Switch Theme:

Saves: Misfortune and Feel No Pain  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User





Gday everyone,
Sorry if this has been done to death already. For the purposes of the Divination Psychic power 'Misfortune', is 'Feel no Pain' considered a save?
Do successful FNP rolls need to be re-rolled or just armour/cover/invul saves?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/02/20 10:11:38


 
   
Made in us
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List




Daytona Beach, Florida

No


Why drink and drive when you can smoke and fly...  
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

No ... it is most certainly not a save of any kind.

Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User





Thanks for the reply. Why is it not considered a save?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Plunkenator wrote:
Thanks for the reply. Why is it not considered a save?


Because FNP says its not a save
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

There are only three types of saving throws.
Armour, Invulnerable, and Cover. These are covered in the BRB on pgs. 16-18.

Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Plunkenator wrote:
Thanks for the reply. Why is it not considered a save?

Read the Feel No Pain rule. It's absolutely clear.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User





Great Thanks.
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

I don't think there is EVER a situation where FNP would be considered a save.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





 Jimsolo wrote:
I don't think there is EVER a situation where FNP would be considered a save.


except by our abstract sence of it in that the model that would normally be removed has not been becasue he was 'saved' by FNP.

but yes, as stated by others, it is not a save.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






 Jimsolo wrote:
I don't think there is EVER a situation where FNP would be considered a save.


Sadly, D weapons says no saves of any kind including special rolls like feel no pain. The way they wrote that comes off as specials rolls are a kind save.
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 DJGietzen wrote:
 Jimsolo wrote:
I don't think there is EVER a situation where FNP would be considered a save.


Sadly, D weapons says no saves of any kind including special rolls like feel no pain. The way they wrote that comes off as specials rolls are a kind save.


the rule is written as an extension of the thought, it is saying that no special rolls to save a model's destruction cannot be made(you will notice Reanimation protocols are listed as well as fnp, RP happens well after both failed save and failed FNP).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Nocturne

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
 DJGietzen wrote:
 Jimsolo wrote:
I don't think there is EVER a situation where FNP would be considered a save.


Sadly, D weapons says no saves of any kind including special rolls like feel no pain. The way they wrote that comes off as specials rolls are a kind save.


the rule is written as an extension of the thought, it is saying that no special rolls to save a model's destruction cannot be made(you will notice Reanimation protocols are listed as well as fnp, RP happens well after both failed save and failed FNP).


It's a sort of sloppy way of saying that anything hit by a D weapon is just dead and there's no rule that can stop them from being dead. Full Stop. If they'd just left out the FNP example it would have been a lot less confusing.

Sun Tzu "All warfare is based on deception"

Into the Fires of Battle! Unto The Anvil of War!

2500 pts
1500 pts
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Extension of thought or not its sloppy to the point of grammatical inaccuracy. The sentence makes special roles a subset of saves. It should have been written as "no saves or special roles of any kind, including feel no pain and reanimation protocols..."
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: