Switch Theme:

Mark of the Wulfen and Meltabombs  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in es
Fresh-Faced New User




San Sebastian

It has come up to me this situation, can a model with Mark of the Wulfen use a Meltabomb?

I would say the answer is no but there are are some people saying it's legit.

Could you guys shed some light onto this?

Thanks in advance.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 GreatAtuin wrote:
It has come up to me this situation, can a model with Mark of the Wulfen use a Meltabomb?

I would say the answer is no but there are are some people saying it's legit.

Could you guys shed some light onto this?

Thanks in advance.


Yes he can use a meltabomb, why would you think he couldn't?

page 62 C:SW tells us that a model with the mark replaces his usual attacks with...

The grenade rules let you use a grenade (Where applicable) instead of the models normal (usual) attacks.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout



Louisville, Ky

^this

1000-6500 SW W/L/D 6/1/3
2014: 12/0/4
2015: 8/5/4

Adeptus_lupus instagram for BR
Ave Imperator 
   
Made in es
Fresh-Faced New User




San Sebastian

Thanks!!!
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes he can use a meltabomb, why would you think he couldn't?
Because the effects of the Mark of the Wulfen are neither optional nor compatible with weapons or wargear.

 DeathReaper wrote:
page 62 C:SW tells us that a model with the mark replaces his usual attacks with...

The grenade rules let you use a grenade (Where applicable) instead of the models normal (usual) attacks.
I found this argument strangely self-defeating - on what grounds were you even trying to argue that he could replace his usual attacks twice? But that's kind of besides the point since none of it is true. You butchered the C:SW quote, which is more properly that he replaces his Attacks characteristic, gains rending, and cannot use any wargear, including weapons, and the meltabomb is just a melee weapon that limits you to one attack. "Replacing usual attacks" isn't something either one does, unless speaking strictly colloquially. If he could use a meltabomb, he would get a single attack, as that overrides his Attacks characteristic no matter what it is, but he cannot use a meltabomb because the Mark of the Wulfen prevents you from using melee weapons outright.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/14 08:28:25


 
   
Made in es
Fresh-Faced New User




San Sebastian

Pyrian wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes he can use a meltabomb, why would you think he couldn't?
Because the effects of the Mark of the Wulfen are neither optional nor compatible with weapons or wargear.

 DeathReaper wrote:
page 62 C:SW tells us that a model with the mark replaces his usual attacks with...

The grenade rules let you use a grenade (Where applicable) instead of the models normal (usual) attacks.
I found this argument strangely self-defeating - on what grounds were you even trying to argue that he could replace his usual attacks twice? But that's kind of besides the point since none of it is true. You butchered the C:SW quote, which is more properly that he replaces his Attacks characteristic, gains rending, and cannot use any wargear, including weapons, and the meltabomb is just a melee weapon that limits you to one attack. "Replacing usual attacks" isn't something either one does, unless speaking strictly colloquially. If he could use a meltabomb, he would get a single attack, as that overrides his Attacks characteristic no matter what it is, but he cannot use a meltabomb because the Mark of the Wulfen prevents you from using melee weapons outright.


That was exactly my reasoning for not using them.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Pyrian is correct in that there is a restriction and no permission to overcome that restriction.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee




Gig Harbor, Washington

Doesn't the mark say it replaces the attack characteristic? Where as the Bomb replaces attacks all together.

1000 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Irrelevant - the Mark says you can't use weapons. The meltabomb is a weapon. You can't use it.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
Irrelevant - the Mark says you can't use weapons. The meltabomb is a weapon. You can't use it.

That is not what mark of the Wulfen says...

"A model bearing the Mark of the Wulfen has the Rending special rule in close combat. Furthermore he replaces his usual Attacks characteristic with [Deleted], rolled immediately prior to when the model makes his attacks. These attacks are made using the marked models' claws and teeth, and are hence not affected by wargear, additional hand weapons and so on..." (P62 C:SW) Irrelevant part omitted, Emphasis mine).

It says these attacks are not affected by wargear, it does not say that you can not use Grenades...

The model may sill use a meltabomb in place of his usual attacks.
 liturgies of blood wrote:
Pyrian is correct in that there is a restriction and no permission to overcome that restriction.

No there is not a restriction, if you think there is, Citation needed because I an not seeing it on Page 62 of the SW codex.

Pyrian wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Yes he can use a meltabomb, why would you think he couldn't?
Because the effects of the Mark of the Wulfen are neither optional nor compatible with weapons or wargear.

sort of, see above.

Pyrian wrote:
but he cannot use a meltabomb because the Mark of the Wulfen prevents you from using melee weapons outright.

This, of course, is incorrect.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/01/15 08:01:38


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

The attacks are replaced with x. There is no longer any normal attacks to replace with a melta bomb.
Unless you can show that "replaced with x" is normal attacks then you have no permission to use the meltabomb.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/15 15:56:14


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Irrelevant - the Mark says you can't use weapons. The meltabomb is a weapon. You can't use it.

That is not what mark of the Wulfen says...

"A model bearing the Mark of the Wulfen has the Rending special rule in close combat. Furthermore he replaces his usual Attacks characteristic with [Deleted], rolled immediately prior to when the model makes his attacks. These attacks are made using the marked models' claws and teeth, and are hence not affected by wargear, additional hand weapons and so on..." (P62 C:SW) Irrelevant part omitted, Emphasis mine).

It says these attacks are not affected by wargear, it does not say that you can not use Grenades...

Are Grenades wargear?
Would using a grenade affect your Attacks?

If the answer is yes to both of those questions (and it is) you cannot use them.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 liturgies of blood wrote:
The attacks are replaced with x. There is no longer any normal attacks to replace with a melta bomb.
Unless you can show that "replaced with x" is normal attacks then you have no permission to use the meltabomb.


He replaces his usual attacks characteristic (Usually 1 or 2) with (X).

X is now his attacks characteristic which can be replaced with a meltabomb attack.
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
Irrelevant - the Mark says you can't use weapons. The meltabomb is a weapon. You can't use it.

That is not what mark of the Wulfen says...

"A model bearing the Mark of the Wulfen has the Rending special rule in close combat. Furthermore he replaces his usual Attacks characteristic with [Deleted], rolled immediately prior to when the model makes his attacks. These attacks are made using the marked models' claws and teeth, and are hence not affected by wargear, additional hand weapons and so on..." (P62 C:SW) Irrelevant part omitted, Emphasis mine).

It says these attacks are not affected by wargear, it does not say that you can not use Grenades...

Are Grenades wargear?
Would using a grenade affect your Attacks?

If the answer is yes to both of those questions (and it is) you cannot use them.


It does not matter that Grenades are wargear.

Re-read the mark rules, remember that it says "These attacks are made using the marked models' claws and teeth, and are hence not affected by wargear"

The attacks they are referring to are the models attacks characteristic which is now D6+1 instead of 1 or 2 or 4 in the case of thunderwolf cav...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/15 17:57:20


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

X can be replaced because? The grenade rules say it's using it as a melee weapon(ie wargear) but with a limit on it's attack.
So how is that not using wargear?

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener




Dallas, TX

No meltabombs.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/15 19:01:54


4500
4000
3500
1500
1500 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
It does not matter that Grenades are wargear.

Interesting. The quote you provided disagrees.

Re-read the mark rules, remember that it says "These attacks are made using the marked models' claws and teeth, and are hence not affected by wargear"

The attacks they are referring to are the models attacks characteristic which is now D6+1 instead of 1 or 2 or 4 in the case of thunderwolf cav...

Correct! And your interpretation allows wargear to modify the number of attacks. That would be breaking the rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/15 19:58:02


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"These attacks are made using the marked models' claws and teeth, and are hence not affected by wargear" is refering to the models D6+1.

Grenades only give 1 attack so you are not affecting the D6+1 attacks with the grenade...

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

They are substituting them, how is that not effecting them?

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
"These attacks are made using the marked models' claws and teeth, and are hence not affected by wargear" is refering to the models D6+1.

Grenades only give 1 attack so you are not affecting the D6+1 attacks with the grenade...

Replacing them is not affecting them?
Are you really sure?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

So if the attacks are "not affected by wargear," wouldn't that mean ANY wargear? You know, since it doesn't say otherwise?

So, does that make someone with Mark of the Wulfen immune to Shardnets?

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in nz
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout




In ur base, killin ur d00dz

Not sure if someone mentioned this but the codex says it affects the attacks characteristic of the model, not what it's using to attack. If he can't use melta bombs then wouldn't it be the same as saying he can't use any ranged weapons? It's sounding like some people are interpreting MotW as negating all the wargear a SW carries and that model can ONLY use his MotW attacks.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

MOTW does only apply to cc attacks, it ignores any wargear you would use in cc as a weapon. And unless you can show that using grenades in cc isn't using a weapon nor is it using wargear to effect the model's attacks then this is probably finished.

So no it's not the same as saying he cannot use a bolter unless a bolter is a melee weapon.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





Would a Wolf Standard then not work with MotW? A slippery slope i see.
   
Made in us
Grim Rune Priest in the Eye of the Storm





Riverside CA

 Brother Ramses wrote:
Would a Wolf Standard then not work with MotW? A slippery slope i see.

It is not his peice of Wargear unless you give it to the WotW model.

Space Wolf Player Since 1989
My First Impression Threads:
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/727226.page;jsessionid=3BCA26863DCC17CF82F647B2839DA6E5

I am a Furry that plays with little Toy Soldiers; if you are taking me too seriously I am not the only one with Issues.

IEGA Web Site”: http://www.meetup.com/IEGA-InlandEmpireGamersAssociation/ 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





 Anpu42 wrote:
 Brother Ramses wrote:
Would a Wolf Standard then not work with MotW? A slippery slope i see.

It is not his peice of Wargear unless you give it to the WotW model.


As far as the rule reads it does not need to be a piece of "his" wargear. Unless I have quoted the rule from above wrong.


"A model bearing the Mark of the Wulfen has the Rending special rule in close combat. Furthermore he replaces his usual Attacks characteristic with [Deleted], rolled immediately prior to when the model makes his attacks. These attacks are made using the marked models' claws and teeth, and are hence not affected by wargear, additional hand weapons and so on..." (P62 C:SW) Irrelevant part omitted, Emphasis mine).


How about an opponent's wargear? Power armour is listed on a Space Makrine profile as wargear. That 3+ save affects the attacks made my my models' claws and teeth. Therefore Space Marines get no save against MotW attacks because power armour breaks the rules of wargear affecting MotW attacks.


Of course this is all just slippery slope talk that has no foundation in the rules. The rules answer it clearly with a resounding no, MotW models cannot make grenade attacks. The relevent entries are the MotW entry and the section of the BRB detailing characteristics.

The Attack characteristic can be modified per BRB. MotW does exactly this by replacing the model's Attack characteristic per its entry. However it then adds a caveat that this modification can not be affected by wargear as well as other things. Grenades being a piece of wargearthat modifies the Attack characteristic in its own way would be changing the already established MotW modification this affecting what it was to something else.

But how does this interact with the Wolf Standard or if said MotW model also hade a Wolf Tooth Necklace? It doesn't. Neither of those wargear options afrect the Attack characteristic of the model. They both affect to-hit rolls which are affecting the WS characteristic, not the Attack characteristic.

The only real issue that does come into affect is indeed wargear of enemies that do indeed affect the Attack characteristic such as was mentioned earlier, shard nets. While RAI would indicate that the wargear in question refers to the MotW model's wargear, RAW leaves it open to any wargear that would affect the Attack characteristic.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/28 07:32:20


 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

You don't use the standard in the same phase as you unfurl it so it doesn't matter if the MOTW guy holds it.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





It wouldnt matter anyway LoB as the Wolf Standard does not affct the Attack characteristics of the MotW model. It allows to hit rerolls of 1's which is a function of the BS characteristic.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: