Switch Theme:

Tyranid Slate: Broodlord's Hunting Pack + Alpha Warrior?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lurking Gaunt





Oakland

In the new dataslate that just came out you can take a Broodlord Hunting Pack(3 Genestealer Broods + one Broodlord in one of those units)
They have this nifty little rule:
Spoiler:
Hidden Beneath the City: Units from this Formation that arrive from Reserve can be set up in an unoccupied Building. Alternatively, they can be set up in Ruins terrain, as long as they are set up more than 6" away from any enemy models.

IC's can join units in reserves. My question to you is: Can an Alpha Warrior join one of these Genestealer Broods and arrive with them from reserves using the above special rule?
There are no restrictions of IC's joining these units in the dataslate.

Unrelated to the above question: I'm pretty sure these units can assault the turn they arrive from Reserves. They're not DSing, and I think you can assault the turn you arrive from reserves.

I think I know what formation I'll be taking if I'm right... but please correct me if I'm wrong.
   
Made in us
Troubled By Non-Compliant Worlds





Why did they get rid of Ymgarls, and then bring them back in a data slate?

Space marines

:tyranid: Tyranid

and a smattering of chaos 
   
Made in gb
Secret Inquisitorial Eldar Xenexecutor





UK

Unless stated otherwise a unit cannot charge or use any abilities or special rules that must e used at the start of the turn when entering from reserves


Pg 125 of the small rulebook sorry, so no assaulting.

Soon his foes would learn that the only thing more dangerous than a savage three hundred pound brute is a savage three hundred pound brute with a plan - Ork Codex

30K Imperial Fist Progress
Tale of 6 Gamers - 30K

I've recently started taking on commissions, if you'd like to talk a project over feel free to PM me here, or find me at:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BasiliskStudios
Email: Basilisk.Studios@yahoo.co.uk 
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt





Oakland

@Melcavuk Thanks for the answer! I know a certain local player that needs to be informed of this rule haha
   
Made in us
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought





Boston, MA

Well infiltrators cannot be joined by a character that doesn't also have infiltrate, but that dataslate rule never used the word infiltrate.

Hmm further complicating this, is a unit considered to be "infiltrators" if they simply have the infiltrate rule, or only when they are actually using it to infiltrate?



This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/25 19:05:26


Please check out my photo blog: http://atticwars40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt





Oakland

Well, that's maybe a good point Gunz
But I don't think Genestealers that aren't infiltrating are considered "infiltrators."
"An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of infiltrators during deployment."- p38 BRB

They have the special rule of infiltrate, but since they wouldn't be infiltrating I don't think they'd be considered "infiltrators."
It doesn't say:
An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit with the infiltrate special rule during deployment.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/25 19:10:06


 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Furioso Blood Angel Dreadnought





Boston, MA

I agree with your interpretation but it is actually unclear.

And regardless, the dataslate rule doesn't even mention infiltrate so I think it's good to go.

Please check out my photo blog: http://atticwars40k.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in nl
Brainy Zoanthrope





 Thrawn2600 wrote:
Why did they get rid of Ymgarls, and then bring them back in a data slate?


These can't attack first turn so nowhere near as good
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt





Oakland

I also agree that it's unclear, but I think apposing players may bring up the point you made. It's good to hashout these things early! Thanks
   
Made in gb
Infiltrating Broodlord






Amoras wrote:
 Thrawn2600 wrote:
Why did they get rid of Ymgarls, and then bring them back in a data slate?


These can't attack first turn so nowhere near as good


True... but remember that if you go second, your stealers can assault from their building. It's a marked improvement on the old infiltrate.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Only if they deploy using the infiltrators rules and not the formation special rule.

If they are hidden beneath the city they will arrive from reserves at the start of your turn, not the start of the game turn. If you go 1st or 2nd it does not matter, they can't charge on the turn you put them on the table.
   
Made in gb
Helpful Sophotect





Hampshire

Is the Tyranid Prime a "unit from this formation"?

I'd say the answer to that question will also answer whether he can join the unit and deploy with them.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




When he is joined, he is indeed from that formation
   
Made in gb
Helpful Sophotect





Hampshire

nosferatu1001 wrote:
When he is joined, he is indeed from that formation


As many are fond of saying, permissive ruleset would require specific allowance of transfer of the rule to the IC, as per p.39 of the rulebook he doesn't get it automatically.
Does "Hidden Beneath the City" specifically say it transfers onto IC's that join the unit?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Is that a rules purpose? Then he is a normal member of the unit, and not a unit by himself. As such the unit IS from the formation
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






The alpha warrior is not part of the formation as he was not purchased from within its selection.

So no, he wouldn't be able to enter with them.

He is part of the UNIT he joins, and gains special rules if attached to them, but he is never an actual part of the formation.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: