Switch Theme:

Catalyst +Failed perils on snake eyes  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Just a simple timing question, If a nid psycher perils casting catalyst (FnP) on a 2 would it get the FnP save? The power goes off but he takes a wound, it happens at the same time, and is the controlling players turn, so the player should be able to choose the order of events. Since FnP is the only way to ignore a perils wound as it is not a Save. Or am I missing a timing rule somewhere on this.
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Don't think so, see the sequence table on page 67:
...
3. Take Psychic Test
The Psyker must now take a Psychic test. If the test is failed, the psychic power fails. If a double 1 or double 6 is rolled, the Psyker suffers Perils of the Warp, which is resolved immediately.
...
5. Resolve Psychic Power
Assuming that the Psychic test was passed and the power was not nullified by a Deny the Witch roll, it is now resolved.

As the Perils result is immediately resolved at step 3, and the power itself doesn't come into effect until step 5, you couldn't benefit from FNP.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/01/30 16:02:47


   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





What he said ^.

When you take the wound, you don't have FNP. Further, if it kills you the power doesn't resolve - since you died before getting to the Resolve Power step.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

rigeld2 wrote:
What he said ^.

When you take the wound, you don't have FNP. Further, if it kills you the power doesn't resolve - since you died before getting to the Resolve Power step.
Perils rule states the power is still resolved even if the Psyker is killed.
Obviously FNP wouldn't help much at that stage...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/30 16:36:09


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 grendel083 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
What he said ^.

When you take the wound, you don't have FNP. Further, if it kills you the power doesn't resolve - since you died before getting to the Resolve Power step.
Perils rule states the power is still resolved even if the Psyker is killed.
Obviusly FNP wouldn't help much at that stage...

Sorry - forgot about that. Depending on the power, though, it still might not do anything.
edit: IE any Novas, things like Foreboding, Perfect Timing, etc.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/30 16:39:26


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Thanks guys. Just popped up while watching batrep's this morning and was pulling a blank on it. Had missed the table on 67.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: