| Poll |
 |
|
|
 |
| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 00:59:04
Subject: '2 Necrons walk into a Brawl...'
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Search didn't turn up anything on this, but it could apply to a NUMBER of things. It has to do with timing of simultaneous events and order of resolution, when it involves 'mirror' units that are attempting to use the same thing.
For example, if 2 Necrons are going at it in Close Combat and both have Mindshackle Scarabs. This could also affect things like the Purifier psychic power being able to remove models that would bridge units restricting the damage the opposing purifier squad could do, etc.
Option A.
The current turn player gets to resolve each individual instance of everything that resolves at the same time. So in the Necron Example, the player who's turn it is would charge with his D-Lord/Wraith squad, force his opponent to use his MSS, then issue the challenge, then use the D-Lords MSS on the opposing Lord. This is what I'm thinking it is, and have assumed it to be the case, until the alternative was presented to me.
Option B.
The current turn player gets to choose the order of each event, but each instance of that event must resolve. So in the above Example, the D-Lord player would charge, and have to choose between forcing ALL Mindshackle Scarabs first, then issuing the challenge. Or, issuing the challenge, and if the opposing Necron accepts, they BOTH have to roll MSS. I'm not discounting that it could be this way but it is a possible interpretation.
Thoughts (or errata/posts that I may have missed when trying to figure this one out)?
|
Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 01:16:52
Subject: '2 Necrons walk into a Brawl...'
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
There's nothing in the rules to suggest that similar events must all be resolved at once. "I use MSS" and "You use MSS" are two different events, so the current player gets to choose when (amongst all the other things happening at the same time) each resolves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 09:00:10
Subject: '2 Necrons walk into a Brawl...'
|
 |
Wicked Canoptek Wraith
The Golden Throne
|
Whoevers turn it is, is the player who decides the order of simultaneous operations like MSS.
|
Build a man a fire, he will be warm for a night. Set a man on fire, and he will be warm for the rest of his life. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 13:42:53
Subject: '2 Necrons walk into a Brawl...'
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As above. Even when same player has to perform two actions they choose.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 19:37:01
Subject: '2 Necrons walk into a Brawl...'
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Breaking work policy again but: I believe it is page 7 which informs us what the turn consists of, and on this page is an exception cause that informs of situations that might change the normal order of events found within the section being detailed. Those situations all involve one core element: Multiple rules trying to trigger at the very same point in the time line. This section details how we determine the order which the rules resolve and there are no instructions granting permission to try and resolve them both at the same time. A few rare scenarios do exist that are exceptions to this exception, but in those scenarios the Rules will spell out how we go about resolving them. For example: The same initiative step in Assaults.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/03 19:38:45
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/03 20:21:40
Subject: Re:'2 Necrons walk into a Brawl...'
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
The interpretation issue is
Does the player get to choose when Mindshackle Scarabs work, requiring both players to use them at the same time. This falls in line with how same initiative stuff works. ex. 2 Powerfists would both get to swing, and that resolving one before the other doesn't prevent the 2nd one from using his, even if he dies.
or
Does the player get to choose that his Mindshackle gets to go at a different time than his own? This, is how I have looked at it, and how I would play it if the situation ever came up in a game. It wasn't even an issue till someone brought up that it COULD be the other way around.
|
Current Armies
40k: 15k of Unplayable Necrons
(I miss 7th!)
30k: Imperial Fists
(project for 2025)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 18:19:33
Subject: '2 Necrons walk into a Brawl...'
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
Colorado
|
Imperator_Class wrote:Whoevers turn it is, is the player who decides the order of simultaneous operations like MSS.
The question in my mind then becomes -
If the second necron losses the MMS roll and has to attack his own allies, can the player of the first necron, force the use of the second necrons MMS attack on the second necrons own allies or does MMS not count as a CC attack?
|
Tho' much is taken, much abides; and tho'
We are not now that strength which in old days
Moved earth and heaven, that which we are, we are;
One equal temper of heroic hearts,
Made weak by time and fate, but strong in will
To strive, to seek, to find, and not to yield. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 18:21:14
Subject: '2 Necrons walk into a Brawl...'
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
MSS is not a CC attack.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/02/04 18:22:50
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 18:50:08
Subject: '2 Necrons walk into a Brawl...'
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Sort of, but it's resolved "before any blows are struck", the same wording used to describe when a Challenge must be issued.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/02/04 19:00:55
Subject: '2 Necrons walk into a Brawl...'
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
grendel083 wrote:Sort of, but it's resolved "before any blows are struck", the same wording used to describe when a Challenge must be issued.
No - it's not a CC attack at all. Read the post I was replying to - the timing of it is irrelevant for his question.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|