| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/23 23:45:19
Subject: Multiple-charge challenges and Blast Markers(two separate questions about two very different rules)
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Hey guys, I've recently ran into two situations where I wasn't sure how to proceed.
First case is this: I was using a Mantle of the Laughing God Autarch and a unit of Shining Spears to assault a unit of WS bikers. I entered first with the Autarch to absorb Overwatch, then with SS. The Sergeant challenged my Autarch and I wanted to accept with my Exarch from a different unit, but in the same combat. My opponent disagreed and since I wasn't sure, I conceded.
So the questions is: If I charge with two different squads into the same combat, can I accept challenges with any character that is participating? Or put in other words, are challenges issued to the enemy models in that combat or specific squads in that combat?
Second case was in the same game. He had a Chapter Master call down Orbital Bombardment on my unit of Shining Spears that were hugging the table edge. Half of his blast marker was outside of the table, but the hole was over the model, so on the table. Can he do that?
Thanks in advance!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 00:10:24
Subject: Multiple-charge challenges and Blast Markers(two separate questions about two very different rules)
|
 |
Kelne
|
The challenge one is quite explicitly answered in the Challenge part of the rules, namely the accepting part. You may pick a character from one of your involved squads to accept.
If the central hole scatters off the table the shot is lost (blast special rule). If it's not off, the shot is valid.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 00:12:25
Subject: Multiple-charge challenges and Blast Markers(two separate questions about two very different rules)
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
Unsure on Challenges, despite Bobb Marley saying it's clear (I don't think it is in the case of multiple units)
For the blast marker however, the only mention of the blast marker being off the table (partially) is in scatter, where if the hole is off the table it's a complete miss.
The requirements given for placing the blast marker are that the center be entirely over the base of a model that is visible to the firer and within range of the firing models weapon.
I'd say that was legit, wether he placed it there or it scattered there.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/24 00:14:14
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 08:36:30
Subject: Multiple-charge challenges and Blast Markers(two separate questions about two very different rules)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It is entirely clear. An eligible character can accept, and there is nothing allowing the challengING player to state the unit they are challenging 0- they are challenging your side, not any one model or unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 09:08:07
Subject: Multiple-charge challenges and Blast Markers(two separate questions about two very different rules)
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Great, that's why I wanted to know. Thanks for the replies!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 09:09:34
Subject: Multiple-charge challenges and Blast Markers(two separate questions about two very different rules)
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
B0B MaRlEy wrote:The challenge one is quite explicitly answered in the Challenge part of the rules, namely the accepting part. You may pick a character from one of your involved squads to accept..
A slight adendum there... you pick an engaged character from one of your involved squads to accept.
The more squads involved in the combat, the more chance there is that some of your characters aren't engaged at the time challenges are declared...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/24 18:37:35
Subject: Multiple-charge challenges and Blast Markers(two separate questions about two very different rules)
|
 |
Krazy Grot Kutta Driva
Littleton
|
insaniak wrote: B0B MaRlEy wrote:The challenge one is quite explicitly answered in the Challenge part of the rules, namely the accepting part. You may pick a character from one of your involved squads to accept..
A slight adendum there... you pick an engaged character from one of your involved squads to accept.
The more squads involved in the combat, the more chance there is that some of your characters aren't engaged at the time challenges are declared...
This is really the crux of the rule. A good commander will make sure to have his characters engaged or not engaged depending on init steps and if he wants to be challenged.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|