Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/21 23:10:15
Subject: upcoming escalation questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
so we have an escalation league scheduled so I was wondering about a couple of things. I am running a Lord of Skulls and the walker rules are hard to understand. They state it can move 12" in the movement phase, and has move through cover, but how does this work? Do I roll 3d6 and take the 2 highest for moving through terrain or am I only able to move him 6" with the roll. Also the Lord of Skulls can thunderblitz as if he was a tank, but moves as a walker. Not sure how that would come into play with terrain either.
Other question for him since he has the daemon special rule couldn't I theoretically use the grimoire of true names on him as well as give him a 4++ save through divination? This will be a hilarious game if that is the case. Fateweaver is going to be a good friend of this guy.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/21 23:20:54
Subject: upcoming escalation questions
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
I'm sure there's rules regarding terrain and Super Heavy Vehicles. See those rules in Escalation and/or Apocalypse to answer your question.
(My guess would be that SHVs aren't slowed by terrain.)
As to the Grimoire, expect your Herald holding the Grimoire to get some D-plates on him directly after you try this tactic.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 08:31:08
Subject: upcoming escalation questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The movement question has come up before, best bet is to use the old beasts rule - 3D6, doubling highest (assuming SH walkers have MTC, otherwise 2D6)
Thunderblitz - roll your distance as above, if you make contact you then blitz. So a little more risky with a SH walker, as you might not reach.
Grimoire - yes, you can get a 2++.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 09:43:34
Subject: upcoming escalation questions
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Elric Greywolf wrote:As to the Grimoire, expect your Herald holding the Grimoire to get some D-plates on him directly after you try this tactic.
Nah, not much point in that. A re-rollable 2++ on a superheavy is just wasted points when a turbolaser Warhound wants you dead. So why bother trying to snipe out the buff unit when it might as well not exist?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/22 09:43:57
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 15:24:02
Subject: upcoming escalation questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Yeah according to escalation "Super heavy Walkers move 12" in the movement phase unless specified otherwise. Apart from this they obey movement rules for Walkers." So what this means to me is that they can always move 12" in the movement phase IE no needing to roll for difficult terrain and then the walker rules it follows are the pivoting while shooting and such. The reason they gave them move through cover is so they auto pass dangerous terrain tests since a super heavy walker hurting itself on terrain is just stupid sounding. Automatically Appended Next Post: Also I'm still looking at this force orginization chart. You can technically take 2 lords of war with dual force org charts? Or does it limit you to only one?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/22 15:29:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 15:53:51
Subject: upcoming escalation questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
icefire78 wrote:Yeah according to escalation "Super heavy Walkers move 12" in the movement phase unless specified otherwise. Apart from this they obey movement rules for Walkers."
The rules for Walkers moving through terrain specify otherwise. Though it does seem silly that the max move is 6", there aren't any rules for doubling the die roll or ignoring terrain, a la the Maulerfiend that I can see.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/22 15:54:15
|
|
 |
 |
|