Switch Theme:

Do Penetrating Hits only take off 1 Hull point or Two?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello, I thank everyone for giving their advice and knowledge on table top stuff. It really saves a lot of disagreements my friends and I have about the rules.

When I was reading the book it said that "when you take a penetrating hit, take a hull point loss and roll on the damage chart." My friend interpreted it as I lose two hull points if a penetrating hit is scored. Someone told him that it was correct so we've been running it that way.

Recently though It's kinda been bugging me, is he right that a penetrating hit takes off two hull points off of say, a leman russ, or is a penetrating hit only supposed to take off 1 hull point and then roll on the damage table(for a possible blowing it up)?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Why would it be two?

 
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






No, penetrating hits do not take off two HP. There is nothing at all that says that rolling on the damage table removes a HP, so you just follow the directions: remove 1 HP for the penetrating hit, and then roll on the damage table and apply any results.

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

You take one hull point loss for each penetrating or glancing hit.

You then roll on the table to see if there is any further effect from a penetrating hit.

So no, a penetrating hit only causes ONE hull point loss, unless, if your vehicle has been immobilized and takes a second immobilization result on the damage table you would instead suffer another hull point loss (in addition to the one from the pen hit) at that point.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 insaniak wrote:
Why would it be two?


Weird rule interpretations and none of us are veteran table top players so it's hard to convince one another without solid evidence from a veteran player.

I do thank you all for your help, thanks for answering everyone!
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Can't really help unless you can tell us your friend's logic for the lose of each hull point from a single hit? Does he think that a hit that penetrates also glances? If that is the case refer him to page 73. You'll see that a glance only occurs when the total for the hit equals the armor value of the vehicle, and a penetrating hit only occurs when the total for the his is greater than (not greater than or equal to) the vehicles armor value.
   
Made in se
Glorious Lord of Chaos






The burning pits of Hades, also known as Sweden in summer

That makes me wonder... This may have been discussed before (Though a search netted no results) but if you roll a 6 with a Gravgun against an already immobilised vehicle, does it take 1 HP or 2?

Somewhat related to the whole thing about HP, so excuse the slight ninjaing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/29 23:36:40


Currently ongoing projects:
Horus Heresy Alpha Legion
Tyranids  
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 BrotherHaraldus wrote:
That makes me wonder... This may have been discussed before (Though a search netted no results) but if you roll a 6 with a Gravgun against an already immobilised vehicle, does it take 1 HP or 2?

Somewhat related to the whole thing about HP, so excuse the slight ninjaing.


Very much discussed and debated previously without a 100% clear consensus (though I believe the majority was yes, it takes a 2nd because that is technically what the rules state).

One such debate here : http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/180/550929.page#6089651 (there are several more that all go on for many pages)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/29 23:41:37


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 DJGietzen wrote:
Can't really help unless you can tell us your friend's logic for the lose of each hull point from a single hit? Does he think that a hit that penetrates also glances? If that is the case refer him to page 73. You'll see that a glance only occurs when the total for the hit equals the armor value of the vehicle, and a penetrating hit only occurs when the total for the his is greater than (not greater than or equal to) the vehicles armor value.


I think the logic was that "rolling on the damage table" to him implied that it took another hull point loss.

Somewhat related to the whole thing about HP, so excuse the slight ninjaing



it's fine the question was answered already.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






only if the result on the table states that result removes a hull point. For example penetrating the armor of an already immobilized vehicle and rolling an immobilized result will cause the vehicle to loose two hull points.One for the hit and one for being immobilized a second time. (even if the 1st immobilized was not from a hit)

If a penetrating hit was scored, the vehicle not only loses 1 Hull Point, but also suffers additional damage. After deducting any Hull Points, roll a D6 for each shot that penetrated the vehicle's armour.
   
Made in us
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot





Equestria/USA

Are any of the players necron players? They have funky rules on shooting vehicles and causing more glances. Could be a rule misinterpretation on that part.

Black Templars 4000 Deathwatch 6000
 
   
Made in us
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife





 conker249 wrote:
Are any of the players necron players? They have funky rules on shooting vehicles and causing more glances. Could be a rule misinterpretation on that part.


None of the Necron weapons add more wounds or pens/glances. Their main guns glance on 6s and their main vehicle weapon adds more hits on 6s. I could see that the player was interpenetrating the Tesla rule as extra wounds instead of extra hits, but that should add two more, not one.
   
Made in im
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot





there is only one instance where a penetrating hit can cause 2 hull points to be lost.

that is when the vehicle has already become imobalized and you get a second imobolized result on the table.

(e.g. you fired 2 las canons and they both penetrate the target, you then roll the imobalized result twice in sucession, this will result in a total of 3 hull points and an imobalized for the vehicle)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/30 08:56:29


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 nutty_nutter wrote:
there is only one instance where a penetrating hit can cause 2 hull points to be lost.

that is when the vehicle has already become imobalized and you get a second imobolized result on the table.

(e.g. you fired 2 las canons and they both penetrate the target, you then roll the imobalized result twice in sucession, this will result in a total of 3 hull points and an imobalized for the vehicle)


Huh I didn't know that, why is it that it shaves off an extra hull point if it immobilizes an immobilized vehicle? Is it any immediate hull point damage gets an extra one or is it only if two immobilizes are rolled in a row?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Because that's what the Immbolize result says.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: