Switch Theme:

Noxious vapors vs sword masters/white lions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Conneticut

I just had this rule brought up to me and I want other views on it does nurgles noxious vapors work on high elves/dark elves with great weapons
   
Made in be
Kelne





That way,then left

I guess it grants ASL , then no, special rules don't stack. Page 66
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Conneticut

It's a weird situation


Automatically Appended Next Post:
The noxious vapors state anyone who has the sag has asl with the vapors

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/20 21:01:36


 
   
Made in gb
Agile Revenant Titan




In the Casualty section of a Blood Bowl dugout

I'm not fully aware of what noxious vapours actually does, but I'm assuming it gives ASL to enemy units in base contact or something. In which case, it would not work.

Swordmasters/White Lions already have the ASL rule, granted to them by their Great Weapons. Although in practice this is cancelled out by their ASF, they still have the ASL rule. This means that you can't give them ASL again, even though it would make sense (and would actually make them strike last), because you can't stack Special Rules. You can't have ASL twice on a unit, just like you can't have double Hatred, Stupidity or Devastating Charge or whatever.

So, no, it doesn't work, and the Swordmasters/White Lions will still strike at Initiative.

DT:90S+++G++MB++IPwhfb06#+++D+A+++/eWD309R+T(T)DM+

9th Age Fantasy Rules

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Conneticut

I for sure see your point it actually came up at a tournament and it was deemed by them that they struck last but I just wanted a more broad opinion on this matter and wanted to see the views if everyone
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





p66 actually says that unless otherwise stated the effects of multiple special rules are cumulative.

(first paragraph, right at the end)

so I would say yes, they can be given ASL twice, and one instance of ASF cancels out the effects of one of the ASL's but not the other.

it would be a rare occurrence for this kind of interaction to happen.

also you can stack hatred, but you are still bound by never getting to re-roll the dice more than once.

   
Made in us
Dusty Skeleton



Minnesota

actually you can stack the rules multiple times on a unit, however according to the FAQ:

Page 66 – Special Rules, What Special Rules Does It Have.
Change “[...]the effects of multiple special rules[...]” to
“[...]the effects of different special rules[...]”Add “However,
unless otherwise stated, a model gains no additional benefit
from having the same special rule multiple times.” to the end of
the first paragraph.

So having ASL twice and ASF once, does not mean the model will be striking ASL, but at initiative.
Same goes for having ASL and ASF twice, you do not strike at ASF, but at initiative.

Don't get me wrong, I would love if it worked that way. Many armies would benefit from a change in the rules that would allow the ASL and ASF to keep canceling each other out and such.

For example the bat swarms VC has, they give ASL to enemy units they are in contact with, It would help out VC a lot if that would work on sword masters, who have ASL and ASF, thus striking at initiative, but with a bat swarm at them, they would be ASL...but if only.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/25 21:37:32


 
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





good catch on that one, I (obviously) retract my statement.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Conneticut

Point proven now I know the answer and have reference
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: