Switch Theme:

Vector Strike and Instant Death weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

There are a few weapons usable by Monstrous Creatures that are capable of inflicting Instant Death. Some such as the Axe of Khorne, (Chaos Daemons) and the Reaper of Obliterax (Tyranids) cause Instant Death on a To Wound roll of 6. A Balesword (Greater Daemonic Reward for Nurgle Daemons) causes Instant Death on any Wound.

My question is how this applies to Vector Strikes?

The rules for the Axe of Khorne state "Any To Wound rolls of 6 made with this weapon have the Instant Death special rule"
The rules for the Reaper of Obliterax are the same as the Axe of Khorne
The Balesword: "Unsaved Wounds inflicted by an Attack with this special rule automatically inflict Instant Death, regardless of the victim's Toughness"


Would any of these work with Vector Strikes? Would all or none of them work?


Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




The vector strike rules designates what the attack Strength and AP are. They are only modified with special permission such as the Hive Crone special rule.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Vector Strikes do not use any weapon, nor any special rules.

   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

Yonush wrote:
The vector strike rules designates what the attack Strength and AP are. They are only modified with special permission such as the Hive Crone special rule.

I'm not asking about Strength and AP values. Those are not in dispute at all. Unmodified Strength and AP3 unless an explicit exception is called out.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Nevermind, I should have read the FAQ a little more carefully. From memory I thought only Strength was unmodified by weapons or wargear.

The FAQ pretty clearly states that Vector Strike attacks do not benefit in any way from the model's special rules, weapons or wargear.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/22 18:23:11


Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






You don't use the weapons special rules because you're not using the weapon to attack. You don't get Instant Death from the Axe when using a shooting weapon do you?

VS is not a close combat attack. It doesn't use the word "attack" anywhere. You get hits at a set strength and AP because it doesn't care what weapon you're armed with. There is no permission to declare a weapon.
   
Made in be
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





Belgium

While on topic of Vector strike.

A friend with a DP cast iron Arm, he then gets +1D3 S, now he make a Vector strike, he says that since he had +3 on the dice, he nows make his Vector strikes at S 9.

Now i remind him that Vector strikes are made at base strength, so no +3, then another guy pops up and say that he still get a +3 from iron arm, insisting that iron arms modify the base strenght of the model, where i comprehend that it is just an addition to the S and thus like any modificators, its added to the Base strength and it doesn't change the base strength, so the Vector strike is still the base S of the DP.

But he kept pestering us with this for a good while.

So was i wrong or not in the end?

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Slayer le boucher wrote:
While on topic of Vector strike.

A friend with a DP cast iron Arm, he then gets +1D3 S, now he make a Vector strike, he says that since he had +3 on the dice, he nows make his Vector strikes at S 9.

Now i remind him that Vector strikes are made at base strength, so no +3, then another guy pops up and say that he still get a +3 from iron arm, insisting that iron arms modify the base strenght of the model, where i comprehend that it is just an addition to the S and thus like any modificators, its added to the Base strength and it doesn't change the base strength, so the Vector strike is still the base S of the DP.

But he kept pestering us with this for a good while.

So was i wrong or not in the end?


VS uses the S of the model in its stat line. Therefore that DP would VS at S6.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






VS specifically states "unmodified" strength, not "stat-line strength" or "base strength".

Or it does at least in the English version, is the wording different in others?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As above. If you are modifying the strength of the model (and you are, in case there is any doubt there) then you ignorte that modifier for VS
   
Made in au
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Adelaide, South Australia

 Quanar wrote:
VS specifically states "unmodified" strength, not "stat-line strength" or "base strength".

Or it does at least in the English version, is the wording different in others?


Unmodified, stat-line and base all mean exactly the same thing in this instance.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/23 12:22:18


 Ailaros wrote:
You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.

"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 PrinceRaven wrote:
Unmodified, stat-line and base all mean exactly the same thing in this instance.
One of the people in Slayer's post claimed Iron Arm modified the "base strength", so I included the term anyway, along with the more relevant, un-ambiguous "Unmodified".

But yes, fair enough point.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: