Switch Theme:

Tyranid dataslate question about infiltrating  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lurking Gaunt




Some of the new formations talk about being able to infiltrate within 6" of the enemy. Does this mean that if you cannot then you need to adhere to normal infiltration rules? Say you couldn't be 7" or 8" away cause it specifically states within 6? Also does this apply to the whole unit or can you overlap into being further away?

"El queso está viejo y pútrido. ¿Dónde está el sanitario?"

 
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

HiveGuard wrote:
Some of the new formations talk about being able to infiltrate within 6" of the enemy. Does this mean that if you cannot then you need to adhere to normal infiltration rules? Say you couldn't be 7" or 8" away cause it specifically states within 6? Also does this apply to the whole unit or can you overlap into being further away?


HG I believe it says 'may infiltrate' so it's optional, not a requirement. - More like overriding the base Infiltrate rules of 12/18''

It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt




Right, but I'm asking if you aren't within 6 then does it jump all the way to 12? Seems like a better rule would've been just allowing them to go within 12, not restricting it to within 6.

"El queso está viejo y pútrido. ¿Dónde está el sanitario?"

 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

RAW, you're right, they would have to either infiltrate within 6" or use the regular up to 12"/18" infiltrate.

My guess would be that they meant up to 6", like the Broodlord's Hunting Pack.

   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Eureka California

Per RAW Redemption is correct. You may deploy them anywhere outside of 18 inches, outside of 12 inches if no enemy model has LOS or within 6 inches if in ruins or a building.

Currently there is no permission to deploy the unit anywhere in between so if your going to deploy within 6 inches in a ruin, the entire brood must be within six inches of the enemy. I also expect an errata or FAQ on it soon.

On the other hand I won't rule out the possibility it might have been intended and that the 'GW team' is getting a good laugh out of it at our expense.

-It is not the strongest of the Tyranids that survive but the ones most adaptive to change. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: