Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 17:20:35
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Does it scatter if a hit is rolled? In other races books they do scatter, but theres nothing about it in the marine dex. So i assumed if a hit is rolled, it hit. And so when my orbital barrage hit a nicely clustered unit of bikes at a tourney, i was pretty glad. Until my opponent said it still scatters. He then went to the to TO and asked and the TO said it still scatters. Nothing i could do about that, but im wondering, does it really scatter?
Note, i realize that his BS makes no difference, but were talking about if a hit is rolled.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/28 17:21:23
I do drugs.
Mostly Plastic Crack, but I do dabble in Cardboard Cocaine. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 17:21:43
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Pg 79 very bottom right Edit: C:SM
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/28 17:22:03
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 17:24:19
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Yes i see it and thats what i showed them, and it says nowhere on there that it still scatters. I was wondering if there was something i was missing, which i guess not
|
I do drugs.
Mostly Plastic Crack, but I do dabble in Cardboard Cocaine. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 17:27:04
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Well no it doesn't scatter if you get a Hit
Unless they have the reading comprehension of a desk lamp.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 17:40:16
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Ya i was very confused at this to. Have to talk to them sabout this next time
|
I do drugs.
Mostly Plastic Crack, but I do dabble in Cardboard Cocaine. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 18:13:58
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
ninjafiredragon wrote:Does it scatter if a hit is rolled? In other races books they do scatter, but theres nothing about it in the marine dex. So i assumed if a hit is rolled, it hit. And so when my orbital barrage hit a nicely clustered unit of bikes at a tourney, i was pretty glad. Until my opponent said it still scatters. He then went to the to TO and asked and the TO said it still scatters. Nothing i could do about that, but im wondering, does it really scatter?
Note, i realize that his BS makes no difference, but were talking about if a hit is rolled.
Wait wait wait .. if a "Hit" is rolled on the scatter die, and it (supposedly) still scatters, what direction does it scatter then?
Seriously, that makes no sense. A hit roll on the scatter die does not scatter (unfamiliar with other codex's wording for this, but it seems pretty straight forward in this case).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 18:15:55
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Rorschach9 wrote: ninjafiredragon wrote:Does it scatter if a hit is rolled? In other races books they do scatter, but theres nothing about it in the marine dex. So i assumed if a hit is rolled, it hit. And so when my orbital barrage hit a nicely clustered unit of bikes at a tourney, i was pretty glad. Until my opponent said it still scatters. He then went to the to TO and asked and the TO said it still scatters. Nothing i could do about that, but im wondering, does it really scatter?
Note, i realize that his BS makes no difference, but were talking about if a hit is rolled.
Wait wait wait .. if a "Hit" is rolled on the scatter die, and it (supposedly) still scatters, what direction does it scatter then?
Seriously, that makes no sense. A hit roll on the scatter die does not scatter (unfamiliar with other codex's wording for this, but it seems pretty straight forward in this case).
Some Weapons still scatter even if the get a target. If you look at your scatter die you will see an arrow on the target as well ...
|
Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 18:16:55
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
OIIIIIIO wrote:Rorschach9 wrote: ninjafiredragon wrote:Does it scatter if a hit is rolled? In other races books they do scatter, but theres nothing about it in the marine dex. So i assumed if a hit is rolled, it hit. And so when my orbital barrage hit a nicely clustered unit of bikes at a tourney, i was pretty glad. Until my opponent said it still scatters. He then went to the to TO and asked and the TO said it still scatters. Nothing i could do about that, but im wondering, does it really scatter?
Note, i realize that his BS makes no difference, but were talking about if a hit is rolled.
Wait wait wait .. if a "Hit" is rolled on the scatter die, and it (supposedly) still scatters, what direction does it scatter then?
Seriously, that makes no sense. A hit roll on the scatter die does not scatter (unfamiliar with other codex's wording for this, but it seems pretty straight forward in this case).
Some Weapons still scatter even if the get a target. If you look at your scatter die you will see an arrow on the target as well ...
I see. In any case, the chapter masters Orbital Bombardment specifically states if an arrow is rolled it will always scatter. Nothing about a hit.
Poor interpretation of a fairly clear ( imo) rule on the part of this guys opponent and TO
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 18:20:59
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
Rorschach9 wrote: ninjafiredragon wrote:Does it scatter if a hit is rolled? In other races books they do scatter, but theres nothing about it in the marine dex. So i assumed if a hit is rolled, it hit. And so when my orbital barrage hit a nicely clustered unit of bikes at a tourney, i was pretty glad. Until my opponent said it still scatters. He then went to the to TO and asked and the TO said it still scatters. Nothing i could do about that, but im wondering, does it really scatter?
Note, i realize that his BS makes no difference, but were talking about if a hit is rolled.
Wait wait wait .. if a "Hit" is rolled on the scatter die, and it (supposedly) still scatters, what direction does it scatter then?
Seriously, that makes no sense. A hit roll on the scatter die does not scatter (unfamiliar with other codex's wording for this, but it seems pretty straight forward in this case).
you are aware that the scatter dice 'hit' symbol does have a little arrow in it right?
if yours does not I will assume it is not a GW provided scatter dice.
in any case, no you have been hoodwinked, the chapter masters orbital does not scatter on a roll of a hit.
barrage rules: p34, first bullet point, second to last paragraph BRB
ordinance: p51 nothing in here at all for scatter. BRB
orbital bombardment: p79 C: SM: only when an arrow is rolled does it scatter, and the stipulation being it always scatters the full 2D6.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 18:22:37
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Actually the GW dice cube with 8?mm dice has a scatter that DOESNT have a arrow on the hit.
Ether way yeah the TO called it wrong.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 18:24:31
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
|
nutty_nutter wrote:Rorschach9 wrote: ninjafiredragon wrote:Does it scatter if a hit is rolled? In other races books they do scatter, but theres nothing about it in the marine dex. So i assumed if a hit is rolled, it hit. And so when my orbital barrage hit a nicely clustered unit of bikes at a tourney, i was pretty glad. Until my opponent said it still scatters. He then went to the to TO and asked and the TO said it still scatters. Nothing i could do about that, but im wondering, does it really scatter?
Note, i realize that his BS makes no difference, but were talking about if a hit is rolled.
Wait wait wait .. if a "Hit" is rolled on the scatter die, and it (supposedly) still scatters, what direction does it scatter then?
Seriously, that makes no sense. A hit roll on the scatter die does not scatter (unfamiliar with other codex's wording for this, but it seems pretty straight forward in this case).
you are aware that the scatter dice 'hit' symbol does have a little arrow in it right?
if yours does not I will assume it is not a GW provided scatter dice.
As I've never used any weapon that scatters even on a "hit" roll, I tend to forget about that little arrow (heck it took me 6 months of playing before I ever noticed it tbh). You know, things that don't ever get used (in my personal play group) are pretty easy to forget about.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 18:29:20
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
yea, but on the basis you were questioning it, the answer to my question was 'no I was not aware as I forgot'
and I do understand and it happens to everyone.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 21:11:34
Subject: Re:Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
While not an actual rule, a good rule of thumb is that orbital strikes that can be used more then once per game will always scatter even on a hit, but orbital strikes that may be used only once per game will not scatter on a hit. That seems to be GW's baked in trade off.
IG and GK orbital strikes can be used every turn, while SM orbital strikes are once per game.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/28 22:05:26
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Agile Revenant Titan
|
Ok guys thanks. I shall have to inform them about this.
|
I do drugs.
Mostly Plastic Crack, but I do dabble in Cardboard Cocaine. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 21:45:40
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
My GW official scatter die, provided with the AoBR set, does not have an arrow on it. I say the bombardment does not scatter if I roll a hit, but if they really push it, I would consent and scatter in the way the die shows; directly nowhere to end in the same spot.
|
Space Marines, The Twiceborn (Vanilla): 4000 points.
Orks: 2500 points. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 21:56:51
Subject: Re:Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The proper black reach dice do indeed have an arrow on the hit symbol. What do your dice look like?
 .
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 22:15:22
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Dice also sold by GW aka these  do not have arrows (edit: on the ON HIT scatter part)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/29 22:15:56
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 22:39:16
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There is actually an arrow on the hit side of the GW dice. If you look close it is to the left in the picture above.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 23:37:29
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Battlefortress Driver with Krusha Wheel
Norway (Oslo)
|
Dozer Blades wrote:There is actually an arrow on the hit side of the GW dice. If you look close it is to the left in the picture above.
Yup it's sharp while the others are flat.
|
Waagh like a bawz
-
Kaptin Goldteef's waagh! 16250 points 45/18/3 (W/L/D) 7th Ed
6250 points 9/3/1 (W/L/D) sixth-ed
Dark elves: 2350points 3/0/0 (W/L/D)
3400 points 19/6/0 (W/L/D) 8' armybook
Wood Elves 2600 points, 6/4/0 (W/L/D)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 23:46:24
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Another urban legend laid to rest.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/29 23:53:49
Subject: Re:Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Its there. Notice how how of the 4 spokes, one is fatter then he rest and comes to a point.
Although it is much much harder to spot.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/29 23:54:19
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/30 08:57:58
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
it is also irrelavant anyway since no-where in the rules does it say that it scatters on a roll of a hit anyway.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2016/07/30 09:20:27
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
I'll Be Back
|
nutty_nutter wrote:it is also irrelavant anyway since no-where in the rules does it say that it scatters on a roll of a hit anyway.
Only instance that comes to mind is the IG Master of Ordnance, Artillery Bombardment ability.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/30 09:49:46
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine
|
shimian wrote: nutty_nutter wrote:it is also irrelavant anyway since no-where in the rules does it say that it scatters on a roll of a hit anyway.
Only instance that comes to mind is the IG Master of Ordnance, Artillery Bombardment ability.
Grey Knight's Orbital Strike Relay.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/30 14:10:22
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Gietzan, I now indeed can see the little fat spoke on the hit symbol; I was always looking for an actual arrow and never noticed it  Thanks!
|
Space Marines, The Twiceborn (Vanilla): 4000 points.
Orks: 2500 points. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/30 14:49:53
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Abel
|
I just want to add that I like pie when my Chapter Master calls down the ol' Orbital Smack Down and wipes a unit or two, or maybe a big, nasty critter off the table.
Just wish you could use it more than once per game.
|
Kara Sloan shoots through Time and Design Space for a Negative Play Experience |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/30 14:54:30
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Best usage ever was hitting 3 Centurions, a Land Raider and Tiggy, killing all but the Sarge Centurion, exploding the Land Raider which put 2 wounds on a Terminator squad hiding behind it (6" explosion range), 2 1's, 11 for Morale, Terminators run 12" off the board.
I accepted his unconditional surrender (600+ point swing on turn 2 will do that) and we played again... and he learned to spread out better.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/30 17:24:12
Subject: Oribtal barrage with chapter master
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
Redemption wrote: shimian wrote: nutty_nutter wrote:it is also irrelavant anyway since no-where in the rules does it say that it scatters on a roll of a hit anyway.
Only instance that comes to mind is the IG Master of Ordnance, Artillery Bombardment ability.
Grey Knight's Orbital Strike Relay.
but those are examples of other book's and not a space marine chapter master's orbial bombardment.
I would personally rarther have the scatter effect and use it every turn but unfortunatly I cannot :(
|
|
 |
 |
|