardless of whether they disembark/emergency disembark/etc).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 02:18:01
Subject: resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
The correct way to do it is:
roll all hits, roll all pen rolls, shooting player tells defending player which order to take the hits in (i.e. take the pens first, or take the glances first), then roll on the damage table for the pens one by one when they come up.
So by rolling the damage results before telling your opponent which ones he was to take first you messed up.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 02:19:57
Subject: Re:resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
"all of the models in the unit fire at the same time regardless of whether. or not all of the dice are rolled together." page 13 BRB
First roll all out all the hits the firing unit is going to score.
"Once a hit has been scored on a vehicle, roll a D6 and..." page 73, BRB
Immediately roll those hits into glances/pens
"If the target is obscured and suffers a glancing or penetrating hit, it must take a cover save against it..." page 75, BRB
The vehicle takes any available saves.
"After deducting any Hull Points, roll a D6 for each shot that penetrated the vehicle's armour." page 74, BRB
All hull points are then subtracted for any remaining glances/pens and then roll pen results.
"You must roll on the vehicle Damage table even if the vehicle loses sufficient Hull Points to be \7recked, as there is still a chance that it Explodes!" page 74, BRB
Even if the vehicle runs out of hull points the pen rolls are still made and the instructions on the results (only one matters) are carried out.
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 02:35:22
Subject: Re:resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Abandon wrote:"
Even if the vehicle runs out of hull points the pen rolls are still made and the instructions on the results (only one matters) are carried out.
Updated original post to highlight the crew stunned result which affects the passengers. Unless once they have left the transport they are no longer passengers so can fire normally (which would seem like a dodgy interpretation).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 02:41:07
Subject: Re:resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Once the 'Crew Shaken' result is applied to them, it remains applied to them even if they get out. (Or get blown out, as the case may be.)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 02:48:28
Subject: Re:resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Correct.
Q: If passengers disembark from a Transport that has suffered a
Shaken or Stunned result, do they still suffer these effects in
their next Shooting phase? (p80)
A: Yes
FAQ, page 7
As a nid player that has seen many tin can armies, I got very familiar with these rules
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/06 02:50:07
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 03:11:53
Subject: Re:resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Wow that's a pretty big deal then, any time you are getting a lot of pens it's not just a high likelyhood of explosion but also of the guys inside not being able to shoot the next turn. So the answer is effectively
D) all pens are resolved simultaneously resulting in stunned passengers that cannot fire in thier next turn and also an explodes result (Functionally the same as answer B from the OP).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 03:30:41
Subject: Re:resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Infiltrating Broodlord
|
Also this:
Q: If a unit disembarks from a destroyed vehicle during the
enemy turn, can it Charge in the Assault phase of its own
turn? (p80)
A: No, unless the vehicle in question was an Assault
Vehicle.
FAQ page 8
|
-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 03:59:17
Subject: resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
I'm leaning towards option D, mainly because my friends and I roll all pen results simultaneously, so all should be applied. If the vehicle is not destroyed/wrecked from pens, remove HP from glances appropriately.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 04:17:20
Subject: Re:resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
The player who got the multiple hits earned the results of those hits, each and every one of them. to deny them the results i to cheat them (and possible the defending player in a fashion).
Of course, it will be a given that the tank will no longer play a dynamic role in the game but it still makes a difference on what you roll.
1.If it is a transport with troops inside, you could be denying them cover. If one of the results was an explosion, there will be a crater left that they get to cower in. otherwise, they are in the open. If you stop at the glances, you are cheating the shooter out of possible wounds on the guys inside that they eared.
2. If it was an explosion, you could be denying the defender possible wounds on the unit that shot it if they were close enough to be caught in the blast.
3. You could be changing the terrain for the rest of the game in terms of where there is a crater there or a tank hull that blocks LOS.
4. The obvious possible other results on the models inside (if it was a transport) in terms of their ability to fire afterwards.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 07:54:08
Subject: Re:resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I guess it makes sense although it does make for dodgy situations where you would rather loose your last HP to a Volcano Cannon or a Meltagun than to an auto-cannon because there is more chance that the passengers can shoot normally in thier next turn (those that survive the explosion).
It does make MC close combat against transports more balanced and cinematic if all the guys that come out can do is run or charge into combat (if an assault vehicle).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 22:14:52
Subject: resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
One thing I keep asking about page 13: Does this site recognize a difference between two events falling at the same time on the time-line and the resolution Rolls/Rules at the same time? Personally I think 'simultaneous' has been used in both ways throughout the book so has to be treated with a little skepticism and flexibility, just like every other duel terminology found within. I also find it very important a distinction because if page 13 does state a 'Simultaneous Resolution' instead of just highlighting that the entire sequence is a simultaneous event then we are going to have huge amounts of problems. As every step in the sequence would be occurring 'at the same time,' and by the logic of Page 13 telling us to Simultaneous Resolve, we would be forced to resolve every Step at the same time. This would mean we have to resolve the To Hit results at the very same time we resolve the To Wound results. Given that the Shooting Attack is a clear 'cascading sequence,' with each step in the sequence generating a number required for the next step, it becomes very difficult to resolve them simultaneously. So I raise the question again; Is Page 13 informing us to use 'Simultaneous Resolution' or just pointing out that the entire shooting event is occurring 'at one point on the time line?' Luckily, most of the individual Steps do contain such instructions informing us how to go about resolving that step Simultaneously, so it is possible to quote actual rules within these Steps informing us that the Resolution for that Step is Simultaneous. At least instructions informing us how to do so can be easily found throughout the instructions on resolving Shooting Attacks against non-vehicle models. That is the point I am at right now in the research, and I am being glared at by people for spending hours trying to figure out something as pointless as Game Workshop rules so I don't think I will go any further. Please point me to the page which states outright that Vehicle Damage is Resolved Simultaneous? I come to something which suggests that it should be possible, multiple facing mentions sequential resolution, but if there is something granting permission for simultaneous resolution to be the default for this step I am over looking it. Besides, I also bring this to your attention: Wrecked Vehicle rules state that any vehicle which is reduced to 0 Hull points it immediately become a wreck, which is a non-model terrain piece Immediately is a trigger word used to inform us of 'stop, resolve this part first' whenever the trigger occurs, it is actually a key word to look for when resolving page 9 because of this fact The rule informing us how to resolve penetrating hits states the D6 is rolled After the hull point has been removed Therefore, by the instructions put forth by the very rules telling us to resolve the damage against a vehicle, it is possible for the model to be removed from the table before we know what the damage result is. Any result would now need to be applied to the model's in it's new position, and as that is no longer on the board, it effectively renders every result as pointless. In particular the explode result, which would end up having us measuring from a side-table far away from the battlefield and leaving the crater there. All because the Hull Points are removed before the results are rolled. Unless you treat the 'wreck' as if it was still the vehicle, and therefore still a legal model even though the rule states the exact opposite by pointing out it is now terrain, and measure from there. This is probably why the result for passenger page has you do all the measurements before 'wrecking' the vehicle or give precise instructions stating to use the models previous position, because the position the tank ends up in during the resolution changes how you resolve things. PS: I think page 13 informing us that the shooting attack is simultaneous is there to prevent some 'Rule Lawyering' that would occur without it. If the entire sequence did not fill the same spot on the time line, it would be possible for us to stop half way through it and resolve something else entirely. This concept is even highlighted within the vehicle section, where it informs you that the unit inside the Transport can not be 'targeted' because the entire shooting attack is simultaneous. It highlights that one needs to finish resolving the entire shooting attack before the unit inside hit's the table, making it impossible to stop mid-way through to resolve attacks against this second unit should the 'firing' unit have a Special Rule grating permission to 'split shot' in some fashion. Simultaneous Events are very important for that reason but that doesn't mean they are Resolved Simultaneously, the Rules/Rolls still can occur sequentially within the event itself and often they are required to do so. Case in point, again, is the fact the entire shooting attack is a 'simultaneous event' that requires sequential resolution as it uses cascading Steps. This is also why page 9 exists, as it gives us a way to determine the order in which 'simultaneous event' are to be resolved. This entire page exists to stop us from trying to resolve Rules simultaneously for a reason, and the only one I can think of is to stop people from trying to resolve two Rules/Rolls at the very same time. Well, I can think of another but I don't put it forward as a possible explanation, because those willing to use two rules colliding to create Chaos enough to hide the fact they are fudging dice or manipulating the order of events are not going to be hindered by little things such as page 9 in the first place.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/06 22:30:46
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/06 23:03:35
Subject: Re:resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
Jinx, there is some proof of simultaneous resolution in the Vehicle Damage table (74), where you can score multiple "Explodes!" results.
Whether this is capped at the number of Hull points (stopping due to the "immediately" for Wrecked Vehicles) I can't say. But then you'd have to roll to Penetrate in 3's, then 2's (in a similar fashion to Fast Dice, p16), or rolling to penetrate one dice at a time - the vehicles section doesn't really help here, as all the verbage is as if only one hit were being scored at a time (doesn't say if we can group hits together and roll to penetrate in one go).
Using Vehicle Squadrons (p77), they are clearly resolved one at a time, so there is no possibility of multiple "Explodes!" there. Which would suggest simultaneous rather than sequential for non-squadrons.
Clearly, the To Hit and To Penetrate steps are sequential of each other (physically impossible otherwise), and the whole thing is wrapped up in a bubble you need to resolve before moving on to another unit's shooting.
Those are my thoughts on this at least.
My post is slightly rambly and incoherent, I do apologize.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/07 00:16:48
Subject: resolving multiple penetrating/glancing hits on transports
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Quanar, I notice a few other places where it is hinted at as well, as I mentioned the multiple facing states the only way to resolve these attacks is sequentially. This, and the section you quoted, would suggest that simultaneous resolution is possible but I have not been able to find anything out-right stating this. Without instructions telling us how to resolve the Results Simultaneously there is too many 'gray areas' that occur. For example there are no instructions stating the dice are rolled as groups so there is nothing granting us permission to roll Penetration for shots with Armour Piercing for the 1's separately from the 4's, or to do anything to signify the difference between the hits. But yeah, you hit the nail on the head there: These instructions where written as if a lone Hit was successful and do not tell is how to deal with multiple successes.... They should also make a universal 'Fast Dice' rule which contains instructions how to determine where Simultaneous Resolutions are possible, as well as general instructions to cover areas in the rule where they forgot to give us precise Simultaneous Resolution instructions.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/07 00:23:49
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
|