Switch Theme:

Drop Pods & Numbers, LVO clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Los Angeles

Frontline guys have this in their FAQ for the LVO:

"Units embarked upon a drop pod transport, and Independent Characters attached to those units, are ignored for the purposes of calculating the number of units that may be held in Reserves. This means that a drop pod themed army could potentially begin the game with every unit in Reserves. [pg. 36, W40KRB]"

The 'don't count' part confuses my wee little brain. So, out of the following, what is the min amount that must be on the table at the end of Turn1?

HQ
HQ
Troop - D-pod
Troop - D-pod
Heavy

Ally
HQ
Troop
Elite - D-pod
Heavy

My guess is, that as there are 9 units (not counting DPs), and I'll be bringing in two units on the d-pods, along with (most cases) all 3 HQs. Both heavies start deployed. So, the minimum is 4 units (not counting D-pods) once the first two D-pods finish landing, right?

"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.

"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013

Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

It means when you count the number of units in your army a unit in a pod doesn't count as a unit.

So if you have 10 units overall, and 7 of them are in pods, you only have 3 units for the rules on how many units can be in reserve.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Note that it's not just the Frontline FAQ. The official GW FAQ also has an equivalent entry for units inside transports that must begin in reserves.
Q: Do units that are transported in a vehicle that MUST start in reserve count towards the number of units that can be placed in Reserves? For example, must I count the units in a Drop Pod or Valkyrie towards the 50% of units I can place in Reserves? (p124)
A: No.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/27 07:22:11


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Ok, so you plan to deploy your army. You've chosen to start two troop units in drop pods in your primary detachment, and one elite unit in a drop pod in your allied detachment.
Primary
------
HQ
HQ
Troop
Drop pod
Troop
Drop pod
Heavy

Ally
------
HQ
Troop
Elite
Drop pod
Heavy

You have 12 units in your army. Normally up to half (6) rounded up (still 6)of them can start in reserves. However units that must start the game in reserves, like drop pods, don't count towards the units in your army when calculating the number of units you can start in reserve.
Primary
------
HQ
HQ
Troop
Drop pod
Troop
Drop pod
Heavy

Ally
------
HQ
Troop
Elite
Drop pod
Heavy

Now you effectively have 9 units in your army and up to half (4.5) rounded up (5) of them can start in reserves. However units that start embarked inside units that must start in reserves must also start in reserves and also don't count towards the units in your army. (as supported by the faq)
Primary
------
HQ
HQ
Troop
Drop pod
Troop
Drop pod
Heavy

Ally
------
HQ
Troop
Elite
Drop pod
Heavy

Now you effectively have 6 units in your army and up to half (3) rounded up (also 3) of them can start in reserves in addition to the units that must start in reserves.


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





And if you attach the HQs to the units in pods, that's 3 units in your army, 2 of which can start in Reserve.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: