Switch Theme:

Executioner and To Hit rolls  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Devastating Dark Reaper






Rochester, NY

I'm just getting back into 40k, and I have a question about the Eldar psychic power, Executioner. It's a Focussed Witchfire power, so a To Hit roll needs to be made. My question is, how many To Hit rolls? The power itself says "The target suffers 3 hits...." Do I roll To Hit once and then 3 To Wounds, or do I have to roll each of those 3 hits? I'm inclined to think it's the former because of the way the power is worded, but I'd appreciate Dakka's help with this.

- 5200
- 2000 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

There are two sides to this argument. Side A says you roll to hit, and if you miss, then you miss and the power fails to resolve. Side B says, while you do need to roll to hit, a hit/miss does not affect the power, and is irrelevant. Neither side will back down and GW won't faq it. If you search for threads regarding (usually psychic shriek) witchfires and rolling to hit you'll find a few. Someone else can probably link to the last one.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Plymouth

won't be faq'd because the answer is obvious. does it say you need to roll to hit? yes? then 3 dice to hit, and then that many to hit, psychic shooting is still shooting

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

wargamer, why 3 rolls? Why not 1, or 20? The rules do not cover the situation and as such it needs an faq.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




wargamer1985 wrote:
won't be faq'd because the answer is obvious. does it say you need to roll to hit? yes? then 3 dice to hit, and then that many to hit, psychic shooting is still shooting

Cool, and you have a rule to back up your assertion? Or are you ignoring the tenets?
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

As you can see, the Wychfire rule is a mess because it requires a sentence informing us of what happens in the case of a failed To Hit Roll like all 'If(Then)' statements.

Putting aside that part of the debate, the wording of the Psychic Power itself is very important. If the Power informs you to treat the power as a weapon, most likely using a term like 'Assault 3,' then you would throw each To Hit Roll as you would for any weapon. If the power informs you to make three To Hit rolls, then you would obviously roll three and hopefully the rule is better written then the general wytchfire rules. If the rule simply state that the unit takes 3 Hit's then these would be automatic hit's and you do not need to Roll individual To Hit results for them, many other rules use the 'the target suffers 3 Hits' type of terminology to explain automatic generated Hit's.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: