Switch Theme:

vindicare cover save in a bolstered ruin???  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




If a vindicare has stealth and blind grenades does that mean his cover save is improved by 2 and thus does that make the cover save in a bolstered ruin 1+???
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Rulebook page 19 - Maximum Save
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Even if it did you always fail saves on a 1
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




cheers never noticed that paragraph before
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

There is something I find very interesting about the Saving Throw section: They took Duel Terminology into consideration!

The term 'save' has been used in two locations, to describe the Save Characteristic and to describe the Saving Throw itself. The Save Characteristic is pretty straight forward, it is a number found on the profile after all. The Saving Throw is the act of throwing a single saving 'Roll,' described as a D6, and then comparing it to the save characteristic. Therefore a rule which states it modifies a 'save' may be stating it modifies the Throw or it modifies the Characteristic, we simply do not know*. If it modifies the Throw then you add the modifier to the face of the dice and compare the final result to the chart. If it modifies the Characteristic, thanks to the rules for modifying saves, you lower the number you are comparing to by the desired amount.

So then did this:
The Characteristic can not be lowered past 2+
A Saving Throw of 1 is always a failure
Now no matter which ideal you subscribe to the restriction will cover it, and I wonder why they didn't do that more often!

*Okay, in a few cases we do know because they type out the full 'Save Characteristic' or 'Saving Throw' instead of using the Duel Term but cases, like the Go To Ground section, which does so are less common then those which leave it simply as 'Modify the Save.'

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/09 22:49:13


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight




Blind grenades wouldn't help you anyway, they only give you the stealth special rule within 8" and the Vindicare already has stealth, they don't stack. (p. 32, BRB "A Compendium of Special Rules)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/10 16:27:11


Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: