| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 20:10:04
Subject: Clarification on Tyranid CC Attacks
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I apologize for my ignorance. Got a question about the new tyranid dex and number of CC attacks. Designer note reads that tyranids only gain +1 attack for having an additional pair of close combat weapons. Since a fex has 3 attacks base, does that mean by taking away one or two talons and adding some TLDevs, it only has 2 attacks in HTH? Or does it naturally have an extra attack due to it's loadout being two scytalons, so really a naked fex has 4 (and 5 on the charge)?
I guess my question really is, are the additional attacks for having multiple pairs of CC weps included in the model's statline? I'm guessing they are, but I could be wrong about this. I checked BRB pgs 24 and 51, didn't see anything as to a direct answer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 20:13:15
Subject: Clarification on Tyranid CC Attacks
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
the attacks in the profile are always base attacks (unless noted) so a fex with 2 sets of scything talons he has 4 attacks, or replace with a shooting weapon and it goes back to 3
|
I have half a mind to kill you, and the other half agrees |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 20:13:21
Subject: Clarification on Tyranid CC Attacks
|
 |
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine
|
No unless it says in the unit entry extra attacks for wargear are not included in the statline.
So a carnifex has 3 base attacks it will always have 3 base. It can add attacks from wargear and possibly removed by opponents powers or wargear.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 20:14:30
Subject: Clarification on Tyranid CC Attacks
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
3 base attacks, is not counting any extra from wargear. so you wouldnt go down to 2 by taking weapons off and trading.
It gains +1 attacks if it has 2 ccw. If it has more they do nothing other than add optional modes of attack (i.e. rending giving you an extra D3 armor pen on a 6).
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 20:14:34
Subject: Clarification on Tyranid CC Attacks
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Not sure specifically on Nids, but usually a model has an attack profile listed in the codex that is its standard profile which is then modified by the wargear it has.
For example, in space marines, a sgt has an attack profile stat of 2. He is equipped with a boltpistol and chainsword, thus he has an extra cc weapon giving him an extra attack added to his base profile stat line.
I'm sure it would be the same with Nids.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 20:20:05
Subject: Clarification on Tyranid CC Attacks
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ah thank you for the clarification. My question stemmed from the fact that the scytalons were included as wargear for a naked fex to begin with. I wasn't able to find indicating that the statline did not include wargear (is this anywhere that anyone knows about, or just common knowledge?). I think this should be something the include in the FAQ. Along with Volitile, the Harpy "units" thing, possibly the HTyrant/Guard situation as well.
Thanks again.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/16 20:20:48
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/16 20:32:28
Subject: Clarification on Tyranid CC Attacks
|
 |
Kelne
|
Multiple weapons give an EXTRA attack.(page 24) Your profile is basically your character without weapons. Dreadnoughts in older books might still have the 2(3) notation when they start out with 2 melee weapons but otherwise bonus attacks aren't noted in your characteristics
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/17 03:13:08
Subject: Re:Clarification on Tyranid CC Attacks
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
So if by reading this right this would mean that the Swarmlord has total 5 attacks (6 on charge) due to the 2 pairs of bonesabres? His stat line base states 4 attacks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/17 19:31:33
Subject: Clarification on Tyranid CC Attacks
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
That is correct. Base 4 +1 for 2 weapons +1 for charging +HoW.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|