Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 14:29:06
Subject: Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
How would Tzeentch's Firestorm play out against a swarm?
Say I hit 3 scarab swarms, that gets doubled to 6 hits, which wound 5 times, dude fails 4 saves, then does 4D3 additional S3 AP- hits?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 14:33:37
Subject: Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
No, that's not correct.
3 Hits, 3 wounds, potentially 1 base dead, another wounded.
Warpflame causes a single toughness test which if failed causes 1d3 wounds with no armor save allowed.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 14:56:06
Subject: Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
rigeld2 wrote:No, that's not correct.
3 Hits, 3 wounds, potentially 1 base dead, another wounded.
Warpflame causes a single toughness test which if failed causes 1d3 wounds with no armor save allowed.
I'm thinking the primaris power from the CSM book.
--
Just checked the wording, it's D3 S3 AP- hits for each model removed. So I'd double-up due to a blast against a swarm as normal, but get no additional benefits.
I don't have the BRB with me, you double up hits, not wounds, right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 15:00:13
Subject: Re:Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
It's wounds not hits that get multiplied.
Unsaved wounds to be more precise.
Edit: The first part of a Firestorm is a blast weapon, so will double wounds.
I'm not sure the additional hits afterwards would count for doubling though.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/31 15:02:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 15:10:30
Subject: Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
loreweaver wrote:rigeld2 wrote:No, that's not correct.
3 Hits, 3 wounds, potentially 1 base dead, another wounded.
Warpflame causes a single toughness test which if failed causes 1d3 wounds with no armor save allowed.
I'm thinking the primaris power from the CSM book.
--
Just checked the wording, it's D3 S3 AP- hits for each model removed. So I'd double-up due to a blast against a swarm as normal, but get no additional benefits.
I don't have the BRB with me, you double up hits, not wounds, right?
I was looking at the C: D 1-2 power. Same name. GOGO GW!
Double up wounds due to blast but you wouldn't double up the extra wounds.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/01/31 15:10:45
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 18:39:48
Subject: Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Wasnt it in a FAQ somewhere that explained that in this sort of example, a blast versus a scarab swarm, if the blast is S6+ it would double the T of the scarab and so kill the model outright, but you wouldnt get extra wounds to allocate because of a blast hitting a swarm. If the S of the blast is less than 6, the blast would do double wounds to the swarm as normal.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 19:12:18
Subject: Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
It goes like this:
Place template
Determine number of hits
roll to see if wounded
allocate wounds to base and make saves if applicable
unsaved wounds that are double strength instakill base (3 str 6+ wounds kill 3 bases)
unsaved wounds that are from template double one at a time until a base is dead. (if a base has 3 wounds, first one is doubled, second finish's it off)
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 19:17:06
Subject: Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The initial wounds from the blast are doubled per the swarm rule. The wounds caused by the Inferno special rule would not be doubled.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/01/31 19:24:49
Subject: Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Fragile wrote:The initial wounds from the blast are doubled per the swarm rule. The wounds caused by the Inferno special rule would not be doubled.
To clarify - the wounds allocated from the blast are doubled after allocation. They are not doubled in the wound pool (massive difference with Swarms that have an odd number of wounds),
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/24 04:11:59
Subject: Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Can someone please clarify this for me? I am still stumped a tad.
Is this correct?
1. Strength 6 weapon causes 3 hits on a unit of scarabs
2. All hits wound causing 3 wounds
3. All saves are failed
4. Wounds are doubled for the unit meaning 6 wounds
5. 6 bases are ID
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/24 04:15:30
Subject: Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
bodazoka wrote:Can someone please clarify this for me? I am still stumped a tad.
Is this correct?
1. Strength 6 weapon causes 3 hits on a unit of scarabs
2. All hits wound causing 3 wounds
3. All saves are failed
4. Wounds are doubled for the unit meaning 6 wounds
5. 6 bases are ID
Incorrect. The wound doubles but can't be allocated to another bases because you can only allocate wounds from the wound pool. So the wound doubling and then ID'ing all happens on the same base so in your example only 3 bases die.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/24 04:15:47
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/24 05:07:17
Subject: Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
CrownAxe wrote:
Incorrect. The wound doubles but can't be allocated to another bases because you can only allocate wounds from the wound pool. So the wound doubling and then ID'ing all happens on the same base so in your example only 3 bases die.
Good stuff, so the below is correct?
1. Strength 6 weapon causes 3 hits on a unit of scarabs
2. All hits wound causing 3 wounds
3. All saves are failed
4. First wound is allocated to the closest base, that wound doubles, the base is ID
5. Rince and repeat step 4 until all wounds are allocated
I play Necrons so I'm happy with that! haha
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/24 06:30:52
Subject: Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
Adelaide, South Australia
|
Yes, that is correct.
|
Ailaros wrote:You know what really bugs me? When my opponent, before they show up at the FLGS smears themselves in peanut butter and then makes blood sacrifices to Ashterai by slitting the throat of three male chickens and then smears the spatter pattern into the peanut butter to engrave sacred symbols into their chest and upper arms.
I have a peanut allergy. It's really inconsiderate.
"Long ago in a distant land, I, M'kar, the shape-shifting Master of Chaos, unleashed an unspeakable evil! But a foolish Grey Knight warrior wielding a magic sword stepped forth to oppose me. Before the final blow was struck, I tore open a portal in space and flung him into the Warp, where my evil is law! Now the fool seeks to return to real-space, and undo the evil that is Chaos!" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/03/24 21:55:17
Subject: Re:Tzeentch's Firestorm vs Swarms
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
There is a FAQ that talks about this situation (page 6, 4th question of the BRB FAQ actually). It clarifies the swarm rule along with the fact that wounds are allocated from the wound pool one at a time. So.... 1. Strength 6 weapon causes 3 hits on a unit of scarabs 2. All hits wound causing 3 wounds 3. First wound is allocated to the first base 4. The wound is not saved and is allocated to the scarab as an unsaved wound. 5. Per the Swarm special rule, a 2nd unsaved wound is given to the scarab (it is not added to the wound pool to be allocated later) 6. The swarm is doubled out and causes ID. 7. Repeat 2-6 until all wounds in the wound pool are allocated and saved/resolved. In this scenario, a total of 3 scarabs would be destroyed, not 6. EDIT: Should have read CrownAxe's explanation better since it's correct as well.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/03/24 21:56:09
|
|
 |
 |
|