| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 00:14:02
Subject: Shrouded question
|
 |
Brain-Dead Zombie of Nurgle
barrie, ontario, canada
|
Hey all.
Got a question, and I'm almost 100% sure I already know the answer, but it's mainly to settle an argument.
Friend of mine believes that the shrouded rule is cumulative, as in if he takes 3 venomthropes, each one will will confer a +2 cover save to the next, allowing him to get a 2+ cover save on all creatures within 6" of them, I say nay, since the BRB states rules of the same name are not cumulative, but in the description of shrouded it states "the effects of stealth and shrouded are cumulative" . Now to me, this reads as just the two rules work together, not that three shrouded creatures will confer the rule three times. Am I correct in this?
|
"Buboes, phlegm, blood and guts! Boils, bogeys, rot and pus! Blisters, fevers, weeping sores! From your wounds the fester pours." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 00:15:21
Subject: Shrouded question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If you have three lots of shrouded you still have the special rule shrouded, so only +2
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 00:16:29
Subject: Shrouded question
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Huge Hierodule
|
The way I would read the rule is binary, you are either shrouded or not. If you are, you get the +2 cover save. Having multiple venomthropes just increases the areas where models count as shrouded.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 00:16:50
Subject: Shrouded question
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Norway (Oslo)
|
^
Anyway...according to ur friend cus i got two bolters at str 4 it makes it str 8.... Deugh!
|
Waagh like a bawz
-
Kaptin Goldteef's waagh! 16250 points 45/18/3 (W/L/D) 7th Ed
6250 points 9/3/1 (W/L/D) sixth-ed
Dark elves: 2350points 3/0/0 (W/L/D)
3400 points 19/6/0 (W/L/D) 8' armybook
Wood Elves 2600 points, 6/4/0 (W/L/D)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 00:20:29
Subject: Re:Shrouded question
|
 |
Brain-Dead Zombie of Nurgle
barrie, ontario, canada
|
Thank you, glad to know I'm actually correct in my reading of the rules.
Now, I get to go and play Starship Troopers with my CSM ( Yay!!! Noise Marine Dakkasplooge )
|
"Buboes, phlegm, blood and guts! Boils, bogeys, rot and pus! Blisters, fevers, weeping sores! From your wounds the fester pours." |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 00:48:35
Subject: Shrouded question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Grr...stupid Noise Marines. My Kill Team hates them.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 02:00:37
Subject: Shrouded question
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Start of the Special Rules section:
"Unless specifically stated, a model cannot gain the benefit of a special rule more than once"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 04:09:26
Subject: Shrouded question
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
grendel083 wrote:Start of the Special Rules section:
"Unless specifically stated, a model cannot gain the benefit of a special rule more than once"
I can see where the friend is reading it, I just think he's reading it the wrong way.
The rule does say its cumulative. But they mean stealth and shrouded together are cumulative, not that they can stack with themselves.
But the sentence if taken literally could be read either way. I'd say RAI I'm 100% sure they meant the two rules stack, and not the same rules stack...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|