| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 17:47:59
Subject: charge action in M2E
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I was looking in the movement section of the rules and I couldn't find anywhere that says that you must charge in a straight line. Is there such a rule and if so, where? Thank you for your answer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/22 18:58:35
Subject: charge action in M2E
|
 |
Using Object Source Lighting
|
page 39, charge, 2nd sentence: "in a straight line"
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/23 01:05:31
Subject: charge action in M2E
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Does the straight line have to be center of model to center of model or can it be on a tangent?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/23 13:58:15
Subject: charge action in M2E
|
 |
Policing Securitate
|
tangent.
The rules for charging are basically:
Have LoS
Not be Engaged
Travel in a straight line
end Engaged
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/23 18:28:16
Subject: charge action in M2E
|
 |
Using Object Source Lighting
|
If you're talking about fudging the line while moving, center to center.
If you're talking about LOS, tangent.
If you're talking about charging w/o the restriction of LOS (like Lady Justice (or is that her with an upgrade?)can do), then you just need to go in a straight line and end in melee range... don't actually need to end in melee I think, but then you've wasted the attacks.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 00:49:46
Subject: charge action in M2E
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Just in general, since there seems to be conflicting answers, do I need to charge toward or directly toward my charge target? I'm using Warmahordes terminology directly toward = move along the shortest line. Toward means as long as you continue to get closer it's OK.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 01:12:39
Subject: charge action in M2E
|
 |
Using Object Source Lighting
|
I was wrong about wasting melee attacks: you can't make a charge if you can't end in melee with the target.
No, nothing states you need to charge toward or directly toward a target*, just the requirements Dainty described, with the additional clarification that LOS is based on tangents and movement is based on center to center, and no nothing above contradicts anything else.
*though usually if you're ending in melee and not beginning engaged, you'll be ending closer, there might be some really strange exception that wouldn't require you end closer
Charging basically works like it does in WM IIRC.
I suggest re-reading your rulebook, since all of your clarifications requested are very plainly spelled out.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 01:56:38
Subject: charge action in M2E
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I have read the rulebook but an experienced player told me that I had to move on the shortest line to my target. So that I couldn't charge to the target's side only to the part of the base that was directly facing me.
That's why I'm seeking clarification/verification that I don't have any option in the path that I take on my charge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 09:09:00
Subject: charge action in M2E
|
 |
Using Object Source Lighting
|
Oh. That's incorrect. Dainty's post is correct: you don't need to move in the most direct path. As long as you fulfill the 4 requirements Dainty laid out, you're good.
Pretty sure that was basically true in last edition, too.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 12:02:24
Subject: charge action in M2E
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
Thanks. That's what I thought but I couldn't find a specific rule to cover the situation so I thought that I might have missed it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 19:32:04
Subject: charge action in M2E
|
 |
Using Object Source Lighting
|
Nope, pretty sure Charge covers everything except the engagement limitation, which is the next page or so in the Engagement section.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|