I want to add an allied detachment of Chaos Daemons to my CSM army but I'm running into a problem. It appears that there is a heated debate online as to whether Heralds of Chaos can be taken as HQs in an allied detachment. Some say that by RAW you cannot take them in an allied detachment period, while others argue that you can have only one.
The Chaos Daemons codex pg. 94 reads, "Each primary detachment of your army may include up to four Heralds of Chaos, chosen from the following models..."
My reading of this is that in a primary detachment of Daemons you can have up to four, but since it doesn't state that Heralds *cannot* be taken in an allied detachment, it just seems to be giving permission to take up to four in a primary detachment, but doesn't say that you can't take any in an allied detachment. I can't find anything in the big rulebook clarifying this situation.
Have there been any tournaments where this has come up, and if so, how was it resolved? If so, pls give links.
|